SabreCast, Episode #2

I cannot beLIEVE the Sabres pulled that one off. No, that game wasn’t pretty, but whatever. I’ll take it.

Heather came over tonight and we watched the game. We were alternately appalled and amused. It was a messy night for the Sabres. Crunchy in particular put on quite the schizophrenic show; first by being Mr. Out-Of-Position-Pants, and then by being Mr. Badass-In-The-Shootout-Pants.

I’ve been pretty impressed with the Sabres’ pluckiness the last few days. Even now, at the end of a long, often frustrating season, I see a lot of reason to look towards the future with hope. I’ll admit, part of me just wants them to LOSE ALREADY, and put an end to this stressful misery, but mostly, I’m delighted that the Sabres are still in the game. DELIGHTED.

Two games to go, boys.

For your listening pleasure, we recorded the second SabreCast episode. It’s only 8 minutes long because that’s how we roll.

35 Responses to “SabreCast, Episode #2”


  1. 1 Mags April 2, 2008 at 2:54 am

    Kaaaaate, I got an “error loading file” before I even got to listen to the podcast *weeps*

  2. 2 Mags April 2, 2008 at 3:21 am

    Nevermind, I got it to work. Somehow.

  3. 3 Shari April 2, 2008 at 7:13 am

    That was great! I did the very same thing with Crunchy. I got so pissed at him for the very first time and as soon as I did, I felt bad for him because I don’t know how these goalies play so many games in a row and be under such pressure. I will still bow to you Ryan Miller. I don’t care how many times he messed up, sign, sign, sign! Kevin Sylvester said it and I noticed it to… after Max made that wonderful goal, he didn’t do his usual little boy reach for the sky thing. He kept it short and sweet. Good boy. I hope you two keep this up next season. It will definetly make for some great replys!

  4. 4 Jaime April 2, 2008 at 8:18 am

    I laughed so hard at your “Prayer to the Hockey Gods” segments. The zen music, the deadpan voice, priceless. I also was praying to the Hockey Gods during the goal review (I was listening in the car so I couldn’t even see the review on TV).

  5. 5 Anne April 2, 2008 at 8:23 am

    Ha, I love the Derek Roy segment. He is all those negative characteristics and so much more.

    I laughed out loud at work at the part about not feeling bad that the Sabres now have to watch all those other games.I too hope it goes to a shootout. Haha.

  6. 6 Mary April 2, 2008 at 8:37 am

    Did you hear that during the shootout, Goose wanted everyone to link arms? Silly Goose!

    I’m loving the podcasts. The praying to the hockey gods part was my favorite. Go ahead Ovie, follow your real dreams!

  7. 7 Meg April 2, 2008 at 8:51 am

    Hee, I love the prayer to the Hockey Gods segment and the Derek Roy segment. No shootouts though! No overtime! They can suffer in other ways that are less stressful for me and don’t hand out loser points. :)

    Did you hear that during the shootout, Goose wanted everyone to link arms? Silly Goose!

    Aw, that’s cute.

  8. 8 Jennfer April 2, 2008 at 9:13 am

    Oh, Crunchy was so on my “I never want to see you play again” list after that first goal. I wasn’t any more pleased with him after the 2nd. Luckily, he redeemed himself during the rest of the game and especially his “kick-ass” performance in the shoot-out.

    I’m gonna need more alcohol before I can watch them play again. It’s too intense, but I LOVE IT!!!

  9. 9 Pookie April 2, 2008 at 9:15 am

    Bravissima! Wonderful, as usual! The prayer to the hockey gods was truly a great moment!

    My only complaint was that I was laughing along with you two about wishing the game the boys will be watching tonight goes into a shootout. Then I realized that’s my boys game! NO! NO SHOOTOUTS! You people are CRUEL!

    (Just kidding! That whole segment was HIlarious!)

  10. 10 Glenn April 2, 2008 at 9:28 am

    Personally, I wouldn’t argue with Ovie being an underwear model….just sayin’.

  11. 11 Katebits April 2, 2008 at 10:22 am

    Thanks everyone!

    I REALLY wish I could hear Goose trying to convince his teammates that linking arms was a good plan for the shootout. Hee!

