Wait. Hockey?

It appears that the Ice Bowl was not the end of the season. I know. Weird. Apparently, the Sabres are required to keep playing hockey for several more months. I guess I’m okay with getting to watch more hockey, but I’m a little peeved that our first opponent has to be the terrifying Senators. Why can’t we play the Capitals, or better yet, the Sharks (in San Jose)?

Shut up, Senators.

I may, or may not be watching the game tonight. You see, I’m taking a ridiculous, whirlwind trip to IPB Manor this weekend. I’m throwing caution to the wind, hoping into the car, and driving six hours, basically so that I can sit on the couch tomorrow with the Ookies. (You’re so jealous!)  I will definitely arrive in time for the hockey game, but there is a Devils game on at the same time, and I’m quite sure that the Ookie’s desire to watch the Devils pound the Flyers will far outweigh my desire to watch the Sabres, um, do their very best, against the Senators.  I know they have an extensive tivo system in place there at IPB Manor, but I’ll let you in on a little secret about me: of all the things in the world, the thing I find perhaps the most annoying, is watching a tivoed loss.  I get unreasonably angry if I carefully avoid the internet and the radio and all of the places where I could pick up the score, and then, after all of that extra effort, I have to watch a loss.  Plus, I believe strongly that if I don’t watch in an effort to shield myself from a loss, then the Sabres are going to win in an effort to prove I made a terrible mistake.  (They love to prove me wrong.)  So, I might just watch the Devils game and let the chips fall where they may with the Sabres.

I’m sure that at the very least, I’ll manage to destroy the Devils Game Diary for tonight.  Heh.

8 Responses to “Wait. Hockey?”


  1. 1 jill January 4, 2008 at 10:51 am

    when you say pound into submission, you mean play the trap until we’re all snoring, right?

  2. 2 Schnookie January 4, 2008 at 12:25 pm

    I have been SO disorganized about this visit. I totally thought the Devils and Sabres weren’t playing on the same night. I also, strangely, though you were coming down, like, next Wednesday. So there you go. I’m such a great hostess. Anyway, I really want to watch the Sabres play the Sens, so I don’t care what you’re doing, Katebits — I’m watching the Sabres on TiVo after the Devils!

    (And jill, come on now. The Devils aren’t even the trapping-est team in the league anymore. That insult is just so 1995. :P)

  3. 3 Amanda January 4, 2008 at 12:41 pm

    The Devils are a much more exciting team to watch now than they were a couple of years ago. That Zach Parise – what a player! And who couldn’t like pint-sized Brian Gionta? I love the little guys, or, as Paul Hamilton calls the Sabres’ little guys… “our little psychos”. That cracks me up every time he says it.

    Have fun tonight, girls! I will be on a date with the hubby, so the TiVo will be keeping the game warm for me. I, too, HATE watching the Sabres lose, even more so when I could’ve avoided it (by knowing they lost and not bothering to watch the tape). Oy.

  4. 4 Pookie January 4, 2008 at 1:17 pm

    Katebits, what you don’t realize is that you’ll be watching a TiVoed game at Stately IPB Manor where the liquor and cupcakes will be flowing liberally. That outta make up for a loss, right? Of course, they’re not going to lose, since Ottawa’s totally discombobulated with all this Emery stuff. You heard it here first!

  5. 5 Sam January 4, 2008 at 1:52 pm

    I’m quite sure that the Ookie’s desire to watch the Devils pound the Flyers…

    #1) Shut up.

    #2) That should be Ookies’, not Ookie’s

    #3) Shut. up.

  6. 6 Schnookie January 4, 2008 at 3:07 pm

    #2) That should be Ookies’, not Ookie’s

    Maybe she was talking about the brain-sharing singular unit we are, “the Ookie”. I bet you didn’t think of that! GO DEVILS! :P

  7. 7 elise January 4, 2008 at 7:58 pm

    kate! your hockey road trip sounds so FABU!!!!!!!! safe driving and listening to scary books on tape…

  8. 8 andrew January 7, 2008 at 5:05 pm

    Stupid Effing Senators. Man I hate those guys, not even the calming powers of Wii can undo the rage they enduce.

    And I’ll have you know that if the Sharks played the Sabres at HSBC, they might actually put forth an effort! Of course they won’t do it at home, when I’m actually there.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

