Reversal of Fortune

In a stunning turn of events, at 1:05 (EST) the management of The Willful Caboose announced that Buffalo Sabres Center, Jochen Hecht’s eligibility for Kate’s Favorite Sabre has been reinstated. In a brief press conference, H.R.M Katebits read the following statement:

“It is with great happiness that I announce Jochen’s return to the Favorite Sabre competition. As many of you know, I am a new hockey fan, and as such I am learning at an exponential rate. Unfortunately, when he was initially cut from the competition, I did not have all the information available on Mr. Hecht. New information has come to light, and I feel that in the interest of a fair and accurate competition, Jochen should be reinstated to the pool of potential Favorite Sabres. I wish him the best of luck in the continuing competition.”

After reading the statement, Katebits declined to answer questions, but when a reporter asked if this was an admission that mistakes had been made by the office of H.R.M, Katebits said, “No comment.”

It remains to be seen how this will effect the eventual outcome of the Favorite Sabre Competition, but pundits agree that Mr. Hecht must now been considered amongst the favorites to win. When reached at his East Lansing home for comment, Ryan Miller was quoted by another news source as saying,

“I’m just trying to keep my head on straight so I can stay in the game. I don’t know what Katebits is thinking right now, but I do know that I am going to everything I can to be the best professional goalie and fan favorite I can be. Jochen Hecht is a friend and a teammate, but he had better hope that he didn’t teach me too many of his charming tricks. I’m going to do my best to put him, and the other remaining Sabres in my rearview mirror. Becoming Kate’s Favorite Sabre has been a lifelong dream. Don’t count me out just yet.”

With this unprecedented move, H.R.M. Katebits has stunned the hockey community and sent the competitors into frenzy of reorganization. On Friday morning, Derek Roy filed a request that his application also be reinstated, suggesting that he can provide new evidence that he should be Kate’s Favorite Sabre. Derek Roy was cut from consideration Thursday night and it is not expected that his request will be granted.

Buffalo, NY

13 Responses to “Reversal of Fortune”


  1. 1 Schnookie August 24, 2007 at 1:59 pm

    Wow! What stunning news! I’m sure the citizens of Yo-yoNation are taking to the streets, turning over cars and setting things on fire in their wild celebration. Of course, I don’t think he should win, but at least the grave injustice of so early an exit has been rectified.

  2. 2 andrew August 24, 2007 at 2:05 pm

    The saga continues, Hechtor lives to fight another day.

  3. 3 alix August 24, 2007 at 2:25 pm

    Oh yay! I think Yo-Yo is MY favorite Sabre. That shy goal scoring smile you Sabre ladies keep mentioning is getting to me.

  4. 4 Gambler August 24, 2007 at 2:30 pm

    Redemption!

    (Um… but now I’m getting nervous. I’m not going to have to share, am I?)

    Jochen Hecht is a friend and a teammate, but he had better hope that he didn’t teach me too many of his charming tricks. I’m going to do my best to put him, and the other remaining Sabres in my rearview mirror.

    :^::::::::: I love the idea of Crunchy keeping a journal of Yo-Yo’s “charming tricks.”

    Day 62: Jochen has purchased a green mouth guard. Will wait to hear the fan response before deciding whether buying that madras goalie stick I’ve had my eye on is a good idea.

    Day 87: Trolling of fan sites has revealed Jochen has a delightful new nickname: “Yo-Yo.” Not sure how to proceed. “Ry-Ry” even dumber than “Millsie.”

    Day 93: “Yo-Yo” apparently adorable when missing open nets to shoot at goaltender. Have decided goalie equivalent is regularly letting in unscreened shots from the point. Eagerly awaiting fans’ adoration.

  5. 5 Mags August 24, 2007 at 2:58 pm

    Yay Yo-Yo is saved! For now. You are a kind and benevolent ruler Kate.

    Gambler, have you ever read the VSD’s?

  6. 6 Schnookie August 24, 2007 at 2:59 pm

    Have decided goalie equivalent is regularly letting in unscreened shots from the point. Eagerly awaiting fans’ adoration.

    Yo-Yo’s like, “Ouch.” And, “I’ll just go sit back down with Vanek and the other cuts.”

    “Ry-Ry” even dumber than “Millsie.”

    Full disclosure: “Crunchy” is actually just an abbreviation at IPB Manor for “Crunchy Ry-Ry”. Pookie is merciless when it comes to Crunchy, so it didn’t take her long to try cutting him down with the Ry-Ry. So bad. So, so bad.

  7. 7 Heather B. August 24, 2007 at 3:12 pm

    Oh, Kate, be kind to poor Yo-Yo! You’ve resurrected his hope and he is a shy, gentle little thing.

    Trolling of fan sites has revealed Jochen has a delightful new nickname: “Yo-Yo.” Not sure how to proceed. “Ry-Ry” even dumber than “Millsie.”

    Hee! I like to imagine Ryan staring in the mirror trying desperately to get the sweet smile down. “Come on, come on! Smile! If stupid Hecht can do it, I can too.” No matter how hard he tries, he can lose the earnest, intense expression.

  8. 8 Heather B. August 24, 2007 at 3:13 pm

    CAN’T lose the earnest, intense expression!

  9. 9 Pookie August 24, 2007 at 3:53 pm

    I thought I felt the Earth shift earlier today. Turns out it was the awesome power of redemtion for Yo-Yo. I’m so glad to hear of this turn of events, but I’m confident it will all be for naught as Staffy is surely going to surprise you all and win. Mark. My. Words.

  10. 10 Katebits August 24, 2007 at 4:03 pm

    Hee. Ryan Miller SO keeps a journal of charming acts he intends to mimic! And he SO practices his “charming” grimaces in the mirror! You guys are awesome.

  11. 11 andrew August 24, 2007 at 5:02 pm

    “Ry-Ry” even dumber than “Millsie.”

    Oh man! I used to work with a guy who everyone called Ry-Ry!! He was a complete turd! Worst nickname ever. Because of that guy.

  12. 12 Meg August 24, 2007 at 7:55 pm

    Andrew, I’m pretty sure that “Ry-Ry” would be up there on the worst nickname ever list regardless of said guy’s turdishness.

    Kate, this is entirely too funny. And yay for Hecht. :)


  1. 1 KFS II, Attempting to Right What Once Went Wrong: Jochen Hecht « The Willful Caboose Trackback on September 5, 2008 at 4:34 pm

Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

