Sabres Vs. Thrashers 2/1/08

Pregame

Mood: Concerned.
Favorite Sabre: Hmm. I’m feeling Nolan Pratt tonight. I know! Weird! Is he even playing?
Least Favorite Sabre:

Animal representing my hopes for this game: Turkey. Ornary and dumb.
Prediction: Lazy Sabres.
Summary of thoughts: I’m kind of scared that the Thashers are going to try to hurt someone. Eff you in advance, Thrashers!

After 1st (0-2, Thrashers)

Mood: I do not heart them. At all.
Favorite Sabre: Meh. Rob Ray.
Least Favorite Sabre: Derek Roy. SHAMEFUL DIVER
Animal representing my hopes for this game: frozen game hen

Prediction: This game will continue to blow, but the Devils are coming back.
Summary of thoughts: DUDE! Mark Recchi! Why don’t you get a helmet that fits? Your FOREHEAD is bright red! I’m sure they can adjust your helmet so that your noggin isn’t so squeezed!

After the 2nd (3-2, Sabres)

Mood: Entertained
Favorite Sabre: Goose. Listen, I know I go on and on about Goose, but really, it was TOTALLY his righteous indignation over that waved off goal that got these guys back in the game. That was some quality work. Hee!
Least Favorite Sabre: I’m sticking with Derek Roy, but only half-heartedly. He did take that stick pretty hard in the shnozz.
Animal representing my hopes for this game: Owl.
Prediction: Well, something is going to happen. It seems like the Thrashers might totally lose their shit.
Summary of thoughts: I got so used to watching them lose and lose and lose that I totally forgot that the game isn’t over after the opposing team scores the first goal! Which is not to say it’s over now. No. No, there is still plenty of time for disaster. Also, the bit with Robi in front of the blue screen like a weatherman is hilarious.

At the end (4-5 SO, Thrashers)

Mood: Horrified. On so many levels.
Favorite Sabre: Ryan Miller. Please be okay please be okay please be okay.
Least Favorite Sabre: Brian Campbell. Nice hustle on that third Thrasher goal, buddy.
Animal(s) representing my hopes for the future: Three, single-cell amoebas. Pray for them.

Summary of thoughts: That was terrible. Crunchy is hurt. We lost another shoot-out. Vanek just makes me horribly, horribly sad. BUT, we got a point, and you know what?….They didn’t suck. That was a pretty feisty game.

I have held my tongue on the shootout until now. THAT GAME, was a tie. Shootouts are lame.

13 Responses to “Sabres Vs. Thrashers 2/1/08”


  1. 1 Shari February 1, 2008 at 8:32 pm

    And now, it’s time to play…. LET’S HIT THE GOALPOST!!!!
    (Aplause, housewives in the audience jumping up and down)
    And now, your host….SHARI!!! YEAHHHHH!!

    Stupid Direct TV started comming in all colorblocked 5 minutes into the game. Everyone we know with a Direct is having this problem tonight. So we’re being the Waltons hangin on the radio.
    Night Sabres.

  2. 3 Heather B. February 1, 2008 at 9:33 pm

    I’m sticking with Derek Roy, but only half-heartedly. He did take that stick pretty hard in the shnozz.

    What?! He also busted his butt to get that puck to Paille for the go-ahead goal. I protest this selection!

  3. 4 KevinP February 1, 2008 at 10:39 pm

    Nice call on Pratt. I think he had an awesome game tonight.

  4. 5 Heather B. February 1, 2008 at 10:54 pm

    Brian Campbell. Nice hustle on that third Thrasher goal, buddy.

    Harry, Roby, and Rob all mentioned his lack of hustle on that goal which I can’t recall ever happening before. They want to trade him too, I just know it!

  5. 6 Amy February 1, 2008 at 10:57 pm

    My least favorite Sabre tonight are L. Goalpost and R. Goalpost. They consistently let down their teammates by failing to re-direct their teammates shots into the net.

  6. 7 Lisa February 1, 2008 at 10:58 pm

    KB – There is crying in Crunchy-country(ish) tonight. Much sadness.

    Lisa

  7. 8 Meg February 1, 2008 at 11:01 pm

    Because really, what the Sabres really needed tonight was more injured players. Those amoebas feel very appropriate tonight.

    On a bright note, I continue to really, really love this game diary format, Kate. It’s too excellent.

  8. 9 Katebits February 1, 2008 at 11:14 pm

    Lisa, this is a dark day. Much sadness, indeed.

    Meg, I am so glad you like this format. Your encouragement is a big reason why I’ve stuck with it, actually. (But I like it too.)

    Amy, GOOD POINT. I wish I’d thought of it. I wasn’t really that cranky with the Sabres tonight.

    Heather, they hate him as much as we do. :D

    KevinP, thanks!

    Shari, thanks for stopping in tonight! Sorry i missed you while I knitting nervously during the game.

  9. 10 Pookie February 1, 2008 at 11:47 pm

    Sorry, sorry, sorry Sabres fans! That sucked. I’m hoping Crunchy bounces back quickly!

    I adore this game diary format! At the start of the Devils game I was like, “Hey Schnookie, think we can steal Katebits’s format?” Heh.

  10. 11 NonOriginalSam February 2, 2008 at 12:02 am

    Yeah I wanted to KILLLLLL Soupy after that 3rd Atl goal. Dammit he didn’t even TRY to hit the guy or anything, just watched as he passed the puck off for the goal. Bastard.

    And I thought Roy really played hard tonight. He was all over the place (and pissed Holik off big time into taking that penalty leading to Hecht’s goal) He was up in everybody’s grill and that’s the Roy we need to see every night! Plus he has some sick passes- the Paille and Kalinin goals, plus a few that didn’t go in.

    I’m a little worried about Miller too.. I hope he’s okay! Lindy was kinda scaring me with his evasiveness after the game. At least they have a couple of days off to rest up, so that’s good.

    Man, I felt bad for Goose after that goal was waved off. And dude what was up with the ref pointing at the net like it was goal then changing his mind and waving it off? WTF yo? That was rough. The Goose gets slammed into the net, out of the net, and then to the side, all the while having his leg crushed between Hedburg’s pillows.. couldn’t have been comfortable. No wonder he was feeling so
    verklempt aferwards. I would be too.

    Alll that said, there could have more effort on the Sabres’ part. Or at least a little more consistancy. ANd less penalties.

    and I hate hate hate the stupid delay of game penalty. It blows.

  11. 12 CrotchetyOriginalSam February 2, 2008 at 11:27 am

    So, does your orchestra not actually play Friday night concerts when there’s a hockey game on? ‘Cause I’d like to get me some of that action.

  12. 13 Anne February 2, 2008 at 2:32 pm

    Don’t worry! Crunchy is ok! It’s just bruised! He’ll probably play Tuesday! Staffy practiced today too! Max will be back on Tuesday……….!(?)

    And we still don’t even know who the stinking captain is! I think it should just be Sabretooth.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

