Captain March

It’s way too late to be awake and blogging, but I wanted to clear the air from that sad, sad post from last night. The truth is, I don’t really believe in curses, so I’m not too concerned about the long term ramifications of my bad-luck-iness. I AM superstitious, but I’m that kind of fanciful superstitious that is just as likely to believe in nonsensical good luck as I am to believe in nonsensical bad luck. My theory is that my current bad luck is part of some larger scheme of good luck. Sure, the Sabres lost yesterday, but maybe that loss set in motion a series of events that will lead to the Sabres winning the Cup next year. If watching “Lost” has taught me anything, it’s taught me that we can’t possibly understand the many ways in which we are effecting the future. So, when the Sabres win the Cup next year, and Nolan Pratt accepts his Conn Smythe award, and in his speech he says, “You know, everything changed after that loss to the Capitals last year in March,” I’m going to need all of you to come back here and thank me for all of the wonderful wonderful luck I’ve brought to the franchise.

The bottom line is that I’m not going to quit going to Sabres games, so there’s no point in dwelling on my bad-luck-itude. What I need to do is counteract my bad-luck-itude with some good-luck-itude. I think the area where I have the most potential to increase my luck in the shortest amount of time is in the “fashion” department. I’ve been going to games in street clothes, people. It’s redonk. I hereby promise that the next time I attend a Sabres game I will be wearing AT LEAST a Sabres t-shirt, if not a jersey.

In other news……

Look! Pommerdoodle is all grown up! He’s Captain March! Hoooray!

labradoodle C
Aww
11 Responses to “Captain March”


  1. 1 jonhoepfinger March 7, 2008 at 9:29 am

    Speaking of Jason, he’s in this weeks SI Pop culture Grid

    http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2008/extramustard/03/05/pop.culture0310/index.html

    You can see his answer to the question, I’d never date a woman who….

  2. 2 Anne March 7, 2008 at 9:30 am

    Also, we were all treated to learning Captain March’s middle name the other day. It’s not very exciting, it’s John. But I found it adorable anyway.

    You know the second the Sabres win “it” everyone is going to credit all the trades and decisions that were considered crappy and team-destroying at the time with leading to their eventual victory.

    And I LOVE the thought of Pratters winning the Conn Smythe. Love it. Love Pratt. I don’t want to love Pratt as his status is uncertain, but I really want them to sign him.

  3. 3 Schnookie March 7, 2008 at 10:18 am

    You STILL don’t have Sabres clothes to wear to the games? Well of course they lose when you’re in the building. *Shakes head sadly* Well, once you have a t-shirt or hat or something, that’ll all change. I’m glad you were able to figure out what the problem was.

  4. 4 danielleia March 7, 2008 at 10:53 am

    Oh Pommers… that “C” looks too cute. I wonder if Nolan will thank Hannah Montana?

  5. 5 Shari March 7, 2008 at 12:27 pm

    Maybe The Boss playing at the arena will shed some long lasting bright light in the building tonight. Is it summer yet?

  6. 6 Heather B. March 7, 2008 at 1:01 pm

    Kate, where the eff is this jersey you’ve been talking about buying all season? Get on the ball, dude!

  7. 7 Pookie March 7, 2008 at 3:14 pm

    You haven’t even made a little slug out of felt or something to pin to your shirt? tsk tsk tsk

  8. 8 Amy March 7, 2008 at 4:56 pm

    That Pommerdoodle labradoodle is completely adorable.

    We were all treated to learning Captain March’s middle name the other day. It’s not very exciting, it’s John.

    You think Pommers would clue us in on whether Staffy is really a Drew or an Andrew?

  9. 9 danielleia March 7, 2008 at 9:15 pm

    Did you see the Buffalo News?! Crunch time. Picture of Crunchy. They are obviously reading your blog.

  10. 10 Anne March 8, 2008 at 12:09 am

    Amy- I know! I think I’ve made my love for Staffy abundantly clear to all who meet me. My sister was shocked and appalled to learn the other day that I had no answer to the Drew/Andrew debate. For some reason I don’t find myself dedicating a great deal of time to learning about Mr. Stafford off the ice other than what MSG tosses at me in their intermission segments. My knowledge of his personal life is sadly little. I must know the answer to this, the most important of all questions: Drew or Andrew? Also: Boxers or Briefs?

  11. 11 SlugLuva March 8, 2008 at 12:32 pm

    You think Pommers would clue us in on whether Staffy is really a Drew or an Andrew?

    It’s Drew. :)


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

