Why HELLO, Big Bear!

That happy sigh you just heard was the sound of every man, woman, and child in Buffalo falling in love with Steve Bernier.

We liked him right from the start.

Hey, Big Bear.

And then he started playing hockey, and suddenly it was like:

Holy shit, Big bear. Um, whoa. I mean,….dude! WELCOME TO BUFFALO!

And as soon as the game was over it was back to:

Big Bear: “I’m just happy to be here. Buffalo is great. These guys are amazing.”

And that’s when we all collapsed into a full blown swoon. The National Guard had to be called in because every single person in Western New York passed out simultaneously…..from love and relief.

*****

Toni Tone Tony Lydman had four (4) assists tonight. Just saying. Kate’s Favorite Sabre, represents.

*****

I watched the game over at my friends Dan and Sandy’s house tonight. They have a new television that’s the size of my dining room table. It took me about twenty minutes before I could stop saying things like, “It looks amazing. The picture is…so…I mean….it’s….I feel like we are AT the game right now.” I might need to impulse buy a new television soon. Either I need a new television, or Dan and Sandy are going to have to get reeeal used to me sitting on their couch and drinking their Diet Coke.  They’ll never get rid of me.  It’ll be like that movie “You, Me, and Dupree,” only incredibly annoying.

11 Responses to “Why HELLO, Big Bear!”


  1. 1 Pookie February 28, 2008 at 12:21 am

    You know that line from “The Edge” about how once a bear has a taste for human blood it’s never sated? Chef’s meat sauce is to Big Bear and human blood is to killer bears — he just wont be sated until all of Buffalo is his!

    Also, Mmmmmmmmmmmmm nice tv….

  2. 2 Glenn February 28, 2008 at 12:34 am

    I know this might sound slightly sacreligious and all to some fans, but after tonight’s game I was like “Brian who…?”
    Buffalo has a Big Bear in the herd! Hooray!

  3. 3 Heather B. February 28, 2008 at 12:41 am

    If I wasn’t in love with Bear after the two goals and one assist, I was gone when he sailed into Tutu in an effort to protect little Roy-Z. Dude, that was hot.

  4. 4 DS February 28, 2008 at 1:06 am

    Kate, I said it on IPB, but forgive me if I repeat myself.

    “This here’s a real hockey town for sure. The boys up north think they’re in heaven after they get here.” I don’t know if you want the historical context of it or not, but I think it fits Buffalo pretty well…

    I guess the boys out west do too.

    And oh-em-gee, you just HAD to reference that movie when people here have been making “You, Me, and Dupuis” jokes all day??? 9_9

  5. 5 Anne February 28, 2008 at 8:43 am

    I was already vulnerable to Big Bear’s charms after losing Soupy who I have to confess I did have some affinity for and I do miss him, but I’m glad he was traded.

    I think we’re all forgetting the most significant goal of the night was CLEARLY Petey’s wrist shot in the 2nd, HELLO? Clearly Petey is about to become the sniper we always knew he could be.

    WOOOOO BIG BEAR!

  6. 6 danielleia February 28, 2008 at 9:19 am

    YES! Petey! hahaha I think I actually rolled on the floor laughing. Mair jumped all over that too.

    I used this bear on my blog yesterday for my friends. haha.

  7. 7 danielleia February 28, 2008 at 9:21 am

    I like the giant teddy. A lot.

  8. 8 Maal February 28, 2008 at 1:54 pm

    I <3 him! He had Royz’s back without thinking twice! And c’mon who WASN’T rooting for him to knock 2-2′s teeth in?! :-D

  9. 9 Shari February 28, 2008 at 3:55 pm

    Personally, I really wanted to see Big Bear get into a good fight. But it didn’t matter, he done good! And yes, Peteys goal was the highlight of the game for me. Just when I was about to give up on him, he had his shining moment and I just have to keep rooting for him! When I heard them on WGR asking Steve B. what his nickname was, all I could think of was The Great Outdoors, “Big bear…..big bear……..BIG BEAR CHASE ME!!”

  10. 10 elise February 28, 2008 at 9:15 pm

    kate, is that your pet white bear?

  11. 11 Dan February 29, 2008 at 12:11 am

    Kate -

    There will always be a keg of Diet Coke waiting for you at my house. Just stop coughing. You are always welcome. Claudia (our cat, for the rest of you) feels the same way. Go Bernier. I’m on the bandwagon.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

