Tough Love Works!

Dear Sabres,

I’m pretty sure my firm guidance is what set you on course for your amazing night, and with respect to that, I’m going to offer the you a sober “congratulations” (translation: OMG!OMG!EEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!). Now, you know as well as I, that this team has had several “turning points” only to be plunged back into mediocrity the next game. (translation: THIS TIME IT’S FOR REAL! WE’RE NEVER GOING TO LOSE AGAIN!) You mustn’t allow yourselves to focus for too long on this particular win. (Translation: HIGH FIVE, STAFFY! HIGH FIVE, ROY-Z! Ah hell, HIGH FIVE, VANEK! WOOO-OOOT! WOOT! WOOOOOT!) While tonight was a positive step forward, you still have a long way to go. (Translation: WE’RE ON OUR WAY, BABY!) I must insist that you don’t allow this game to go to your heads. (Translation: Seriously though. Don’t get cocky.)

With (tough) love,

Katebits

PS: Private to Derek Roy: I forgot to take you off the bench on my fantasy team tonight. Your 4 point night was awesome for me, the Sabres fan, and bittersweet for me, the manager of the Fancy Bits. I am a fairly superstitious manager and fan, so I assure you, your fine play while sitting on the F-Bit bench did not go unnoticed. If allowing my fantasy team to tank is what it takes to motivate you to play hard, fine. Until further notice, you’re benched. But don’t get lazy Mister, because the minute you start sucking, the Fancy Bits are going to play you all the time.

PPS: Private to Drew Stafford: Against all reason and statistical analysis, I have kept you on my fantasy team. Tonight you made the F-Bits proud. I’m pleased to announce that you are the Fancy Bit of the Week. Congratulations!

5 Responses to “Tough Love Works!”


  1. 1 Shari January 19, 2008 at 10:03 am

    Brian Campbell on post-game show…

    BC: Blah, blah, blah, blah, Iwantmoremoney, blah,blah, everyones aware that Iwantmoremoney, blah,blah,blah, we did good but, blah,blah, we have to concentrate on Saturday Iwantmoremoney, blah,blah…….

    I hope Mike Ryans eye is gonna be O.K.. Lindy said he ended up with several stitches and he could have a problem with it. My husband was hit in the eye years ago at Sabreland. He ended up with a permanently dialated pupil. We always cringe now when a player gets struck like that. Thinking of you today kiddo.
    Thank you team for a great night!!!!

  2. 2 Shari January 19, 2008 at 10:15 am

    Oh, and where it says The Streak Is Dead on the Sabres site, that picture ranks up there with “The Sadly Hilarious Drift” for the Thrashers.

  3. 3 markberm January 19, 2008 at 11:37 am

    Speaking of Mike Ryan, he was surely noticeable last night. He was flying all over the place. The whole team was very good, but for a fourth line winger to be noticed like that, he must have been doing something right. Hope he is okay. I dread Peters getting back into the lineup. And I just wonder how well Ryan would be playing if he didn’t have to sit for Mr. Worthless all those games.

    Oh well, no need to look on the negative right now! Go Sabres!

  4. 4 kathee January 19, 2008 at 12:04 pm

    Hooray for DREW! <3 Also, I totally believe they did well because I missed the entire 1st period when I was picking up my kids from a skating party at school.
    I also didn’t have ONE DROP of vodka as I had hoped because of my aversion to DWIs.

  5. 5 Destiny January 19, 2008 at 3:12 pm

    I kept getting score updates at work and I thought people we messing with me! I’m glad it was the truth though. Hooray for tough love! :)


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

