Teppo Numminen, Super Hottie

I received a very exciting (and totally offensive) shout-out from Kevin over at BfloBlog today! It seems that after only two days of existence, The Willful Caboose is poised to take over the Buffalo sports blogosphere. Kevin is understandably nervous, so I will forgive him for his suggestion that my brain is too small to write a hockey blog. (Listen Kevin, it sounds to me as if you are suffering from a little anxiety about your own brain. Brains come in all different shapes and sizes, and no matter what, every brain has something to offer, even the little ones. I think you will find that blogging is much more enjoyable if you just relax and stop worrying about the size of your brain.)

Now, when I decided to start a hockey blog, I had two thoughts:
1. I don’t know anything about hockey.
2. Any hockey blog I write will inevitably turn into an in-depth analysis of the hotness of each Sabre.

That being said, I honestly did not expect that in my third post I would be forced to cast aside the illusion that I can pull off a semi-respectable blog. I had intended for TWC to chronicle my first year as a hockey fan, but I can feel myself veering off course already. You see, in Kevin’s post, and the ensuing comments, the issue of Teppo Numminen’s hotness was raised. It seems that the average male Buffalo sports fan does not think that Teppo is hot. Obviously, The Willful Caboose is more desperately needed than I had originally thought. I cannot allow one more day to pass while Teppo is denied his due respect as a Super Hottie.

Teppo Numminen is hot. He’s hot because he is beloved in a room full of guys 15 years his junior. He’s hot because although I’m sure he doesn’t smoke, he seems like the kind of guy who carries a cigarette lighter, just in case I smoke. (Which I do not, but I appreciate the effort, Teppo. Thank you very much.) Teppo’s sense of humor is well documented. He exudes calm and dignity, and at the same time he’s got a delightful hint of sleaziness. I feel confident that if I ever met Teppo on the street, he would pose agreeably for a cell phone photo, and not just a normal shot, but one of those group self-portraits where we put our heads together and he holds the phone out with his long arm to take the picture.

After the terrible free agency, when we had lost our co-captains and the city was adrift in a sea of angst and rage, I for one, was incredibly relieved to hear that Teppo would be returning to Buffalo. I think it speaks volumes that in the immediate aftermath of the co-captain debacle, Sabres management prioritized inking Teppo to a one year deal. Teppo is hot because we need him to be hot. This year, more than any other year, we will turn to Teppo for leadership. No matter who winds up wearing the “C”, Teppo is the undisputed Papa Sabre…..and that’s hot.

And if all that doesn’t convince you, watch this video of a devastated Teppo reacting to a loss in the Olympic finals. The interview is in Finnish, but Teppo’s disappointment and passion transcend mere obstacles such as language.

Boys, almost crying, but not crying is hot. Write that down.

All joking aside, thanks for your support, Kevin! I just want to be the best “new to hockey, girly blogger” I can be!

13 Responses to “Teppo Numminen, Super Hottie”


  1. 1 Schnookie August 15, 2007 at 7:33 pm

    I believe I may have mentioned on one or two occasions that I have run into Teppo in a civilian setting. And I may have mentioned on those occasions that, while grocery shopping, the man is smoking hott. It is an indisputable fact, and anyone who refuses to recognize it is just jealous.

  2. 2 Meg August 15, 2007 at 11:08 pm

    While I lack the requisite anatomy to be an average male hockey fan, I also do not feel that the average male hockey fan is a qualified judge of hockey player hotness. This clearly would take a man of discerning taste.

    Teppo is hot. There’s just no getting around it.

  3. 3 Heather B. August 15, 2007 at 11:25 pm

    Boys speaking foreign languages… also hot!

    I can’t even wrap my brain around someone not thinking Teppo is good-looking. He could use a hair cut – I’m not convinced that hair isn’t 8 feet long when it isn’t slicked back – but he’s so handsome, especially when he smiles.

    And Kate, you forgot to mention that Teppo is self-confident enough to rock out at a Justin Timberlake concert with guys half his age.

    I love him. I don’t care if he’s old and slow!

  4. 4 courtney August 16, 2007 at 8:45 am

    Kate- i finally found your blog thanks to GOOGLE!! I just recently stumbled upon the ipb blog- and i’m catching up there too!!
    i have to agree 100% on the issue of Teppo’s Hottness. ugh… my DH hates watching him play now that he knows how obsessed i am!!
    i’m super glad Teppo’s back this year, and hope he gets the “C”.

    Anxiously waiting for Hockey season to start,
    Courtney

  5. 5 courtney August 16, 2007 at 8:47 am

    forgot to add– Schnookie, Where oh where does one happen to run into Teppo in civilian settings-

  6. 6 KevinP August 16, 2007 at 9:25 am

    What was that, Kate? I couldn’t hear you ’cause my huge brain was in the way…

    I’ll admit I’ve never seen Teppo in a civilian setting. I had a chance once, but it was dark and he ran away, saying that my “growling animal with fire eyes” (I think he meant my car), confused him, as he was just an unfrozen caveman hockey player.

  7. 7 Schnookie August 16, 2007 at 10:34 am

    Courtney — I ran into Teppo while we were both in our previous lives as residents of Scottsdale, AZ. I wish I could steer people to his favorite grocery store haunts in Buffalo, but alas, I’m useless in that regard. (However, should he still vacation in Arizona, keep a weather eye out at the AJ’s Fine Foods and Liquor at 90th and Via Linda. I saw him in the wine section and nearly took out an entire display shelf of the newly arrived Beaujolais as I staggered in the face of his overwhelming and tall hottitude.)

  8. 8 Katebits August 16, 2007 at 10:39 am

    Heather, whenever I think about that Justin Timberlake concert I am amused thinking about how awesome that must have been for the young female fans in the audience. I mean, first of all, they’re at the Justin Timberlake concert (pommerdooling! [teenagers love him, right?]) and THEN the entire Sabres team shows up?! The swooning must have been wide spread!

    Hi Courtney! Welcome to The Willful Caboose!

  9. 9 courtney August 16, 2007 at 10:41 am

    Ha Ha…
    I know he WAS spending a lot of time in his local Lowes after our “october surprise” storm last year, i had a coworker that worked there part time, but i don’t live that way, i live closer to niagara falls, and that area isn’t my normal stomping ground… i’ll have to figure something out that won’t get me arrested for stalking!!! LOL

  10. 10 jill August 17, 2007 at 9:52 am

    Teppo is a regular at the Applebees in Williamsville during the regular season. I’ve screwed up his to go order more than once, and he’s always been nice and patient about it.

    Something of note, when he calls, we ask for their name and number and he always says “Teppo” and gives his real number. A sign of someone who doesn’t think he’s special…

    …and ladies, THAT is hot.


  1. 1 Teppo and Goose « The Willful Caboose Trackback on August 30, 2007 at 2:44 am
  2. 2 Teppo’s Back, and He’s Better Than Ever. « The Willful Caboose Trackback on August 8, 2008 at 6:02 pm

Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

