Ouch

Okay, I have felt many things after many games, but that loss actually hurt my feelings.

I am never going to speak of my bad-luck-iness on this blog again. I ask that you do the same. A fan’s bad mojo is between herself and her Hockey God. It’s intensely personal. I ask that you respect my privacy during this trying time. Thank you.

(In lieu of cards and flowers, please consider making a donation to “Ryan Miller’s Home For Wayward Unlucky Hockey Fans”. Ryan’s in-patient program has already provided immeasurable comfort to me during this dark time, and I’m confident that by sticking to his 30-step recovery program, my luck will be rehabilitated, and eventually, I’ll once again experience the joy of a live Sabres win.)

14 Responses to “Ouch”


  1. 1 Amy March 6, 2008 at 8:32 am

    Kate, I really hope they put it up on the Sabres site or YouTube soon, but the intermission feature on Staffy playing sled hockey and being completely adorable while doing it just might snap you out of the hurt feeling funk…if only for a moment.

  2. 2 kathee March 6, 2008 at 8:40 am

    STAFFY!!! I wanna see it! *pouts*

  3. 3 Katebits March 6, 2008 at 11:10 am

    Amy, they showed that clip at the arena, and I have to agree that it was AWESOME. I was in the middle of a conversation with some friends when it started playing and as soon as Staffy caught my eye up there I was all, “Please stop talking to me. Staffy is doing cute things on a sled on the jumbotron. SILENCE!” I thought that feature perfectly displayed both sides of Staffy: His crazy hot and kicky side, and his weirdo wooden interview side. It was interesting to see him repeatedly flip between hot and wooden all in one two-minute sled hockey feature.

  4. 4 Anne March 6, 2008 at 11:11 am

    I totally DVR’d just his sled hockey segment. That’s how NUTS I am about Drew Stafford.

    Days like today that don’t start out that great on top of a bad game the night before make me do stupid foolish things, like listen to the song “Better Days” by the Goo-Goo Dolls. YOU NEVER LISTEN TO THAT SONG WHEN THINKING ABOUT THE SABRES. EVER.

  5. 5 Katebits March 6, 2008 at 11:12 am

    Oh, Anne. (shaking head sadly) “Better Days” is the KISS OF DEATH for the depressed Sabres fan. What were you thinking?!

  6. 6 LizzieB March 6, 2008 at 11:17 am

    Kate, here’s another little tidbit to cheer you up. The fans were getting a little punchy last night, so the cheers from the crowd got a little weird. My favorite was:

    Hit ‘em from the left
    Hit ‘em from the right
    Hit ‘em in the weenie
    We need a goal!

    Nope, I didn’t censor that at all. Some guy in Section 310 went with “weenie.” It was beautiful.

  7. 7 elise March 6, 2008 at 11:18 am

    oh kate, i’m so sorry. bad game mojo is horrible. i’ve been there. but it can turn around. go to a game with my brother! sometimes good fan mojo is stronger than the bad. especially if you have tattoos.

  8. 8 'Drea March 6, 2008 at 11:23 am

    We met last night so I thought I’d give your blog a poking, and this post got me to thinking. The only time I’ve gone to a game where the Sabres have won in the past few years is when they played the Islanders last year… the catch is all the others times I’ve seen them I’ve had interest invested in the opposing team

    Perhaps I should stop being such a two-timing (more like ten) traitor? :x

  9. 9 Anne March 6, 2008 at 2:07 pm

    I think if “Better Days” doesn’t put me into a downward spiral I should just go find footage of the Senators eliminating us last season, or watch interviews with Danny about how happy he is to be a Flyer or watch Soupy and the DAMN spin-o-rama goal from the other night.

    I recommend every sports fan have a backup team or back up sport to fall back on in times like these. The Pens are my (distant) 2nd and the Ducks are my (distant) 3rd.

  10. 10 jonhoepfinger March 6, 2008 at 2:43 pm

    Well I didn’t watch the game at all. So I don’t feel bad at all. The less you watch, the better you feel. Plus now is the best time of year to ignore the pain and hurt of Sabre Hockey.

    Its March Madness. The tournaments are starting up right around now, and its constant basketball goodness for a month.

    Unless your a Canisius fan, then its one game and out.

  11. 11 Amy March 6, 2008 at 3:13 pm

    Unless your a Canisius fan, then its one game and out.

    Good to see that some things haven’t changed since I graduated.

  12. 12 danielleia March 6, 2008 at 3:32 pm

    Uh ohhh… or… Niagara.

    Anyways…

    Step 1: Share a bowl of Breakaway Berrier/Top Shelf with Willful Caboose/Sabre Fan faithfuls.

  13. 13 danielleia March 6, 2008 at 3:34 pm

    Sorry, thats step 2. Step 1 is place goggles and hair net on face.

  14. 14 Shari March 6, 2008 at 5:06 pm

    “Katebits”…..the new flavor of ice cream from Perrys!
    Comming soon, Chocolate covered Katebits!


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

