Sabres Vs. Lightning 1/29/08

Pregame

Mood: Whatevs.
Favorite Sabre: Goose. Word on the street is, Goose has the flu. You know who had the flu last week? ME! Goose has my flu. Cute! Also, poor Goose.
Least Favorite Sabre: Tim Connolly. This one isn’t really fair. It’s not his fault that he is made out of kleenex and pipe cleaners, but boy, I’m sick of wishing he was healthy.
Prediction: At least Vincent Lecavalier will be there.
Animal representing my hopes and dreams: Paper crane

Summary of thoughts: I kind of wish the A-S break was a full week. This return to hockey is a little jarring.

After 1st Period (2-0, Sabres)

Mood: I feel pretty decent.
Favorite Sabre: Pommers! Pommers! Pommers! Good boy, Pommers! (Although, Crunchy is looking kind of foxy tonight.)
Least Favorite Sabre: Soupy. Just cuz.
Prediction: Hmm. I am hesitant to relent on my pessimism because they seem to like it when I doubt them. I predict that I will have to watch that commercial with the guy who ignored his rotting, stinking foot. He’ll be standing on his one leg in the playground…..where he smoked his first cigarette. I’m not sure what smoking has to do with being too dumb to go to the doctor when your foot starts rotting off, but whatever. Smoking is bad, kids.
Animal representing my hopes for this game: Paper crane mobile. That’s right. The cranes are organizing.

Summary of thoughts: I kind of don’t hate them tonight. It’s confusing.

After the 2nd Period (4-1 Sabres)

Mood: Amused
Favorite Sabre: It’s time to stop this waffling. It’s time to commit to a Lydman Jersey.
Least Favorite Sabre: Soupy, but it’s not really his fault tonight. The Versus guys won’t shut up about him, and it’s getting on my nervies.
Animal representing my hopes for this game: actual crane

Summary of thoughts: The Tampa Bay Lightning are very bad at hockey. We’ll take it if your just going to hand it over Tampa, but, we might respect you a little more if you made us work for it a little. But, you know, whatever. I guess you’re just feeling easy tonight. Don’t get me wrong, we’re not complaining.

At the End (4-2, Sabres win!)

Mood: Buoyant!
Favorite Sabre: The Tampa Bay Lightning.
Least Favorite Sabre: I’m not even that cranky with Soupy, but still, for the sake of consistency, I’ll go with Soupenheimer Smith.
Animal representing my hopes for the future: Frasier Crane.

Summary of thoughts: Tampa Bay was so terrible that it’s kind of hard to feel too worked up over this one, but still. Two points. Yay!

20 Responses to “Sabres Vs. Lightning 1/29/08”


  1. 1 fullbodytransplant January 29, 2008 at 7:43 pm

    2-0 after one, the Bison are ready to roll after the break.

    My favorite Sabre is Lindy Ruff.

  2. 2 Katebits January 29, 2008 at 7:59 pm

    Rough Lindy is pretty cool.

  3. 3 Pookie January 29, 2008 at 9:19 pm

    The crane motif is beautiful! It almost brings a tear!

  4. 4 Libby January 29, 2008 at 9:33 pm

    Kate – this is great! Just like reading the bfloblog during the games, only with pictures!

    Thanks for the fun!

  5. 5 Katebits January 29, 2008 at 9:44 pm

    Thanks for reading, Libby!

  6. 6 S(h)ara January 29, 2008 at 9:48 pm

    . I’m not sure what smoking has to do with being too dumb to go to the doctor when your foot starts rotting off, but whatever.

    Ok, for serious, I laughed so hard that I snorted when I read that. Well done, dear Katebits. Well done.

    Oh yeah, GO SABRES! Woot!

  7. 7 Shari January 29, 2008 at 9:59 pm

    Ya know, sometimes as I read this blog, I wonder if Kate is stoned.

  8. 8 mcguffers January 29, 2008 at 10:08 pm

    I’m finally posting after being addicted to this blog for three months!

    I will tell you why the Sabres won tonight. Because I refuse to watch their games live anymore. Last year, when I moved back to Rochester, I was able to watch them again. They lost every game I watched, so in interest of the playoffs I started taping the games and watching later.

    This season I’ve watched every game and for awhile I thought my curse was broken. Then January happened. The only two games this month I missed, the Sabres won. 10-1 against the Thrashers, 2-1 against Dallas. Tonight I taped the game and avoided the TV until I was sure the game was over. And they won. My DVR is going to be getting a lot of use while I live with the fact that I jinx my favorite team.

    And I also spit out my drink when I read your smoking commercial comment. My brother promised me he’d quit smoking when the smell of his own foot became unbearable.

