Is This The Year?

I’m sure you have already seen the new NHL, “Is this the year? commercials.

I found this mash-up over at AOL FanHouse.

Now, I actually like this ad. I love that Ryan Miller is featured so prominently. I like that hockey is an international sport, and I wish that the ad featured more players speaking in their native language. I loathe the anti-Sid sentiment at the end of the retooled ad………..but this mash-up made me laugh. I laughed because from the very first time I saw this commercial, every time they asked, “Is this the Year?” I responded out loud with a resounding “No”.

It was pure instinct.

I’m no advertising genius, but the fact that on first viewing I was literally responding in the negative to the commercial seems like a fairly large flaw in the advertising campaign.

Hee.

12 Responses to “Is This The Year?”


  1. 1 Pookie November 2, 2007 at 2:40 pm

    I think I might be the only person on Earth who likes this commercial. One of the things I love about sports is that it’s anybody’s guess what’s going to happen (unless you believe my dad who thought every sporting event was rigged). And, sure, I said the same thing the first time I saw it — “No, of course Buffalo isn’t winning it all” — but there a little tiny part of me that thinks, “Well, it’s only November. At this point, anyone could win!” And that’s fun. And that’s what I’m taking out of this commercial. That and combine Crunchy, Sid and Henry Staal, and I’m all for it, whatever it is!

  2. 2 Meg November 2, 2007 at 2:42 pm

    Well, that started well. I thought it was funny until it hit the “Speak English” bit, at which point I decided that I probably wouldn’t like the person who made it very much.

  3. 3 Katebits November 2, 2007 at 2:49 pm

    Oh! Saying “No” after they ask “Is this the year?” has nothing to do with whether or not I actually think it IS the year! It’s just very, very satisfying to disagree. Try it! It’s totally fun to say “No” after every question.

    I was trying to explain this on Shots off the Crossbar a few days ago, and I didn’t do it very well. I actually enjoy the commercial, too. My only point is that a good ad campaign probably doesn’t inspire the viewer to say “No” out loud. The instinct to say “No” was irresistable to me.

    Of COURSE I think this might be the year!

  4. 4 Schnookie November 2, 2007 at 3:00 pm

    Katebits, I think there was a bit of guffawing and some chorusing of “No!” the first time this aired at stately IPB Manor, too. And then we sat there and said, “That’s a great commercial!” It just goes to show that you’re a far, far savvier assessor than we are of the success or failure of a commercial to meet its stated purpose.

  5. 5 Katebits November 2, 2007 at 3:05 pm

    Well, like I said, I still like the ad! Saying “No” is totally hilarious and enjoyable!

    Well, that started well. I thought it was funny until it hit the “Speak English” bit, at which point I decided that I probably wouldn’t like the person who made it very much.

    Meg, I think this was made by a Habs fan, so I am assuming that the “Speak English” was sarcastic. But, yes. It’s wrong.

  6. 6 Pookie November 2, 2007 at 3:23 pm

    Katebits, please strike my first comment from the record! I hit send and was like, “Ah crap. That was such a stupid comment.” I’m going to get shit-faced and google search “Pookie Jebus” now.

  7. 7 Pookie November 2, 2007 at 3:24 pm

    Oh, and I thought the “Speak English” was the funniest part!

  8. 9 Meg November 2, 2007 at 3:37 pm

    Oh, and I thought the “Speak English” was the funniest part!

    I recently spent a flabbergasted dinner listening to a friend talk about how rude and offensive it is when Spanish people, who don’t know English, come into stores or restaurants and try to get help in Spanish. Or, god forbid, get frustrated by their inability to communicate. Bear in mind, we both live in New York City, so it’s not like Spanish speakers are rare here. So I’m feeling a bit touchy on the subject of late. I’m sure that usually I would that funny too.

  9. 10 Katebits November 2, 2007 at 3:49 pm

    I recently spent a flabbergasted dinner listening to a friend talk about how rude and offensive it is when Spanish people, who don’t know English, come into stores or restaurants and try to get help in Spanish.

    Well, now that IS wrong!

    Wasn’t there an ad in the not-so-distant past where all of the NHLers said something in their various languages?

  10. 11 Meg November 2, 2007 at 4:29 pm

    Wasn’t there an ad in the not-so-distant past where all of the NHLers said something in their various languages?

    I think I remember seeing something like that and liking it (I love that the league is so diverse–I feel like it’s good for international understanding or something ridiculous like that) but I can’t for the life of me remember what it was.

  11. 12 Heather B. November 2, 2007 at 5:45 pm

    I don’t think this is what you’re talking about but this one’s part of a series that involved player’s speaking different languages. This is also the reason I love Brendan Shanahan:


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

