Captain February

It’s Yo-Yo again! I totally called this one, guys. It would seem that Lindy is zeroing in on his permanent captain, and I’ve got no beef with his selection. Jochen Hecht is a sexy, passionate warrior. That’s all you need to know. I also like Mair with the A. Nice one, Mairsy.

I am, however, pouting on Goose’s behalf today.

At first glance, giving Soupy an “A” was really upsetting, even without Goose in the equation, but then Pookie pointed out that the Sabres are probably just trying to make Soupy look nice and tantalizing for the trade block. I’m taking a lot of comfort in this theory. It makes perfect sense that the Sabres would want to inflate Soupy’s perceived value, and so, I have decided to endorse this plan, even though it leaves Goose without his letter.

As a favor to the Sabres, I have taken the time to write up a profile that Darcy can send out to prospective traders.

Campbell With Bow

Brian Campbell is an explosive “Offensive defenseman” with a fun loving personality and a killer smile. This two-time All-Star is sure to be a fan favorite and a winner in the hearts children and adults alike. Only his “Souper”-sized personality can overshadow his bone crunching hits. Just ask RJ Umberger! Brian is a leader both on the ice and in the lockerroom. Three times in the last year he has been awarded a letter by coach Lindy Ruff in the Sabres’ rotating captaincy system. If your team is looking for a top defensemen to add a spark to your offense, and a spring to your defense, look no further than Brian “Soupy” Campbell!

No fatties.

21 Responses to “Captain February”


  1. 1 Schnookie February 4, 2008 at 2:55 pm

    Psst, Katebits — I think they’re falling for it!

  2. 2 Katebits February 4, 2008 at 3:21 pm

    At first I put two bows on Soupy’s head, but then I decided that was overboard. I didn’t want to over do it. :D I think they’re falling for it too! (e4)

  3. 3 kathee February 4, 2008 at 4:38 pm

    Psst, Kate. One teesy problem with the theory: the players vote, so Lindy had nothing to do with it. At least he can be marketed as “respected by his peers” or something.

  4. 4 Katebits February 4, 2008 at 4:47 pm

    One teesy problem with the theory: the players vote, so Lindy had nothing to do with it.

    I don’t think so, Kathee. I know that’s how they did it the very first month when Yo-Yo was voted captain the first time, but I think that since then it’s been all Lindy. Does anyone know for sure?

  5. 5 Amy February 4, 2008 at 4:54 pm

    I love the bow on Soupy’s head.

  6. 6 Amy February 4, 2008 at 4:57 pm

    This was on Pommerdoodle’s blog on Sabres.com

    He’s been a leader since the start of the year. He was our first captain, voted by the players. For him to be renamed I think it means a lot. He has helped the team throughout the course oaf this stretch. He stepped his game up, played well and I think it is really well deserved.

    Sounds like this one was all Lindy and the coaches.

  7. 8 Glenn February 4, 2008 at 5:07 pm

    ya know….I’m a wee bit torn…. I’m stil wanting Soupy to stay. Call me a cock-eyed optimist, but does anyone think that they can come to an agreement? I mean “The Hit” on RJ Umberger was a thing of pure beauty; a joy to behold… I know I know, one hit does not a loyal team player make, but I don’t think I’m done mourning his leaving us just yet. *sniffle* call me crazy…

  8. 9 Gambler February 4, 2008 at 5:11 pm

    Mair! WOOOOOOO! Yo-Yo! WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!! Campbell? Well, at least he’ll only have it until the trade deadline. Then maybe Goose can get it.

    No fatties.

    :^::::::::::::::::::::

  9. 10 Heather B. February 4, 2008 at 5:35 pm

    I know for sure that Lindy said during the second month of the season that the players had voted on the first C but he and the coaches were selecting the letters the rest of the way.

    Call me a cock-eyed optimist, but does anyone think that they can come to an agreement?

    I don’t think an agreement is totally off the table, but I think almost any deal they come to now is going to result in Campbell being overpaid.

  10. 11 Anne February 4, 2008 at 5:50 pm

    From Kevin Sylvester’s blog:

    Lindy Ruff named Jochen Hecht the captain for the month of February, making Hecht the first repeat captain this season.

    So I guess it was Lindy’s call. Woooo! Yo-yo!!!

  11. 12 Gambler February 4, 2008 at 5:55 pm

    And in his first act as Captain February, Yo-Yo has completely forgotten about the existence of Brian Campbell. I just listened to his interview on sabres.com, and he said, in response to someone asking whether he asked to be captain, “No, Lindy picked me, and he picked Adam Mair as assistant captain. And, uh… *measured pause* who was the other one?”

    Well played, Yo-Yo. Well played, indeed.

  12. 13 Katebits February 4, 2008 at 6:00 pm

    HAHAHAHAHA! That’s awesome, Gambler!

  13. 14 Jonathan February 4, 2008 at 7:37 pm

    I said Jochen should have been permanent captain in December. This guy leads by example and you can never say hes lazy or takes a night off.

  14. 15 danielleia February 4, 2008 at 8:21 pm

    I agree. Yo-Yo is deserving of the C (and I love Soupy’s bow). I found these MySpace survey questions and I thought, I wonder how the Sabres would answer these?

    Can you ice skate?
    Have you ever made a snow angel?
    Do you twirl your spaghetti or cut it?
    Have you ever kissed someone on your top 8?
    Are you musical?
    When was the last time you dyed your hair?
    Do you buy your own groceries?
    Would you pose naked in a magazine for $1,000,000?
    Have you ever laughed so hard you cried?

    My favorite… no lie, I can’t make this up…..

    Would you rather have a Poodle or a Rottweiler?

  15. 16 danielleia February 4, 2008 at 8:26 pm

    Just a quick addition,Pommerdoodle and the Goose are roomies?!!! HAHA! I wonder whose in charge of room assignments?

  16. 17 Amy February 4, 2008 at 8:37 pm

    Danielleia, there’s a show on Time Warner Sports called “Power Play.” Each show features a half-hour with a different Sabres player. This first episode was with Drew Stafford, and the host asked him some very similiar questions about his teammates.

    - Who’s most likely to host a roller skating party?
    - Who’s most likely to go Christmas caroling?
    - Who’s most likely to have a pet snake?

    Etc.

    Stafford was completely bumfuzzled about some of these questions.

  17. 18 kathee February 4, 2008 at 8:56 pm

    Man, you can color me purple and call me sugarplum then. Sorry for the misinformation!

    And I agree wholeheartedly that there should be more myspace-type questions for these guys!

    Someone get me a video of the Staffy interview, stat!

  18. 19 Pookie February 4, 2008 at 8:56 pm

    No Fatties.

    “Dammit!” says Brian Burke.

  19. 20 Destiny February 5, 2008 at 1:47 am

    I like the sound of Jochen Hecht as a permanent captain. As long as Goose gets an A after Soupy’s traded. I hope they get something decent for Soupy on the block too.

  20. 21 danielleia February 5, 2008 at 2:02 pm

    Kevin did say the goose… maybe someday soon :)
    oh oh Amy thats good stuff! What’s your favorite movie? Where do you like to eat? Chef’s of course! Ask crazy things! Katebits would be the best reporter/musician, right?!


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

