Sabres vs. Senators, 3/25/08

Pregame

Mood: Nervie McNerverson
Favorite Sabre: I’m going with the underappreciated Jochen Hecht.
Least Favorite Sabre: Don’t know.
Summary of thoughts: I should be practicing the viola right now, but instead I’m going to watch this hockey game.
Symphonic music representing this game: Variations on a Theme by Haydn, Johannes Brahms

Brahms Haydn

This can go one of a few different directions. It can be infinitely enjoyable to play, but it can also feel like that dream where you suddenly realize you aren’t wearing any pants right before you have to give a big presentation at school.

After the 1st (1-0, Senators)

Mood: Fidgety.
Favorite Sabre: Mike Robitaille. You guys, I love Mike Robitaille. I know I’ve hinted at it before, but I want to make myself perfectly clear on this issue: Mike Robitaille is a crusty, cranky, shout-y, desk pounding, STUD MUFFIN, and of all the people we see on a regular basis on the Sabres broadcasts (included the Sabres themselves), I like Mike Robitaille the most.
Least Favorite Sabre: Is Vanek even playing tonight? At least Roy-Z was out there flopping around and hooking Senators right and left.
Summary of thoughts: I wonder if Mike Robitaille reads blogs? I bet he doesn’t even own a computer. He’s old school.
Symphonic music representing this game: Symphony No. 35, Mozart

Mozart

Be spritely and charming, but whatever you do, don’t fuck up. But have fun! Smile! (Don’t fuck up.)

After the 2nd, (1-1)

Mood: non-suicidal
Favorite Sabre: Okay, fine. That was a pretty nice goal Roy-Z.
Least Favorite Sabre: I’m kind of not hating them right now!
Summary of thoughts: I feel like we should have scored 3 goals that period.
Symphonic music representing this game thus far: Don Juan, Richard Strauss

Don Juan
Dude. I’m working REALLY hard here. It might not sound very good, but you can’t fault my effort.
At the End (6-3, Senators)

Summary of thoughts: Fuck.
Music representing this game:

atomic-bomb
I do not recommend this piece. At all.

34 Responses to “Sabres vs. Senators, 3/25/08”


  1. 1 Anne March 25, 2008 at 6:20 pm

    I had to listen to the first 5 minutes in the car, and basically the whole way home from Wegman’s I was repeating “I hate this I hate this I hate this I hate this”

    Yo, Brian Koziol almost said the name “Jason” instead of Dmitri in his pre-game scratch list and my heart stopped. Not a good slip of the tongue, Brian Koziol.

  2. 2 CrotchetyOriginalSam March 25, 2008 at 6:41 pm

    Ooooh. The 5th variation of Brahms Haydn makes me feel the same way I feel every time the Wild play Calgary…

  3. 3 danielleia March 25, 2008 at 7:15 pm

    You should play us a piece and upload it so we can enjoy Veeeeolaaaa by KB.

  4. 4 Shari March 25, 2008 at 7:21 pm

    I.hate.this.too. I want to Wooo so bad. I think an uploaded veeeeolaaaa piece would sound very relaxing right about now.
    COME ON YOU GUY! PUT THE PUCKIN PUCK IN THE DAMN NET!!!!

  5. 5 mcguffers March 25, 2008 at 7:27 pm

    hmmm. Did I miss something here? I thought we liked Hecht, Gaustad and Pominville together. Cause I know I did. Then Tallinder plays defense and four of my five favorite Sabres are on the ice at the same time. Maybe Ruff has caught the same disease the Versus announcers have and he’s confusing Goose with Pie-YAY. Not cool Lindy. Not. cool.

  6. 6 Amy March 25, 2008 at 7:31 pm

    The handwritten notes on the Brahms piece could also apply to the Sabres. They need to be steady and think about the tempo of the game.

  7. 7 Amy March 25, 2008 at 7:36 pm

    I meant the Mozart piece, not the Brahms one. Grr.

  8. 8 Shari March 25, 2008 at 7:48 pm

    Steady and think TEPPO! I agree Kate. I love listening to Robey talk.
    He’s either the teams biggest cheerleader or the Dad who verbally smacks them all in the head. When Lindys really pissed, he should make the boys listen to Mike between periods.

  9. 9 Glenn March 25, 2008 at 7:59 pm

    When does Schostakovitch 5th come?

  10. 10 CrotchetyOriginalSam March 25, 2008 at 8:05 pm

    Shosty 5 is definitely for after a win over the Caps, or any other team with a big ugly Russian star…

  11. 11 Zach March 25, 2008 at 8:38 pm

    Well that was ugly. There went the playoffs.

  12. 12 mcguffers March 25, 2008 at 8:40 pm

    Sheesh. It’s Beethoven’s Moonlight Sonata for me now. And I stand by my Keep the Lines together comment from before.

  13. 13 Shari March 25, 2008 at 8:48 pm

    I still love these guys no matter what they do. Toni, I love you for the way you stand up to the media. You are the man.

  14. 14 Lauren March 25, 2008 at 8:55 pm

    Shari, if Toni was the man, he wouldnt have been on the ice for 4 of those ottawa goals in the 3rd. tonight he is NOT the man.

  15. 15 CrotchetyOriginalSam March 25, 2008 at 9:00 pm

    Ahhh. Mahler 6 to close out the evening, I see?

