The Sad Truth

Recently, I have had to come to terms with the fact that the schedules of a professional orchestra and a professional hockey team to not make good bed fellows. I work nearly every weekend night, and so do the Sabres. Obviously, this presents some difficultly in regards to my watching and attending games. I am cringing in advance over all of the games I will miss. For the millionth time in my life, I’m thinking, “You IDIOT! Of all the freaking things in the entire world you could have chosen to do, you chose the VIOLA?!”

Last spring I was suffering from a tendinitis-like pain in my left hand. Musicians tend to be pretty cautious about such things because we all know people who have had their careers ended by chronic pain. No matter what I did, the only thing that made my hand feel better was rest, so after a few weeks of frustration, I opted to call in sick rather than push it. The upside of this injury (which is much better now, thanks for asking) is that I found myself watching Game 5 against the Rangers, rather than performing with the rest of my colleagues. The only reason I got to watch that game is because I had to call in sick that night. The realization that in the future I will surely miss equally exciting games is very disturbing indeed.

Don’t get me wrong, I love my job. I just wish we kept better hours.

9 Responses to “The Sad Truth”


  1. 1 Schnookie September 30, 2007 at 11:48 am

    Katebits, you have my undying sympathy on this! Yes, you probably will miss plenty of exciting games, but you’ll miss plenty of boring ones, too. And think of all the non-weekend night exciting games you’ll see! (I’m trying here — is it helping at all? No wait, don’t answer that…)

  2. 2 jill September 30, 2007 at 11:55 am

    hey kate, I played viola as a kid and then switched over to cello. I’m not professional by any means, but I know all about the pain you’re talking about.

    If you’re lucky, it’ll come back just in time for playoffs!

  3. 3 Glenn September 30, 2007 at 12:29 pm

    Girrrrrrrrrrrrrrl, ….don’t get ME started….

  4. 4 Heather B. September 30, 2007 at 5:02 pm

    I’m wondering if the grocery store will notice if I request off every night the Sabres play. That still leaves me plenty of nights to work, right?

  5. 5 Sam September 30, 2007 at 8:40 pm

    Repeat after me, Kitty: D… V… R. Get you some.

  6. 6 Katebits September 30, 2007 at 11:13 pm

    I have a DVR, but it’s not the same as watching the games live. Whaaaaa-aaaaa!

  7. 7 Heather B. October 1, 2007 at 12:59 am

    Kate, I agree. DVR’d games suck. I usually don’t even watch them. It

  8. 8 Sam October 1, 2007 at 1:01 pm

    In that case, my next suggestion would be to install a TV backstage at your concert hall, and trick the BPO into paying for cable. Worked for us…

  9. 9 Katebits October 1, 2007 at 1:44 pm

    Yeah, we’ve got the backstage television too. I’m just whining, Sam. There’s no talking me out of it. I don’t want to miss a single minute of hockey if I can help it. I want to sit down and watch every game live, commercials and all.

    The other problem with DVR is that due to the extreme participation in Sabres fandom in Buffalo, I think it would be literally impossible to get from the hall to my house without finding out who won. There is a chant (Let’s go Buff-a-lo) that lends itself to celebratory car honking. If they win a big game I hear the rhythmic honking all night, if they lose, it’s deadly silent. It’s quite charming actually….except that it ruins the DVRed games.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

