Captain December

For some reason, when Toni Lydman gives weird, spaced-out interviews, I think, “Heh. I bet he’d be really fun at a party,” but when Brian Campbell gives weird, spaced-out interviews, I furrow my brow and think, “Is he alright? Is Soupy having a stroke right now?”

Do not be alarmed. He’s perfectly fine.

Brian Campbell, I wish you well this month. Hopefully the Sabres will win all of their games under your captainly administrations. If you need anything, I’ll be over here, eying you suspiciously cheering you on.

7 Responses to “Captain December”


  1. 1 Meg December 2, 2007 at 9:46 pm

    Kate, I have the same reaction to Campbell’s spaced out interviews. I think there’s just a different quality to them then there is to Lydman’s.

  2. 2 Heather B. December 2, 2007 at 10:00 pm

    Soupy’s interviews have been weird this season – very subdued. He always sounds sad and defeated. I don’t think they were always like that.

    But as for the C… It was a matter of time. I thought before the season that Soup had a good shot at a permanent letter.

  3. 3 Katebits December 2, 2007 at 10:06 pm

    That’s interesting that you think his interviews are different now, Heather, because I totally agree he always sounds sad and defeated. I keep waiting for the boisterous, fun-loving Soupy that you talked about to show up, but he just….hasn’t.

    I have such mixed feelings about old Soupy. I wish he would sign an extension for well under market value. Then I would love him forever. :D

  4. 4 kr2128 December 2, 2007 at 11:09 pm

    The only player I trust completly is the the man who should have been this month’s captain, Paul Gaustad! He would make for an amazing captain (or politician). Soup has a tendeny to look away when he’s talking. He does it in interviews and worse, every commercial he’s in.

    I have never comented before, but Katebits, you write one hell of a blog! I can only hope my Goose for Captain facebook group is 1/10 as amusing. (http://hilbert.facebook.com/group.php?gid=15835280315)

  5. 5 Heather B. December 3, 2007 at 12:46 am

    That’s interesting that you think his interviews are different now, Heather, because I totally agree he always sounds sad and defeated.

    I first noticed this back in the preseason but even after the drubbing of the Canes he was pretty subdued. There was a quick peek at Happy Soupy after the, “Not a bad first game under you captaincy, huh?” question but it was very fleeting. I feel like maybe he’s doing the same thing Ryan talked about and trying to be a leader. But instead of leading in a way that’s natural to him it’s like he’s trying to fit the idea of what a leader is supposed to be – serious and focused etc. Soupy, it’s okay to be happy after a big win! Really, it is!

    I have mixed feelings about an extension too, especially at the numbers that are being bandied about. Eventually I’ll get to writing about it, I think.

    kr, I was a little surprised Goose didn’t get one of the letters.

  6. 6 Carl Jr. December 3, 2007 at 10:29 am

    I agree, the Hurricanes are Hurrilames! I saw them play in Raleigh last week and they sucked bad. The only highlight was the Dancin Granny, who likes to shake it like a polaroid, at the game.

  7. 7 Katebits December 3, 2007 at 12:17 pm

    Hiya kr2128! Thanks reading TWC! It’s funny that you mention that Goose would make a good politician because just yesterday I told someone that I thought he could win a Buffalo mayoral race. I will be sure to check out you “Goose for Captain” group!

    CARL JR.! Whooo-oooo! We will turn to you for all of our “behind enemy lines” information. :D


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