  16. 16 Katebits March 25, 2008 at 9:04 pm

    Sam, mahler 6 is waaaay too subtle to represent this game.

  17. 17 Shari March 25, 2008 at 9:23 pm

    Oh, did I write ice? I thought I wrote MEDIA!

  18. 18 Sherry March 25, 2008 at 9:43 pm

    The orchestra geek in me loves those shots of the sheet music!

    I’m sorry for your pain, Katebits but asides from that– well you know.

  19. 19 mcguffers March 25, 2008 at 9:55 pm

    Katebits, I loved the sheet music too. You brought my band camp days. West Genny is my version of the Senators. Stupid West Genny. Stupid Senators.

  20. 20 kathee March 25, 2008 at 9:57 pm

    ARRRGGGGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!
    WTF Sabres???

  21. 21 Mary March 25, 2008 at 10:04 pm

    2 minutes. That’s what it took and it hurts. :(
    But I’m joining the chorus about the sheet music… after being a band geek for almost 7 years, it’s good to see it again!

  22. 22 CrotchetyOriginalSam March 25, 2008 at 10:23 pm

    Sam, mahler 6 is waaaay too subtle to represent this game.

    Um, really? I was just going off the pic. Hammerblows, y’know? Tragic? No?

    Well, how about the Greatest Hits Of Phil Collins, then? Nothing says Apocolypse like “Sussudio”!

  23. 23 Katebits March 25, 2008 at 11:25 pm

    Well, no one actually dies from Mahler 6. :P

  24. 24 Pookie March 26, 2008 at 9:08 am

    Well, no one actually dies from Mahler 6. :P

    Boomer has never been a classical music fan. Her idea of pain and torture is to be forced to go to the opera or to a concert on a night her team is playing, even if it’s going to be as tragic a game as last night. I’m pretty sure she’d think she’d died if she was forced to listen to Mahler over hockey! :)

  25. 25 Caitlin March 26, 2008 at 10:13 am

    Wow, I’m so glad that trombone pieces never looked like that. At least not until you got to jazz!

    Sorry, Katebits. I didn’t see this game…but I think the mushroom cloud says it all. You have my deepest condolences.

  26. 26 jonhoepfinger March 26, 2008 at 10:14 am

    Least favorite sabre last night Jochen Hecht.
    Yikes was he bad last night.

  27. 27 Jaime March 26, 2008 at 10:26 am

    I’m glad that I missed the game because of my dance class! At least I got some exercise instead of sitting and watching the team implode.

  28. 28 mcguffers March 26, 2008 at 1:15 pm

    To keep the topic on music and not last night’s heart break, three more Sabres’ playlists were added that were not Paul Gaustad. Spacek chose the Stones’ Sympathy for the Devil, which I think explains the Tampa Bay game. A come back that awesome has to be a deal with the Devil. Bernier likes rap. Apparently all French Canandian hockey players like rap. And Mike Weber got a play list before Goose! And don’t try to feed me any Enya or Simon and Garfunkel excuses this time cause his first song is AQUEOUS TRANSMISSION by Incubus. I play that song when I have extreme insomnia and a bottle of wine with a Nyquil chaser doesn’t work. What was the game plan with that song? Lull the other team to sleep?

  29. 29 Pookie March 26, 2008 at 1:41 pm

    By the way, I realized the minute I left my comment about Boomer thinking classical music is torture that it sounded like I was belittling the passion and love that Katebits, Sam, Glenn, Janz and any other of the orchestra folks around here show for their chosen profession. I’m sorry! That’s not what I meant! I meant to issue an apology immediately but then I got distracted by something shiny (or rather, Pensblog dissing on NJ fans for not showing up to games. Dudes, do you know how much those lower level seats that you see on TV cost?!?) so instead I forgot all about it until I got in my car for my hour-long drive to work. Which I spent wringing my hands as much as one can while safely holding a steering wheel. So… um… Please accept my apologies. Or delete my comment. Comments. Because this one got a little rambly. I’m leaving now. :)

  30. 30 Jennfer March 26, 2008 at 2:38 pm

    Mcguffers, I emailed Brian Wheeler last week to inquire as to WHY Goose didn’t have a play list and he said that he had been after Paul for months, but he keeps forgetting the list at home. He promises to get it, but with only 2 more home games, I’m not holding my breath. I told him that Goose’s fans/admirers want to hear his playlist.

  31. 31 danielleia March 26, 2008 at 4:26 pm

    “I play that song when I have extreme insomnia and a bottle of wine with a Nyquil chaser doesn’t work.” Hahahahaahahahaaaa

    Pookie: You didn’t offend any non-classical listeners! And Pensblog is not always right, but don’t tell them I said that :P

    Jennfer: You got farther than I did on the Goose debacle. I emailed bulldog while Goose was on! He didn’t respond. hehe.

  32. 32 Katebits March 26, 2008 at 5:33 pm

    Pookie, you’re BANNED! :P

  33. 33 Pookie March 26, 2008 at 6:55 pm

    Pookie, you’re BANNED! :P

    NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!

    But, but, but I love Perpetual Motion! Doesn’t that count for anything?!?

  34. 34 mcguffers March 26, 2008 at 8:18 pm

    Jennfer, that is awesome! And I love how the only reason he doesn’t have one is because he keeps leaving the list at home. It’s okay Goose. I guess I’d rather have you saving the environment and cheering up kids with cancer.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

