Fresh Start

Whoa. Trade Deadline Day was intense. So were the last few Sabres games.

I’m exhausted and I’m ready to move on. The Soupy Crisis is over.

Here’s my new plan:

1. I’m going to enjoy the rest of the season. The back-to-back losses to the Rangers and the Flyers, combined with the city-wide Soupy hysteria threw my hockey chi all out of whack. I need to get my priorities straight. Stressing about making the playoffs = low priority. Laughing at the fact that we have a new guy named “Big Bear”= high priority.

2. Stop looking at the standings. For a few weeks I was obsessively calculating what had to happen in order for the Sabres to improve in the standings. It was making me surly. I mean, it’s one thing to get my undies in a twist when the Sabres lose, but it’s quite another to get them twisted when the Islanders win. Giving a shit about the Islanders is no way to live. (No offense, Margee)

3. That’s it. That’s my plan. What do you think?

13 Responses to “Fresh Start”


  1. 1 Anne February 27, 2008 at 9:19 am

    I agree with #1. Grossly overusing the nickname “Big Bear” should be every Sabres Fan’s priority. Can we start a tradition of throwing teddy bears on the ice when he scores a goal?

    I would agree with #2 except I’m really excited about my standings board that’s coming today. Woooo! Which probably means I have to drive to a Fedex facility to pick it up because it weighs 46 pounds and will most likely not fit in my 5″x7″x2″ mailbox.

    All day at work yesterday I was watching live Tradedeadline coverage on my computer, I became horribly offended everytime someone came over to my desk to ask me a question. Didn’t they know that Buffalo was about to lose its only food-nicknamed player? We need to get a new edible nickname stat.

  2. 2 Jaime February 27, 2008 at 9:34 am

    I was deathly ill all weekend. Campbell gets traded and I’m back to 100%. I think Soupy was making my sinuses feel like they would explode if I moved my head even the tiniest amount. It’s the only rational explanation.

    I can’t wait to watch the game tonight!!

  3. 3 Meg February 27, 2008 at 9:49 am

    Sounds like an excellent plan to me, Katebits!

  4. 4 jonhoepfinger February 27, 2008 at 10:16 am

    Whats the under over on Bucky Gleason using the phrase. “Big Bear plays more like a Teddy Bear”

    I say 2 weeks.

  5. 5 Schnookie February 27, 2008 at 10:22 am

    Katebits, I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: you are a role model for us all. I am completely in favor of this plan, and will modify it to be used in my slightly more Devils-centric life. Meaning, I shall henceforth refer to either Bryce Salvador or whomever isn’t being scratched on the New Jersey blue line on any given night as “Big Bear”. Ahhhh… I feel so much more relaxed already!

  6. 6 Amy February 27, 2008 at 11:36 am

    Whats the under over on Bucky Gleason using the phrase. “Big Bear plays more like a Teddy Bear”

    Schopp or the Bulldog are probably more likely to use that phrase before Bucky. I give it a week before they do.

  7. 7 Matt February 27, 2008 at 12:41 pm

    Didn’t they know that Buffalo was about to lose its only food-nicknamed player? We need to get a new edible nickname stat.

    Gazpacho is sitting in the locker room right now, crying into his empty stall. Huge, sloppy Czech tears of joy. His secret plan to cover all of Soupy’s mistakes and laud the spin-o-rama have fianlly paid off. Maybe now he and Pastry can get the job done..

  8. 8 Shari February 27, 2008 at 1:01 pm

    Throwing teddy bears on the ice sounds like a great plan to me!

  9. 9 danielleia February 27, 2008 at 1:06 pm

    Grossly overusing the nickname “Big Bear” should be every Sabres Fan’s priority. Can we start a tradition of throwing teddy bears on the ice when he scores a goal?

    I agree, Anne! I watched the NHL network yesterday and they did this segment on Patrick Wah (Roy). They threw [plastic] rats on the ice! It’s as good as the teddy bears.

    Look at about the 1:22 mark, it’s not much but I couldn’t find anything!

  10. 11 kathee February 27, 2008 at 2:02 pm

    Kate, I am still feeling ambivalent over the loss of our skating tomato, so the use of teddy bears will help ease my confusion tremendously.

    I hope Staffy doesn’t decide to rip off any teddy bear heads looking for brains!

  11. 12 Anne February 27, 2008 at 3:09 pm

    I hope Staffy doesn’t decide to rip off any teddy bear heads looking for brains!

    Oh no, Kathee! I never thought of that! Perhaps we’ll have to start throwing bitchin’ guitar riffs onto the ice when he scores, just so the jealousy isn’t as intense. Chew toys for Pommerdoodle and uhhhh Yoyos for Yoyo.

  12. 13 crunchyhappy February 27, 2008 at 6:36 pm

    Oh katebits- that was a start performance on NYT! nICE!


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

