The Mourning After

Animal representing what the Sabres have reduced me to:
Blobby

This is my new BFF/confidant/possible boyfriend. He’s a blob fish.

Blob and I spent the afternoon, hanging out, talking about how much our lives suck, and alternating salty and sweet snacks. Blob’s a really good listener, and when I told him about the Sabres, he nodded sympathetically and told me I deserve better. I feel like Blob really “gets” me.

On an unrelated note, I would like to welcome everyone who is visiting TWC for the first time after reading my latest contribution to Hockey Night in Blogdome on the New York Times website. This post (starring Blob) is pretty typical of the high quality analysis you can expect from The Willful Caboose, so don’t hesitate to ask any questions if you can’t keep up with the furious pace of my hockey intellect.

17 Responses to “The Mourning After”


  1. 1 Pookie March 26, 2008 at 10:18 pm

    don’t hesitate to ask any questions if you can’t keep up with the furious pace of my hockey intellect.

    Funny you should said that; the residents of Stately IPB Manor had trouble keeping up with the furious pace of this post.

    Pookie: Boomer, you’ve got to see this. [Reads post title, photo caption, then the body of the post.]

    Boomer [completely perplexed]: What is that thing?!

    Pookie [unsure]: Uh… I’m pretty sure I read to you that it was a blob fish…

  2. 2 Katebits March 26, 2008 at 10:19 pm

    It’s a blobfish, indeed! I found it while searching the internet for “sad animals”. I’m kind of in love with him.

  3. 3 Schnookie March 26, 2008 at 10:20 pm

    I just came to your blog for the first time after reading your contribution to the New York Times. I am ashamed of myself now for having visited this site. You are a shameful black mark on the face of blogdom. You call this hockey analysis? We all know that quality blogs ignore the bad stuff that’s happened to their teams. If you were even a moderately decent blogger, you’d be writing today about a movie screening you’ve organized, or some self-indulgent story about when you went to an open practice and talked to a player on your team.

    At the very least, you could limit the “Duh”s you use. Or, if there weren’t any explicit “Duh”s in this post, you should have limited the unspoken ones. What kind of audience are you trying to speak to here?

    Ur a tewl.

  4. 4 Katebits March 26, 2008 at 10:22 pm

    :^:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

  5. 5 alix March 26, 2008 at 10:24 pm

    Wow! Blobby is so handsome! I think I’ll be joining you in mourning about hockey teams soon…Maybe I’ll look for my own special sad animal.

  6. 6 Katebits March 26, 2008 at 10:26 pm

    Wow! Blobby is so handsome!

    I know! Isn’t he a catch, alix? You shouldn’t let the Canucks get you down because there are plenty of other blob fish in the sea. :P

  7. 7 danielleia March 26, 2008 at 11:03 pm

    I’m literally “LOL”ing right now. Blob is…AWESOME!

    Thank you, KBizzle, for showing the hockey world we’re not “classless” fans :)

  8. 8 Destiny March 26, 2008 at 11:38 pm

    That’s the cutest little emo fish I’ve ever seen. :)

  9. 9 Ryan March 27, 2008 at 1:29 am

    I think Blob should be captain in April. When you think about it long enough, it makes more sense than it should.

    But thank you Kate, this post made me feel better. I guess sad looking animals are all it takes…

  10. 10 Amy March 27, 2008 at 7:33 am

    Aww, Blobby’s kind of cute in a fishy sort of way. If I didn’t know it was a real fish, I’d think it was a Muppet representation of a fish.

    Does Blobby enjoy the viola?

  11. 11 Anne March 27, 2008 at 8:00 am

    Wow! That Blob kid has spunk! How soon can we get him signed? We signed 2 undrafted college students in the last 2 days, who says we can’t sign an undrafted Blob fish?

    Blob for Captain April!

  12. 12 CrotchetyOriginalSam March 27, 2008 at 8:57 am

    Blob fish, my butt. That is clearly a largish serving of lutefisk, waiting for an elderly Norwegian to happen along and devour it.

    (I would venture to guess that Blobby the Lutefisk does not enjoy the viola. But violists love lutefisk – it isn’t often that we happen across something more reviled than our instrument…)

  13. 13 Jennfer March 27, 2008 at 10:26 am

    Blob fish looks rather…… pitiful. I guess he is a very appropriate animal representing our feeling on Sabres hockey.

    But what is than hanging out of the left side of his mouth. That’s GROSS!

  14. 14 kathee March 27, 2008 at 2:25 pm

    Kate, I know you can do better than that for a BF. You’re way too good for him! :)

  15. 15 Becky March 27, 2008 at 4:42 pm

    Reading what that guy from the Flyers make me hope that somehow they completely fail and miss the playoffs – like I haven’t been wishing that all year anyway.

    I also feel like maybe I read too many blogs when I know exactly what Schnookie was talking about – duh.

    Blob on.

  16. 16 Jonathan March 27, 2008 at 4:44 pm

    I heard Blog was already going out with someone. And Blob isn’t very good about calling.

    These kinds of posts are the reason I make the ‘Boose a daily stop.


  1. 1 Uh-Oh « The Willful Caboose Trackback on April 4, 2008 at 1:12 pm

Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