  9. 9 Katebits January 29, 2008 at 10:36 pm

    Ya know, sometimes as I read this blog, I wonder if Kate is stoned.

    Nah, I’m just a crazy beeotch. (Maybe in my reckless youth you could have busted me with this one. :P)

    Hi, mcguffers! Thanks for delurking! And on behalf of all Buffalonians, thank you for your diligence. I am a jinx live. The Sabres are 1-6 with me in attendance this season with 6 straight losses…..but you know what? I don’t care. Unlike you, I am not doing the right thing. I am going to FORCE them to get over it, even if it means they don’t make the playoffs. I WILL NOT TOLERATE being a jinx! :D So, just so you know, I would never judge someone for forcing their team to overcome a jinx. I mean honestly, the Sabres are NOTHING without you! They should know that!

    My brother promised me he’d quit smoking when the smell of his own foot became unbearable.

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!

  10. 10 Anne January 29, 2008 at 10:39 pm

    Perhaps nicotine is detrimental to the nasal passages and science has yet to determine this….? Yeah no, I think that guy’s just a fool

    Your crane progression was inspired.

  11. 11 Sam January 29, 2008 at 11:23 pm

    nice work with the cranes. I actually fold origami cranes.. it’s one of the few designs I have memorized. I gave them away as Christmas ornament gifts this year.. but anyway..

    I love your game posts like this! Keep up the good work. At least Vincent Lecavalier will be there. Hehehe did you have an “epiphavinny” this weekend too?

    I am sick of Soupy. Can we PLEASE trade him?

    I love Pommers and MacArthur and Roy! 1 G 1 A for each of them. woohoo. :) I was a bit sad they took Toni’s goal though, that was a sweet play. But at least it counted for the Sabres.

    I think Royzie is magic with his bubble underarmour shoulder pads. he should wear them forever!

    I’m tired of hearing about Connolly. I’m sorry the guy is fragile but let’s move on, eh?

    Does anyone else think this might have been the most complete game the Sabres have played all season? It was really pretty good (even if TB is terrible). And Miller was solid tonight. Now.. can they keep it up?

  12. 12 CrotchetyOriginalSam January 29, 2008 at 11:39 pm

    Crunchy is looking kind of foxy tonight…

    Am I the only one who finds Crunchy’s voice when he intones the Chinese “yo mama” joke on that NHL commercial strangely sexy? Maybe I’m just having Firefly flashbacks.

    Ya know, sometimes as I read this blog, I wonder if Kate is stoned.

    Having gone to college with Kate, allow me to assure you: she is.

  13. 13 Meg January 29, 2008 at 11:46 pm

    Thank you, mcguffers, for taking such a hit for the team. I was beginning to think I too was a jinx after they won the Atlanta and Dallas games while I was out getting culture, but I watched this one live so I think I’ve dodged a bullet there.

    I think the real solution here is probably to play the next 33 games against the Southeast. Do you think we can petition for that?

  14. 14 mcguffers January 30, 2008 at 12:23 am

    Your welcome Meg. And I think if your petition could include charts and graphs showing an increase in ticket sales when the Sabres play the Southeast, Gary Bettman would probably consider changing their division.

  15. 15 mcguffers January 30, 2008 at 1:17 am

    And I definately meant “You’re welcome.” Yeah publik skool edjukashion!

  16. 16 Patty (in Dallas) January 30, 2008 at 2:18 am

    Still loving the format!

    And I guess I wasn’t the only one that choked on my Diet Coke from laughing at your assessment of the relationship between smoking and a rotted foot.

  17. 17 Heather B. January 30, 2008 at 7:40 am

    Maybe I’m just having Firefly flashbacks.

    Never a bad thing.

  18. 18 Katebits January 30, 2008 at 7:48 am

    Ya know, sometimes as I read this blog, I wonder if Kate is stoned.

    Having gone to college with Kate, allow me to assure you: she is.

    Hey! I’m innocent, officer! Don’t mess with me, Samantha.

  19. 19 Chaz January 30, 2008 at 10:20 pm

    Katebits – Kudos!

    I wandered onto this website almost 1 month ago, and have enjoyed it very much. My boss would disagree since I have spent many paid hours catching up on past posts! =) Keep it up!

    In other news –
    I’m afraid that Staffy will (at least in the near term) suffer the same fate as smokey the one legged bandit. I take comfort in knowning that pommerdoodles extra sensitive sense of smell will let him know if his foot is rotting.

  20. 20 Katebits January 31, 2008 at 1:49 am

    Hi, Chaz! Thanks for your kind words! Poor Staffy. I just saw a replay of the injury. Ouch! (And yes, I do think Pommerdoodle can come in handy here. :P)


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

