Introducing SabreCast!

1. First of all, the Montreal game never happened. Really. My spirit was officially broken on Tuesday. I’ll happily wath the rest of the games, but I can’t whip myself into a frenzy anymore. I’ve made my peace with the situation. I. can’t. deal. anymore.

2. Once the ladies over at IPB introduced their awesome podcast “The IPB Hour: Contents Will Be Less Then An Hour”, I knew it was only a matter of time before I had one too. I have, after all, pretty much made my way on the internet by stealing everything I can get my grubby little mitts on from IPB. Heh.

So, Heather B. and I put our heads together, and devised a podcasting plan. (By “plan” I mean, “just record everything we say for four hours and then erase the 3 hours and 47 minutes that are too insane to publish on the interwebs”.) She came over last night, we watched the game, and we recorded a bunch of nonsense. Then, I stayed up, practically ALL NIGHT trying to figure out how to use GarageBand. I was only partially successful. I got the audio together (the editing is pretty cluncky, but whatevs), but no matter WHAT I did, I couldn’t figure out how to get all the cute artwork visible outside of GarageBand. So, this is our goofy little podcast, sans artwork. Hopefully, we’ll get better at this as we bumble along.

It’s a little outdated already because we recorded it last night.

Introducing SabreCast!

29 Responses to “Introducing SabreCast!”


  1. 1 CrotchetyOriginalSam March 29, 2008 at 12:48 am

    Okay. I don’t think I’ve ever actually sat through a podcast about a team I don’t root for before. But it was totally worth it. Way better than you co-hosting NHL 2Night. And way to respond to your fans and include a cut of yourself playing viola at the end!

    (P.S. Is it a little bit weird that I would totally have recognized that as your viola sound even completely out of context? Because I swear I would have.)

  2. 2 Heather B. March 29, 2008 at 12:54 am

    Kate, I for one, am totally amused by us :P (I can say that, right?)

  3. 3 Schnookie March 29, 2008 at 12:58 am

    Always with the stealing from IPB. *Shakes head sadly* I’d have less of a problem with it if you didn’t keep improving on our ideas. :P (Just kidding, of course! I’m honored that you seem to think we’re inspiring you in some way, since I’m always over here saying to myself, “I wish I’d thought of that…” :D)

    This podcast is awesome! I can’t wait for the next one!!!

  4. 4 Heather B. March 29, 2008 at 1:02 am

    For the record, Jason Pominville has passed his production from last season. Fewer goals so far (34 vs. 27) but more assists (34 vs. 50). Good boy, Pommerdoodle!

  5. 5 Pookie March 29, 2008 at 1:03 am

    This. Podcast. ROCKED!!!

    I’d have less of a problem with it if you didn’t keep improving on our ideas. :P

    Yeah, what she said!

  6. 6 Pookie March 29, 2008 at 1:04 am

    Oh, I should add: to paraphrase the famous archaeologist, “I have gazed upon the face of the future of sports radio.”

  7. 7 Mags March 29, 2008 at 1:44 am

    So. AWESOME. (Audacity is easier to use than garageband btw. At least, I think it is)

  8. 8 CrotchetyOriginalSam March 29, 2008 at 2:14 am

    Seconding Audacity. Simplest thing I’ve ever used…

  9. 9 Amy March 29, 2008 at 7:50 am

    This podcast was great!

  10. 10 Meg March 29, 2008 at 8:02 am

    That was great, you two! I loved it. :D

  11. 11 danielleia March 29, 2008 at 10:00 am

    haha ahhahaha ha. Usually I can’t get through a whole podcast about anything, but that was fun (I have garageband too, its carazayy!). Next up, YouTube?

    Viola!

  12. 12 Patty (in Dallas) March 29, 2008 at 10:43 am

    That podcast was FANTASTIC!

    I’m wildly impressed by the content, but maybe even more by the editing! Great job. Is the next one today?

  13. 13 Sherry March 29, 2008 at 10:47 am

    I loved ALL of the background music. Please tell me there will be an official SabreCast soundtrack as well.

  14. 14 Shari March 29, 2008 at 11:11 am

    First a SabreCast soundtrack, next Sabercast on Broadway! I loved it and I think you two did a great job for your first time. (I like the giggles to!) However, I’m….just…not ready to have my boys criticized just yet by anyone but me. They’re done, it’s over, I’m gonna be a Mom and say, nice try boys. Kotalik, I still think your a sexy mofo but you have the potential to be a great player and someone needs to kick your ass into 5th gear boy! And would it kill you to smile once in a while? For me?? You’ve disapointed me, now get your shit together or no more beauty queens for you! Alright, you two really are geniouses and the surprise was well worth the wait!

  15. 15 Jonathan March 29, 2008 at 2:32 pm

    Will the podcast ever have guests? Or is it going to be the both of you. Which would be perfectly fine and good. Because the both of you have great chemistry.

  16. 16 Shari March 29, 2008 at 2:52 pm

    Jonahan, I was accually wondering the same thing. I’m sure Hank would jump at the chance for an sit down with Heather.
    And I can picture Crunchy sitting down with Kate for a Diane Sawyer-istic interview. Talk about some death glares! Hey, maybe some of us can even be out in the field? Come on from time to time and talk about Sabres spottings, gossip and scandals?

  17. 17 Shari March 29, 2008 at 2:57 pm

    I guess I’m not much of a speller today. I’m sooo sorry Jonathan!

  18. 18 Anne March 29, 2008 at 3:51 pm

    I had the same reaction after the shoot out. I don’t know if I lost count or I was just so convinced that we couldn’t possibly have one, that I didn’t realize Roysie had scored the winning goal until they showed the whole team bunched on the ice. I was 1/2 expecting them to be shooed off by the refs because the game wasn’t over yet.

  19. 19 leeandrew March 29, 2008 at 6:07 pm

    Nice podcast, Congrats.

  20. 20 Heather B. March 29, 2008 at 6:12 pm

    Hey, I think that’s ^^^^ my little bro! Hey, little bro!

  21. 21 facefirstintotheboards March 29, 2008 at 8:48 pm

    totally amazing podcast. I loved it. fresh and funny.

    and it furthers the idea that I need to meet you two because I think we’d get along swimmingly.

    lovely viola at the end there too.

    more more more!

    :)

  22. 22 leeandrew March 29, 2008 at 10:10 pm

    Yes that is your little bro. Hello big sis!

  23. 23 Katebits March 29, 2008 at 11:57 pm

    Hey, thanks everyone! We ad a ton of fun doing this, and you can expect more.

    Hi, Heather’s brother!

  24. 24 elise March 30, 2008 at 4:40 pm

    i love SabreCast! perhaps Brooks should be a guest…a little cello/viola duetty thing? hmmm??

  25. 25 zach March 30, 2008 at 9:36 pm

    It was really good. One complaint, you couldn’t have made it any longer than 14 minutes?

  26. 26 Heather B. March 30, 2008 at 10:01 pm

    zach, we thought we’d err on the side of “leave ‘em wanting more!” See, it worked, didn’t it? :-D

  27. 27 Courtney S.F. March 31, 2008 at 8:53 pm

    Were you knitting while you recorded? Maybe it’s wishful thinking, but I swear I could hear needles clicking, especially during the Ryan Miller minute. Oh, and I think that you are officially a genius.

  28. 28 Heather B. April 1, 2008 at 12:16 am

    Courtney, that was just me clicking my pen. Over and over and over. It was nervous twitch. Kate snatched it off me and threw it across the room.


  1. 1 The IPB Hour: Episode #2 « Interchangeable Parts Trackback on March 29, 2008 at 5:20 pm

Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