    Then I realized that’s my boys game! NO! NO SHOOTOUTS! You people are CRUEL!

    Pookie, last night Heather and I had a long conversation about how badly we need the Devils to win their remaining games. (We need them to win BAD.) This can’t end well for any of us. Heh.

  12. 12 Heather B. April 2, 2008 at 10:46 am

    Pookie, what Kate isn’t telling you is that we also decided it’s probably going to be the Devils who screw us :-D

    Meg, I wasn’t thinking at all about the loser point if Boston/NJ goes to a shootout. I guess that won’t work after all. (The Sabres still deserve the stress though.)

  13. 13 Mike in Idaho April 2, 2008 at 11:11 am

    Entertaining podcast although I disagree with you about Miller, he has let a lot of bad goals in the last month and I don’t think he will ever be an elite level goalie. I know I know, I’m kicked off the site :) Also I’m glad to hear you guys give Roy some credit, while he is a diver I think he is the only Sabre to really improve from last year, I’m glad they at least have him locked up for a while. The 8 minutes of your podcast made work seem far less boring, but only for 8 minutes.

  14. 14 jonhoepfinger April 2, 2008 at 11:12 am

    Love the Sabrecast. The show has a very NPRish feel to it. Is that done on purpose. Or is that how it just comes out.

    You have the Miller Minute, why not the Roy Whine of the Week.

  15. 15 Heather B. April 2, 2008 at 11:14 am

    Mike in Idaho, if you keep listening you will learn quickly that I adore Derek Roy. I will overlook any and all bad habits because I really do think he’s a badass hockey player who has really found his way this season.

    If you didn’t listen to the first episode, that might kill another 13 minutes or so for you :-D

  16. 16 Katebits April 2, 2008 at 11:51 am

    Mike in Idaho, you are BANNED. (Just kidding.)

    I don’t disagree at all that Miller has sucked pretty hard recently, and I certainly wouldn’t argue that he is/will be an elite goalie…..but I still love the guy. He’s a great character to have around, and I don’t see any better goalies knocking at our door trying to win us a Stanley Cup. I was feeling a totally ridiculous guilt about bagging on him in the first podcast, so I decided to over-compensate (for entertainment purposes) in the second podcast. My relationship with Crunchy is pretty complicated. :P

    Jon, I can’t say the NPR feel was purposeful, but I have listened to a lot of NPR in my day. (Plus, Garageband comes with SO MANY fun little musical bits. It’s hard not to take advantage of them.) I LOVE the Roy whine of the week idea. One of our goals is to figure out how to do a video podcast with clips from games. (We’re not sure if that is even legal.) So hopefully someday you can watch a little videocast of Roy-Z whining, and Heather and I talking over it. :D

  17. 17 Shari April 2, 2008 at 11:57 am

    Just who are these “Hockey Gods”?
    And why do so many people find themselves clutching their hands together and looking to the ceiling?
    I will astral project at night after the remainder of the games(if they win them) to give thanks to the Hockey Gods and possibly offer to myself to them, because I think maybe they’re all modeled after the hottest looking Sabres, of coarse. :)

  18. 18 Shari April 2, 2008 at 12:03 pm

    And I can just picture Chara hitting his head on a traffic light!
    THAT ladies, was the best.

  19. 19 Anne April 2, 2008 at 12:42 pm

    Also I’m glad to hear you guys give Roy some credit, while he is a diver I think he is the only Sabre to really improve from last year,

    I have to disagree. I think its pretty remarkable how well Pommer has been playing when, at the beginning of the season, basically everyone wrote him off as being useless without Briere. I’d say he and Roysie are the only players that were on the NHL roster the whole season for the last 2 that have improved this season.

  20. 20 Jennfer April 2, 2008 at 12:57 pm

    I think both Roy-Z and Pommerdoodle have made great strides to improve their game. I’m not sure if Goose and Hank have improved or not, but I love them anyway. If they haven’t improved, it’s only ’cause they were great to start with, right?!?! (Heather & Kate, this is where I need you girls to back me up, I know these are your boys too!)

