The New York Times, Baby

I would like to interrupt your busy schedule of depressed drinking, and feverishly refreshing your browser in the hopes of discovering Soupy has been traded for Olli Jokinen, but only for a moment. Then it’s right back to wallowing, and soul-searing frustration, I promise.

*******

Imagine my recent surprise when, while relaxing at TWC headquarters, I received an email from the New York Times. According to the email, they had a project in the works that required my assistance. Not wanting to seem too eager and shamefully available, I waited a few hours before icily replying that, yes, despite my busy schedule, I would be willing to help.

And then I called my mom…..to squeal into the phone that the NEW YORK TIMES just gave me an assignment.

The fine people at Slap Shot, the NYT’s hockey blog, have asked a blogger representative from each NHL team to answer a short questionnaire. Apparently, the project is being run by someone’s ten-year-old nephew, because against all reason, I have been chosen as the Sabres blogger. I know. It makes no sense. But, I’m not one to look a gift horse in the mouth (whatever that means), so rather than argue with this rogue NYT agent, I quickly accepted his assignment and a giant suitcase of cash in payment. (By “giant suitcase of cash,” what I really mean is, “bragging rights”.)

You can read my post on the Slap Shot blog on the New York Times website, here.

You can nominate me for the Pulitzer Prize, here.

In all seriousness, participating in a project for The New York Times has been a hoot. Thank you so much to Jeff Z. Klein for putting this together, and for giving me the opportunity to enjoy years of seeing “The New York Times” come up when I google my own name.

*******

Now, Sabres fans, please continue binge drinking. Last night never happened. IT NEVER HAPPENED IF WE CAN’T REMEMBER.

16 Responses to “The New York Times, Baby”


  1. 1 Amy February 26, 2008 at 8:48 am

    Congrats for making the NY Times!

  2. 2 Anne February 26, 2008 at 9:05 am

    That’s awesome, congrats!

  3. 3 Anne February 26, 2008 at 9:12 am

    And BTW, ia cn’ta blevie yuo’d thnik w’ere all drniking an d tyirng tto forgit abuot lsat nghit adn Suopy. I rsenet taht. (hiccup).

    I have totally been refreshing my browser on Sabres.com, NHL.com and TSN.ca all morning and plan to for the rest of the day…or until 3:00 p.m. or thereabouts, because sometimes trades ain’t announced til after 3:00. Woooooooooo.

  4. 4 Rebecca February 26, 2008 at 9:26 am

    Hilarious entry on the NYT blog! Congrats!

  5. 5 jonhoepfinger February 26, 2008 at 9:29 am

    That post is why the NYT contacted you Kate. That was great. It was a honor to be on your blogroll, but now a NYT columnist blogroll? How can it get better? Oh yeah Patrick Marleau a Sabre.

  6. 6 Meg February 26, 2008 at 9:35 am

    Congrats, Kate! You’re super-famous now. :)

  7. 7 Pookie February 26, 2008 at 9:38 am

    Congratulations, Katebits! Great answers, as to be expected! Of course, now I’m going to wish everything in the NYT sports section was all TWC-like. Get cracking, George Veschy! I want more care-frontations out of you!

  8. 8 Katebits February 26, 2008 at 9:41 am

    Thanks, guys!

    Oh yeah Patrick Marleau a Sabre.

    Dude. Don’t play with me that way, Jon. I’m still drunk from last night. I’m likely to start crying or raging at the slightest provocation. :D (Just kidding. I’m an extremely docile drunk.)

  9. 9 Destiny February 26, 2008 at 10:47 am

    Congrats! Your answers made me laugh. :)

  10. 10 fullbodytransplant February 26, 2008 at 11:28 am

    This is awesome sauce, and I just heard that your Soup is now Shark.

  11. 11 fullbodytransplant February 26, 2008 at 11:37 am

    It’s Bernier and a first. Congrats.

  12. 12 fullbodytransplant February 26, 2008 at 12:47 pm

    Awww. Soupy is crying on TV. And he mentioned his nickname.

  13. 13 Anne February 26, 2008 at 1:11 pm

    Awww. Soupy is crying on TV. And he mentioned his nickname.

    I can’t watch Soupy’s interview. I want to stay strong and not cave to my emotional connection to him and the era of Sabres hockey he represents. I still don’t like watching Danny talk about being happy to be a Flyer.

  14. 14 danielleia February 26, 2008 at 3:12 pm

    He said not to boo. Hmm… let’s see now if people will listen. I’m feeling really bad now for Briere. Is it wrong I was hoping he would score?

  15. 15 elise February 26, 2008 at 5:26 pm

    KATE YOU ARE FAMOUS!!!!!!!!! i called it months ago. hilarious post for the Times, too. CONGRATS and ETWAS RUHIGER!!!!!!!!!

  16. 16 Courtney S.F. February 28, 2008 at 8:36 pm

    Well that deserves a resounding Oh For Fun! I think you can actually nominate yourself for a Pulitzer. I have a composer friend whom I suspect has already nominated himself for Pulitzers several times.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

