Googled

Like all self-obsessed bloggers, I keep a fairly careful eye on my blog stats. The most fun of the all blog stats, is of course, the list of search terms that bring people to my site. In the daily sea of “Ryan Miller girlfriend”s and “belichick hoodie”s is a delightful list of random, and not-so-random search terms.

Every once in awhile, I like to amuse Schnookie and Pookie by typing a funny search term into google, and clicking on the link that leads back to IPB. Then, the next day, I’ll get an email from one of them that is like, “Um, are you the one who found IPB by searching for Boxworthy is seriously peeved?”, at which point I deny any involvement in such a ridiculous matter, and everyone has a laugh.

It has recently occurred to me that the Sabres are most likely playing the same game with me. I think it’s perfectly reasonable to assume that the Sabres love nothing more than to send me cryptic messages via google search terms. (Hockey players are known to be subtle, computer-saavy communicators.)

This is a screen shot of a list of search terms people used to find The Willful Caboose:

I will now, one by one, address each of these messages sent to me by various Sabres.

A. Hank, if you want to send Heather a message, I suggest you click the link that leads back to her blog, not mine.

B. Derek, you’re being really insecure. You’re a great guy, but I think you’d be a lot happier if you stopped constantly comparing yourself to your teammates. Just relax! (But the answer is Tim Connolly.)

C. Me too, Pommerdoodle. Me too.

And here is my favorite search term put into Google by a Sabre:

I figured as much, Goose, but it’s still nice to hear.

13 Responses to “Googled”


  1. 1 Gambler December 8, 2007 at 8:14 pm

    Hee! This is awesome, Kate!

    But I can’t believe you didn’t address “yo-yo caboose”! Yo-Yo so desperately wants to know if people think his butt looks big.

    And now, for the 100th time, I wish I’d started by blog on WordPress instead of Blogger. I want funny google search terms!

  2. 2 Heather B. December 8, 2007 at 9:19 pm

    Gambler, I assumed that was you looking for photos of Yo-Yo’s caboose. And awwww, Hank… There’s an email link on my blog, sweetie. Use it!

  3. 3 Shane December 8, 2007 at 9:30 pm

    i’m terribly curious about the content of that censored line!!! it must’ve been pretty bad for you to blot it out!

  4. 4 HG December 8, 2007 at 11:50 pm

    Every once in awhile, I like to amuse Schnookie and Pookie by typing a funny search term into google, and clicking on the link that leads back to IPB.

    That’s a really good idea…

  5. 5 Katebits December 9, 2007 at 12:35 am

    Gambler, I can’t believe I didn’t comment on yo-yo caboose either! What’s my problem? How could I have missed that?

    Shane, it was pretty bad. :D

  6. 6 Meg December 9, 2007 at 2:23 am

    And now, for the 100th time, I wish I’d started by blog on WordPress instead of Blogger. I want funny google search terms!

    Gambler, you can get them on Blogger too although it’s probably more complicated. Just set up a Google Analytics account (it’s super-easy and you just copy and paste the code into your blog–they have instructions). I can see all the search terms people use to find my blog although they’re never this fun.

  7. 7 Schnookie December 9, 2007 at 3:05 am

    Lou Lamoriello is NOT the queen of PandoNation! I am!!! This is FANTASTIC! I love, love, love that “im scared” finds TWC.

    And Heather, just so you know, we get regular hits for Heather Tallinder. So many that it’s getting embarrassing. Really, you can stop now. :D

    Every once in awhile, I like to amuse Schnookie and Pookie by typing a funny search term into google, and clicking on the link that leads back to IPB.

    That’s a really good idea…

    Bring it! And then we’ll see if yours gets pulled out in the next “IPB Publishes”… It’s a tough challenge, because like Katebits, we get some pretty crazy searches.

  8. 8 Katebits December 9, 2007 at 1:49 pm

    Ha! Okay, who googled “Paul Gaustad loves kittens”?

  9. 9 Amy December 9, 2007 at 2:10 pm

    Probably the same person who googled “life size Gaustad poster” on my blog.

  10. 10 Schnookie December 9, 2007 at 2:41 pm

    I am APPALLED at how crappy Google is as a search tool. I mean, I just googled “Paul Gaustad loves chubby kittens” and would you believe TWC didn’t come up? There were about 13 other hits, several not in English, but no TWC. Katebits, you need to work on this.

  11. 11 alix December 9, 2007 at 8:58 pm

    Hee! This is way too amusing! Thanks for sharing Katebits. Are you the ones that keep googling giraffe hockey on my blog? Because I’m kind of worried if some poor soul actually believes giraffe hockey exists.

  12. 12 Patty (in Dallas) December 12, 2007 at 10:39 pm

    You know how you’re a newbie hockey fan? I’m the same with blogging, and this would never have occurred to me in a million years! Doing it on purpose? How hilarious!

  13. 13 Sara January 3, 2008 at 3:21 pm

    I just googled “slag-faced whores” for fun, and right there, at the top of my page was your open letter to Vanek. It made me happy.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

