Surrender

I think I gave up on the Sabres last night. As ugly as that loss was, it just didn’t bother me very much. It was a weird feeling to watch the Sabres and think, “Hm. The Sabres are losing hideously, but this nicoise salad is delicious.” The more I ignored the Sabres, the worse they played, just like little children acting out for attention. Oh, the Sabres tried to upset me, but it turns out I’m dead inside. I didn’t see this crisis of faith coming. I thought I loved them enough to freak out no matter what, win or lose…..but, I dunno, I feel pretty immune to their shenanigans. *shrug*

What do you do when your hockey team no longer has the power to effect your emotions? How do you relight the fire?

Why, you go to a professional lacrosse game of course! I am about to head down to HSBC arena to watch lacrosse. I’ve never seen lacrosse before. It might be fun. Maybe, unlike the Sabres, lacrosse can tear my heart out and provide me with the soul-scorching frustration that I seek.

Sabres, we had a good run, but you’re just not doing it for me anymore.

6 Responses to “Surrender”


  1. 1 Anne March 1, 2008 at 7:45 pm

    Oh Katebits! Now you’re really a Buffalo sports fan! ::sniff:: I’m so proud. Its this cold, closed-off love we have for our sports teams that makes us Buffalonian.

    We’re so used to disappointment that the average life long Buffalo sports fan will refuse to admit faith and belief in their team until they actually hold that title in their hands(which has never actually happened, if you’ll notice). There were a few (nope, not even me) fans who truly and foolishly believe that that was OUR cup last year. And that’s why they lost.

    Welcome to the club!It’s kinda fun. Once you lose 4 super bowls, have Brett Hull’s big ugly foot deny you the cup, lose to Ray effing Emery and when the refs in the NFL refuse to acknowledge what a forward lateral is, then it all becomes mundane.

  2. 2 Pookie March 1, 2008 at 9:53 pm

    What do you do when your hockey team no longer has no power to effect your emotions?

    You just wait for the next game, of course. For all the talk of the high highs and the low lows, we haven’t discussed at all those nights when you just shrug the whole thing off in favor of something different for a night (be it a night out with friends, an ANTM marathon, or a nice fancy salad). The team can’t be “on” all the time for every game, so fans can’t be expected to be either!

  3. 3 Schnookie March 1, 2008 at 10:05 pm

    Why, Katebits, it sounds like you’ve graduated from “new fan” to “old hand”!

  4. 4 danielleia March 1, 2008 at 10:08 pm

    You will have a crazy FUN time. They are basically feared by all teams. Fans are intense, maybe even more so than hockey.

  5. 5 S.A.M. March 1, 2008 at 10:09 pm

    awww Katebits, don’t worry! It happens even to the best of us. Remember that the hockey season is a marathon, not a sprint and if you take a night or two off, it doesn’t make you any less of a fan.

    I’ve been wanting to go a lacrosse game for years.. I hope you have fun!

    Oh and when the NHL gets me down, I check out some minor league action. I know the Amerks are bad this year, but minor league hockey is VERY fun. (and super affordable!) It was actually ECHL hockey in Dayton that re-ignited my passion for the game that was slightly waning after 8 years as an NHL fan..

    Just a thought..

  6. 6 Blitzen March 2, 2008 at 7:44 pm

    Go out an buy a flag for your vehicle. Now is when the real fans show their stuff.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

