Thank GOD It’s Over!

WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!

Okay, I know that this is really sad news for some people, and I respect that, I really do, but the mood here at TWC headquarters is celebratory. Extremely.

Here’s the new guy. He’s got a cool nickname! Big Bear! Right now on the radio they are comparing him to Goose, which is making me feel a little nervous. GOOSE IS IRREPLACEABLE, DARCY. This kid is NO GOOSE.

He is, however, a Sabre! HOOOOORAY! I guess this is kind of a tough break for Steve Bernier. San Jose to Buffalo is, um, not a super awesome move. Too bad, kiddo. The good news for you, Big Bear, is that we will make you a star. You’ll be a king in Buffalo. A KING I tell you! Welcome to Buffalo, NY.

19 Responses to “Thank GOD It’s Over!”


  1. 1 Amy February 26, 2008 at 1:36 pm

    A bear, a goose and a pommerdoodle. I feel like Darcy’s opening a zoo and not assembling a hockey team.

  2. 2 Destiny February 26, 2008 at 1:45 pm

    Compare him to Goose all they want, I will honk for NOONE but the REAL Goose.

    HOOOONNNNK

  3. 3 Shari February 26, 2008 at 2:02 pm

    GrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrBarkHonk!

  4. 4 jonhoepfinger February 26, 2008 at 2:32 pm

    I can only imagine Kate in a upcoming post having Bernier and Gaustad talking after practice.

    Its gonna just be a bunch of HONKS! and Growls!

  5. 5 Erin February 26, 2008 at 2:48 pm

    I’m in love with this new guy!! I just spent the morning feeling bad for Brian, with his choking back tears and being a Sabre for his entire career…but this new guy is a stone cold fox, and has the best nickname ever!!

    So here’s some concerns:
    Who gets paired with Spacek? He and Soupy made a nice little pair.

    I noticed on the Sabres website that Big Bear here has a picture already in a Sabres jersey…is that photo shopped?

    And Kate, congrats on the New York Times gig, keep up the good work.

  6. 6 danielleia February 26, 2008 at 3:08 pm

    I LOVE BIG BEAR! Greatest name ever. Wow?! NY Times, that was HIGHlarious. I like the Rangers idea, with Chris. haha. Even more, Thomas Vanek because he is my favorite. Although, I would say Hank in the shootout. That was just plain insane.

  7. 7 danielleia February 26, 2008 at 3:32 pm

    P.S. I don’t know if you follow the Pens but Colby Armstrong got traded…. ARMY?! crazy.

  8. 8 Matt February 26, 2008 at 4:52 pm

    Who gets paired with Spacek? He and Soupy made a nice little pair.

    Andrej Sekera comes back from Roch-Cha-Cha. I command it!

  9. 9 Anne February 26, 2008 at 4:57 pm

    P.S. I don’t know if you follow the Pens but Colby Armstrong got traded…. ARMY?! crazy.

    I KNOW! I couldn’t believe it.

    I don’t know about Sissy. I have images of him wandering about aimlessly in practice, following beside any player who will let him, uncertain of who to pass to.

    Patches will be back in the lineup then. He’s probably thrilled Soupy was traded. I liked Paetsch and Pratt together, but Pratt makes anyone look good. Think it’ll be:

    Hank – Tone
    Sissy – Kalinin
    Patches – Pratters

    Or:

    Hank – Tone
    Sissy – Pratters
    Patches – Kalinin

    ?

  10. 10 Meg February 26, 2008 at 5:44 pm

    I would expect Kalinin to move up and play with Spacek. Partially because whenever Ruff has needed a Dman to play more minutes he’s gone to Kalinin not Pratt and partially because Kalinin has been playing the same side as Campbell while Pratt has been playing the same side as Spacek.

  11. 11 soph February 26, 2008 at 6:31 pm

    Take good care of my Big Bear. I miss him tremendously and he hasn’t even been gone a day. He’s sweet and adorable, and not to mention, damn is that boy hawt. Siiigh… I miss my bear :(

  12. 12 Heather B. February 26, 2008 at 7:02 pm

    Hank – Tone
    Sissy – Kalinin
    Patches – Pratters

    I think this.

  13. 13 Glenn February 26, 2008 at 7:03 pm

    Time to give up soup and get ready for a huge big BEAR hug! Steve Bernier, come on down! You’re the next contestant on The Sabres Quest for the CUP! Now we can all pool our financial resources to make every moment of the next century MILLER TIME! Go Sabres!

  14. 14 CrotchetyOriginalSam February 26, 2008 at 7:16 pm

    Great. You guys get Bernier and a load off your minds, Pittsburgh gets Marian Hossa, and the Wild get…

    …Chris Simon. Yes, that Chris Simon. Inexcusably dirty, decapitation-happy, never saw a suspension he didn’t like Chris Simon. I haven’t been this sick to my stomach since the Flyers got Donald Brashear.

  15. 15 Katebits February 26, 2008 at 7:20 pm

    Whaaaaa?! You guys got CHRIS SIMON? Holy shit. I am so so so so so so so so so so sorry, Sam. That is TERRIBLE.

  16. 16 CrotchetyOriginalSam February 26, 2008 at 8:17 pm

    If I were feeling reasonable and objective, I’d have to admit that it was a somewhat defensible move. All we gave up was a 6th-round pick, and with Boogaard likely done for the season with a nagging lower back injury, our skill players have been getting the crap beat out of them on a nightly basis. This has always been an organization made up of Canadian managers who believe in the old system of protecting small skill guys with huge brawlers, so Simon fits that.

    But I’m not feeling reasonable or objective (especially since the Capitals are currently leading the Wild 2-0 and beating the crap out of our skill players.) Fuck Chris Simon. Fuck him right in the ass.

  17. 17 alix February 26, 2008 at 8:33 pm

    Man! I knew Bernier’s accent was hot. I didn’t know he himself was. The Sabres totally won in this trade!

  18. 18 elise February 26, 2008 at 9:48 pm

    “ADDRESS!”, piped the small felt owl, found on the innertubes.

    kate, i’m beginning to think you are really serious about this hockey business…

  19. 19 Shari February 26, 2008 at 10:04 pm

    So I’m reading the Sharks boards and someone posted a comment saying “Steve will have oxegen deprivation trying to keep up with the Buffalo system”. He might be in for a rude awakening.
    Welcome to Buffalo! We could always use another Big Bear.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

