Hmrph

The following is a direct transcript of my thought process during the Red Wings game tonight:

“What is WRONG with them? They’re skating in circles! Every time they get the puck, they just fling it towards their offensive zone and then the Wings pick it up and skate it back. They are so disorganized! What the HELL? Why doesn’t one of them SKATE THE PUCK into the Red Wing zone? This game blows. I hate the Sabres. What this team needs is for one of the DEFENCEMAN to CARRY the puck into the OFFENSIVE ZONE. How is it that they are suddenly incapable of getting this done? (Long pause while the wheels in my brain slowly turn.) Heeeey, wait a minute. Is THAT what Soupy did? Oh, fuuuuck. All I ever noticed Soupy doing was turning the puck over behind the net!”

I like to trade annoying, sweaty puck-moving defensemen first, and ask questions later. Oopsies.

6 Responses to “Hmrph”


  1. 1 Sam March 2, 2008 at 11:52 pm

    Speaking as a devoted fan of a team that must play the Red Wings more than once every three years, may I just echo the whole “Why doesn’t one of them SKATE THE PUCK into the Red Wing zone?” sentiment?

    I’ve more or less decided that watching your team play Detroit is like watching batters on your favorite baseball team face Mariano Rivera in his prime. Those fastballs look so damn hittable, and they don’t even look like they’re moving that much, and then EVERY SINGLE BATTER FLAILS AT THEM LIKE THEY’RE MEXICAN JUMPING BEANS and they all strike out in the most embarrassing possible way. And for a while, you wonder what the hell is wrong with your team’s bats, and then you wonder what’s wrong with the guys swinging them, and then, one day, it just dawns on you:

    Mariano Red Wing is just really freaking good. Even if I can’t see how exactly he/they does/do it.

  2. 2 Becky March 3, 2008 at 5:31 am

    I think that they haven’t figured out that “playing with a sense of urgency” and “panic” aren’t the same thing.

  3. 3 tailspin=ouch! March 3, 2008 at 7:34 am

    Maybe they’ll come into March like lambs, and out like lions…

  4. 4 Steph March 3, 2008 at 12:08 pm

    I went to some bar in Buffalo and watched it wearing a Wings shirt – I got harassed a lot but I feel like it was worth it :) I even cheered for Bernier a little! (That redeems me some, right?)

    Anyway, we’re going to be out for the day, but tomorrow I have no plans and Wednesday all we’re doing is maybe going to the game. I emailed you yesterday I think…um. I know I at least meant to! In the case that I didn’t my email is ninja_breakfast@hotmail.com, hopefully I’ll catch you before I leave town!

  5. 5 Shari March 3, 2008 at 5:07 pm

    I like to trade annoying, sweaty puck-moving defensemen first, and ask questions later. Oopsies.

    Pffffffffffffff………Canada Dry just flew out my nose.
    Warning: Don’t read Kates blog while drinking fizzy anything.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

