Team Yellow is No Good

Tonight, Robin and I attended a Sabres scrimmage in which Team Blue clobbered team Team Yellow, 10-4. It was really pretty embarrassing for Team Yellow. Even worse than suffering the humiliating loss, Team Yellow was frustrated to the point of picking fights with Andrew Peters. For a second there in the third period it looked like Peters and Mair were going to fight. Dude. That’s just silly, no? Then, in apparent punishment for being so thoroughly dominated, Team Yellow had to skate horrible looking short-length laps at the end of the scrimmage. For some mysterious reason, Tim Connolly didn’t skate the punishment laps with the rest of Team Yellow.

Poor Yellow!

Highlights from the scrimmage include:

-Yellow 19 (aka Mark Mancari/Blue 38) scoring TWO goals. I am hesitant to attempt to analyze hockey, but I honestly think Yellow 19 looked really good out there. He’s big and fast, and he was getting to play on pretty good lines. I have no idea how normal this is for training camp, but the younger guys seem way more intense than the older guys. I know that there is some competition for the remaining roster spots, so I guess it would make sense that the kids are playing for reals.

-Sabretooth showed up!

-After much debate and negotiation, we ordered a pretzel and nachos. Hell yeah, we did.

-Mair smiled at me! (Okay fine, he might of been smiling at the tiny redheaded kid in front of me holding a sign that said, “Readheads have more fun” with a picture of a can of Campbell’s soup.)

-Jaro scored a goal on a penalty shot. He seemed very happy and his good mood sort of soften me to him. I like Jaroslav Spacek.

-Hunter scored two goals in rapid succession with assists from MacArther both times.

-Andrew Peters got a huge roar of encouragement when he attempted (and missed) his shoot-out goal. I kind of dig the funny training camp support for Peters.

-Yellow 19 totally scoured the crowd with his eyes looking for us after Robin and I repeatedly switched sections. Clearly he was trying to keep track of where we were. Can you blame him?

6 Responses to “Team Yellow is No Good”


  1. 1 Meg September 20, 2007 at 10:09 am

    Okay fine, he might of been smiling at the tiny redheaded kid in front of me holding a sign that said, “Readheads have more fun” with a picture of a can of Campbell’s soup.

    Hee! That’s adorable.

  2. 2 Pookie September 20, 2007 at 11:48 am

    I can only assume Yellow 19 was furious when he found out he was goign to be Blue 38. I hope he threw a hissy fit saying, “But how will Katebits find me?!?”

  3. 3 Gambler September 20, 2007 at 2:04 pm

    Kate,when you took that picture of the poor Yellows, you were sitting pretty much exactly where my parents’ season tickets were last season! That’s so cook! Man, that brings back memories.

    I WANT HOCKEY!! It’s really helping me to live vicariously through this blog, though, so please keep writing about any and all contact you have with Sabres training camp.

  4. 4 Heather B. September 20, 2007 at 3:17 pm

    I tried to find me in that picture since we were right in front of you, but I couldn’t find me. Mark and I blew off work for practice today and Mancari was BLUE 19. Poor guy!

  5. 5 Katebits September 20, 2007 at 4:23 pm

    Did he score a ton of goals, Heather? If you were Lindy, would you let him on the team? I guess I’m biased, but I think Yellow 19 is ready for the big time.

  6. 6 Meg September 20, 2007 at 4:37 pm

    I WANT HOCKEY!! It’s really helping me to live vicariously through this blog, though, so please keep writing about any and all contact you have with Sabres training camp.

    Same here. The more training camp updates the better. :D


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

