Kevin Everett

Yesterday the punchline of my post was that, “Football is sad”. At the time, I was jokingly referring to the outcome of the game.

What a difference a day makes.

Buffalo Bill, Kevin Everett is under medical sedation after a surgery to correct a severe spinal injury he sustained during yesterday’s game. The prognosis does not look good. Although it will be several days before doctors can determine the extent of the damage, it is unlikely that Everett will ever walk again.

It’s so incredibly sad. I wish you the best, Kevin.

4 Responses to “Kevin Everett”


  1. 1 Gambler September 10, 2007 at 8:43 pm

    You know, this is such strange timing for me, because just the other day my brother sustained a spinal cord injury playing football. Nothing too serious, but I was pretty emotional when I found out he will have to miss the rest of his season as a senior, and probably lacrosse as well. In fact, he may never be able to play contact sports at all any more. But then I read about Kevin Everett’s injury and it put it all in perspective. I can’t even imagine having to deal with that. My heart goes out to him and his family.

  2. 2 Meg September 10, 2007 at 9:28 pm

    This is just so horribly sad. I can’t imagine not being able to walk and I spend my days sitting at a desk. To be a professional athlete and have to deal with the sudden fact that you’re unlikely to ever walk again…I can’t even imagine.

  3. 3 Katebits September 10, 2007 at 10:19 pm

    Oh, Gambler! I am so glad your brother is going to be okay, but I’m sorry he might not be able to play the sports he loves. This has really put things into perspective for me too. This kind of injury is just incomprehensible.

  4. 4 alix September 11, 2007 at 10:04 pm

    You probably already read this but apparantly he moved his legs voluntarily so it’s not looking quite as dire.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

