Buffalo, I’m Proud Of Us.

For some reason, against my better judgment, about an hour and a half ago, I turned on WGR. For those of you outside of Buffalo, WGR is our sports talk radio station. Usually, WGR makes me want to kill myself because it’s incredibly angry and insane. I have no idea why I thought it would be a good idea to listen to the radio during the peak of the Brian Campbell intrigue. You’d think that the hours upon hours I spent listening to people freak out about the Briere and Drury last summer would have taught me to JUST SAY NO when it comes to WGR, but apparently not.

I just listened to caller after caller express concern about signing Brian Campbell at the expense of the upcoming free agents. A very high percentage of people who called in seem to believe that Soupy’s value to the Sabres is highest as trade bait. People are keeping their heads! They are listening to reason! Schopp and the Bulldog are NOT having temper tantrums. They are calmly adding up the numbers and deducing that if we sign Soupy to what he wants, the team will be committing too much money to too few players. Even Schoop was amazed at the tone of the calls.

I….don’t understand. Buffalo, where is the loony-tunes outrage? Where are the over-the-top accusations of management skin-flintery and incompetence?

Where’s the craaaaazy, Buffalo?

15 Responses to “Buffalo, I’m Proud Of Us.”


  1. 1 Heather B. February 22, 2008 at 8:04 pm

    Kate, I cracked up when I read this because when Mark walked in the door tonight the very first thing he said was, “Schopp and the Bulldog were making sense! People were saying to trade Soupy! I couldn’t believe it!”

  2. 2 Katebits February 22, 2008 at 8:11 pm

    Heather, it was the WEIRDEST thing! It was a totally calm, reasonable discussion!

  3. 3 Shari February 22, 2008 at 8:19 pm

    Ya know why I’m proud of Buffalo? Because Buffalo fans would never boo one of their players in their own rink. Apparently, that’s what happen to Daniel Briere last night (?) because he has a +- 24 and because the puck went in off his shoulder. He’s got some nerve letting something flukey like that happen! They were booing him when he touched the puck, when his face was on the jumbotron….come on! Whats up with THOSE fans? I can’t help but feel bad for the guy.
    After all, millionares are only human too. Have Buffalo fans ever booed a Sabre? Maybe little boos?
    Anyway Kate, I’m really looking forward to you pannel post!

  4. 4 Matt February 22, 2008 at 8:32 pm

    Where are the over-the-top accusations of management skin-flintery

    BWHAHAHAHAHAH!!!!

    Have Buffalo fans ever booed a Sabre? Maybe little boos?

    Also, it may be the trip to the bar that has me uppity, but I heartily boo-ed Hasek at every game I saw him play. I did not like the man; He was a cancer on the team. I still do not like him now that he’s abandoned my fantasy team. BOOOOOOOO!!!!

  5. 5 Katebits February 22, 2008 at 8:37 pm

    Matt, you’re such a mean drunk! :P

    I have never booed a specific Sabre, but I have booed in the general direction of the team. I love booing.

  6. 6 Pookie February 22, 2008 at 8:44 pm

    I applaud the Flyers fans for booing their own player! After all, they didn’t ask management to offer him a ridonkulous contract. If Briere doesn’t want to get booed he should play better. It’s just not that hard. A fanbase booing their own player isn’t a sign of boorishness, it’s a sign of intelligence! BOOOOO!!!

  7. 7 Matt February 22, 2008 at 8:58 pm

    It’s just not that hard. A fanbase booing their own player isn’t a sign of boorishness, it’s a sign of intelligence! BOOOOO!!!</I.

    Spoken like a true NJ fan!!! Damn straight! We may be mean when we’re drunk, but at least it’s totally honest. We’re not afraid to call a goat a goat. Of course, this is probably why I got crab fries thrown at me in Philly and I’m not allowed to go back to the ACC. Who cares….. BOOOOOOOOOO!!!

  8. 8 Matt February 22, 2008 at 9:04 pm

    Now if only my drunk ass could re-master the art of HTML while drinking, I’d be perfect. =-D Damn closing tags…

  9. 9 Zach February 22, 2008 at 9:17 pm

    They are Philly fans, they are the same fans who booed Santa Claus. They are nuts you know.

  10. 10 Matt February 22, 2008 at 9:26 pm

    They are Philly fans, they are the same fans who booed Santa Claus.

    Oh, and don’t forget the throwing batteries at pregnant women!

  11. 11 Meg February 22, 2008 at 10:15 pm

    Because Buffalo fans would never boo one of their players in their own rink.

    I’m not sure if all the people around me yelling “you suck, Vanek!” last time I was at a Sabres game was all that different from the booing Flyers fans were doing. I have no problem with fans booing their team or specific players on it.

  12. 12 Pookie February 22, 2008 at 10:52 pm

    Spoken like a true NJ fan!!! Damn straight!

    Hellz yeah! I cheer for the logo. If the people wearing the logo aren’t living up to the standards of what the logo stands for, they get booed.

    (Actually, I was never a boo-er when I had season tickets. Reading TWC has made me embrace boo-ing. Katebits, I wish you’d been blogging ages ago. I think I would have enjoyed the Bill Guerin and Brendan Morrison eras more if I booed. And the Gilmour era. And the Holik era. Man, I really missed out, didn’t I?)

  13. 13 Katebits February 22, 2008 at 11:21 pm

    Reading TWC has made me embrace boo-ing.

    Aww, I can’t believe I influenced you, Pookie! And about something as classy as booing!

  14. 14 Pookie February 23, 2008 at 10:24 am

    And about something as classy as booing!

    Is it classless to demand excellence? If so, then doodle a mustache on me and call me classless!

  15. 15 Amy February 23, 2008 at 3:39 pm

    Where’s the craaaaazy, Buffalo?

    The crazy will show up on Monday or Tuesday, once all the deals start happening.

    Is it classless to demand excellence?

    Not at all.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

