10 Things I Really Like About Hockey

1. I really like it when a forward is cruising to the net in a near break-out situation, and just when you think all hope of stopping him is lost, the defenseman hot on his heals reaches out with his stick and…pokes…the puck away.

2. I really like it when all five guys come flying out from behind the net in a line formation on a power play.

3. I really like empty net goals if the Sabres score them.

4. I really like it when the refs fall down.

5. I really like it when someone performs a crazy stick maneuver to keep the puck in the offensive zone.

6. I really like it when they show shots of all of the Sabres tapping fists with Sabretooth after a win.

7. I really like it when the game is NOT on Versus, and Rick Jeanneret is broadcasting.

8. I really like it when the puck goes cleanly to one of the guys off the face-off.

9. I really like it when two guys get tangled up and skid down the ice in a big, careening fiasco.

10. I really like it when the Sabres win.

4 Responses to “10 Things I Really Like About Hockey”


  1. 1 Heather B. November 27, 2007 at 12:39 am

    and just when you think all hope of stopping him is lost, the defenseman hot on his heals reaches out with his stick and…pokes…the puck away

    My very favorite thing, I think. I also like when a d-man stays with a guy, stays with a guy, stays with a guy and at exactly the right moment reaches out and pokes the puck away. Hank did that to Sid last season and it was awesome.

    I really like it when the game is NOT on Versus, and Rick Jeanneret is broadcasting.

    I totally forgot this was a Versus game. I wasn’t quite so sorry to miss it then.

  2. 2 Gambler November 27, 2007 at 1:19 am

    Heather, I know you didn’t watch the game tonight, but at one point Yo-Yo stripped Ovie of the puck with this beautiful backcheck move. I just about got up and clapped for him. You would have loved it.

    Nice list, Kate! I like empty net goals okay, but I think I might like it better that Goose completely missed the empty net tonight. You know, given that the game was already won at that point, I just thought it was hilarious.

  3. 3 ReigningFrog November 27, 2007 at 10:16 pm

    You forgot the helmet nuzzle!

  4. 4 Schnookie November 28, 2007 at 1:48 am

    Sabres tapping Sabretooth is AWESOME! It makes me sad that we got to meet the fake, hobo Sabretooth, because I would so have wanted to bump my fist against the paw that bumps Crunchy’s fist.

    I really like it when all five guys come flying out from behind the net in a line formation on a power play.

    When the Devils used to do this, we called it “the five-man snooze-out”. They were not so much into the “flying” part.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

