I Love Hockey!

Wow! What a difference a few wins make!

Things I Love:

- Thomas Vanek. My feelings about Old Grimace-Face started veering towards sympathy a few weeks ago, and now that he has started to pull himself together, my heart is actually warming to him. I know! This shift in attitude is just as shocking to me as it is to you. Thomas Vanek, you can stay……for now.

- Kevin Sylvester. Kevin Sylvester is so cute. Don’t try to deny that you love his dimples and his widow’s peak. Just admit it. You love him too.

- The Montreal Canadiens. Of all of the teams we have played repeatedly, I have enjoyed the Montreal games the most. A lot of people have been complaining about the non-stop divisional play this month, but I have to admit, I’ve kind of liked it. The repetition has been a good way to get familiar with the other teams in our division. So far this month I have learned that the Bruins are boring, the Senators are scary (I actually knew this one already), and the Canadiens are fun. It only took one home game in person for me to adopt the general policy of all Buffalonians regarding the Leafs: Hells, no. No. Just NO.

- Winning close games. When Montreal tied it up in the third my heart sunk. But then we won! Tonight was the kind of frustrating mess we were losing a few weeks ago.

- This picture that I found on Facebook. I have a feeling that everyone on the interwebs has already seen this picture, but like most things involving hockey, it’s new to me.

Heh.

 

7 Responses to “I Love Hockey!”


  1. 1 Schnookie November 23, 2007 at 11:39 pm

    Hockey’s happy again! WOO HOOOO! And it’s so happy you’re not hating on Vanek; that is fantastic news! Jesus Crunchy is so adorable. And Jesusy.

    (Don’t tell the NHL I’m saying this, but like you, I’ve also found a silver lining in this all-division-all-the-time crap — Marty Biron sucks against the Devils. I wouldn’t complain if we had to play the Flyers more often.)

  2. 2 Heather B. November 24, 2007 at 12:12 am

    I hate divisional month, but I will agree that Buffalo-Montreal games are almost always good – none of that bogged down, clogged up defensive play, just fun, wide-open hockey. I would prefer to see them spread out over the season however.

    And I’m glad you’re warming up to Vanek as well. I understand why you were upset with him – I was too – but he’s going to to be around a while so you may as well like him, you know? :-)

  3. 3 Sam November 24, 2007 at 1:07 am

    I’ve also found a silver lining in this all-division-all-the-time crap — Marty Biron sucks against the Devils.

    sigh. Just had to say it, didn’t ya, Schnookie? Yes. Yes, he does. Thanks for that.

    I swear, between the Flyers’ inability to do anything right against New Jersey, and the Wild’s inability to do anything at all against absolutely flippin’ ANYONE, this is turning into a real downer of a month. Thank God I have Ryan Miller on my fantasy team…

  4. 4 Katebits November 24, 2007 at 11:54 am

    Thank God I have Ryan Miller on my fantasy team…

    Hee! There you go, Sammy!

    I’m sorry about your Wild. I’m sure they’ll pull it back together. It’s FINALLY sinking in with me that this is a looooong season.

  5. 5 markberm November 24, 2007 at 12:43 pm

    I’ve found that as Heather is quite defensive when people criticize Derek (even when he’s hard to defend), I feel the same way about Vanek. He is not Miro Satan or Alexei Yashin – this guy kills himself out there and maybe cares too much. I’m very happy that he is starting to look like the Thomas of last season.

    And speaking of Derek, I thought he was the best player on the ice last night with the exception of Mr. Crunchy. Way to go, Little D!

  6. 6 Gambler November 24, 2007 at 2:58 pm

    Kevin Sylvester is so cute.

    I think I said that about twenty times last night. Because he is! Those DIMPLES!

    I feel the same way about Vanek.

    Me too, Mark! I don’t know what it is, but I can’t help but like the guy. And I don’t care how big of an offer sheet he signed, I just won’t accept that he’s a slag-faced whore.

  7. 7 alix November 24, 2007 at 3:37 pm

    Clearly my tough love with Van and dropping him off the Meatballs was the kick in the pants he needed. You can thank me later :p Go Sabres! Hockey is so much more fun when your team wins.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

