Stormtroopers!

Woe is the Sabres fan. I consider myself a fairly light-hearted person. As far as hockey goes, I try to enjoy the wins and distract myself from the losses. I don’t really see the point in watching sports if they make you miserable, so in general, I accept full responsibility for any bad moods resulting from watching the Sabres. However, this little stretch has been genuinely unpleasant, and at first glance, tonight’s game against the Senators does not appear to offer any hope of relief.

Fear not, though, dear readers. I’m pretty sure that it’s all going to be okay.

Our best chance at a win tonight is to catch the Senators unaware. They should be lulled into a pretty comfy sense of security by our recent lose-iness. Hopefully the Sens will be bloated with ego and overconfidence, and the Sabres can take advantage of the situation. Lindy has activated his mad sly super-coach skillz, and he’s putting T-bone in to start the game. Nothing says, “Don’t mind us. We’re just a struggling team in terrifying free-fall. Nothing to fear here,” like playing your back-up goalie. We’ve got them exactly where we want them!

That’s right, Senators. You just relax. You deserve to take it easy today.

Don’t worry if things start out slowly. I predict that the Sens will score four goals in the first period, and the Sabres will have an extremely tense intermission. The Sabres are going to fight each other at the start of the second period, but then use that frustration to fucking EXPLODE against the Senators. The Sabres are going to win 31-4. (Yeah, that’s right! 31-4!) Staffy is going to score 13 goals. Vanek with a hat-trick. In the third period Lindy will put Crunchy in, and then Crunchy will score a goal. There will be a huge brawl. It’s going to be the greatest game ever.

I, of course, can’t watch the game in Portland, so I leave it for you to enjoy. Have fun, guys!

8 Responses to “Stormtroopers!”


  1. 1 Shari January 10, 2008 at 2:16 pm

    I miss my Teppo. Sniiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiff!

  2. 2 KatheelovesDrew January 10, 2008 at 4:56 pm

    I’m scared! *checking liquor cabinet supply to ensure personal satisfaction*

    To watch or not to watch? God help me, I think I may watch. UGH!

  3. 3 Matt January 10, 2008 at 4:57 pm

    I swear to God that if Crunchy scores a goal, I’m going to burn NJ to the ground. How come Detroit gets to celebrate like that and I can’t?

  4. 4 Anne January 10, 2008 at 5:48 pm

    I’ll watch. I’m clearly a masochist.

  5. 5 Katebits January 10, 2008 at 5:52 pm

    It’s very easy for me to talk a big talk about not watching from the safety of Portland, Oregon. I’m sure I’d watch too if I could. I am SO glad watching is not an option. All joking aside, approaching this game feels like a slow march towards the guillotine.

  6. 6 Pookie January 10, 2008 at 5:58 pm

    Hm, sounds like we should TiVo this one while watching the Devils game…

  7. 7 Schnookie January 10, 2008 at 10:11 pm

    Okay, I didn’t watch any of this game until flipping to the OT, but it seems that your predictions were probably spot-on. Why the Sabres agreed to play an OT when they were up 31-4, I don’t know, but no one ever said this team wasn’t unconventional. You’re so prescient, Katebits!

  8. 8 Blitzen January 10, 2008 at 11:52 pm

    Remember when you were a kid and your mom would make you eat something yukky by mentioning that there are starving kids somewhere in the world who would love that food? Well, the hockey equivalent might be along the lines of “Love your Buffalo Sabres – there are Leafs fans out there that would love that record and potential” (especially the goalies – Tibbo was really good tonight!!).


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