  21. 21 Mike in Idaho April 2, 2008 at 1:49 pm

    I apologize for forgetting about Pomminville (I know now I will be banned for sure), I somehow forgot that its population has been growing steadily the last half of the season and hopefully the upcoming recession will not affect Jason’s economic well-being. I think he started slow but has got better as the year has gone on. And about Miller, what exactly did he say about his teammates, I tried searching for some mention of it but was unsuccessful.

  22. 22 Pookie April 2, 2008 at 2:32 pm

    Pookie, what Kate isn’t telling you is that we also decided it’s probably going to be the Devils who screw us :-D

    Yeah… Well… That’s the Devils for ya. Sorry.

  23. 23 jonhoepfinger April 2, 2008 at 2:55 pm

    Can someone talk to Dainus Zubrus that we need him to play huge this week.

    Come on ZUBAZ help out the Sabres!

  24. 24 Katebits April 2, 2008 at 2:56 pm

    Pookie, what Kate isn’t telling you is that we also decided it’s probably going to be the Devils who screw us :-D

    I think it’s safe to say the Sabres screwed us first.

  25. 25 mcguffers April 2, 2008 at 2:58 pm

    Seeing as how we can’t have a shoot out, let’s say New Jersey goes up by about four goals in the first period, then allows the Bruins to come back and score six unanswered goals in the second, then the Devils score two goals to tie in up in the but kill the momentum with a barrage of completely unnecessary penalities. Sutter will then switch all the lines around and put the checking line on all Power plays. Then in the last minute and a half, just when the Sabres (who are all watching this game in Derek Roy’s velvet walled living room) start swearing at the tv and punching everything in sight, an unlikely Devil scores the game winner, defeating Boston IN REGULATION and keeping the unworthy Sabres’ playoff hopes alive. While all this is happening, Goose has gotten the boys to link arms and the player on the end with one free arm (probably T-Bo) feeds Pommers bacon.

  26. 26 Heather B. April 2, 2008 at 3:21 pm

    mcguffers, that sounds perfect. I can’t believe Kate and I didn’t come up with that scenario!

  27. 27 Jennfer April 2, 2008 at 3:44 pm

    I especially like the linking arms and bacon.

  28. 28 Amy April 2, 2008 at 3:58 pm

    Then in the last minute and a half, just when the Sabres (who are all watching this game in Derek Roy’s velvet walled living room) start swearing at the tv and punching everything in sight, an unlikely Devil scores the game winner, defeating Boston IN REGULATION and keeping the unworthy Sabres’ playoff hopes alive. While all this is happening, Goose has gotten the boys to link arms and the player on the end with one free arm (probably T-Bo) feeds Pommers bacon.

    That’s perfect. But….

    Goose said in today’s paper he’s not going to watch the games tonight. Why focus on what you can’t control, was his reasoning. Some of the other players are going to go out and watch the games over dinner (methinks if it ends up that they’re bounced tonight, that those guys are going to get shitfaced afterward). Goose is going to be polishing his halo, or rally helmet while taking the Doodle out for a walk and bacon snack.

  29. 29 Anne April 2, 2008 at 4:02 pm

    I apologize for forgetting about Pomminville (I know now I will be banned for sure),

    I am petitioning for your removal. Haha. How many times have we made statements and then realized we forgot something later? I personally do it all the time. As long as you didn’t go on some great diatribe about how amazing Kalinin is, it’s all good.

    I do think Spacek has improved, but only because we’re using him in different situations, I don’t know that he’s changed much as a player though.

  30. 30 Katebits April 2, 2008 at 5:00 pm

    mcguffers, you m’lady, are a TWC commenting star! If I can’t imagine the Sabres arm in arm, with T-bone feeding Pommers bacon, then I don’t want to be a sports fan anymore. Thanks for that awesome image.

  31. 31 danielleia April 2, 2008 at 5:19 pm

    I like the Derek Roy horn a lot.

  32. 32 alix April 2, 2008 at 8:01 pm

    This podcast was delightful! I love all the music and the ever so serious prayers to the hockey gods were awesome. You two should definitely keep doing these. I’m so jealous! My podcast would probably consist of me talking to myself about how hot Matty is. Heh.

    alix, how hot is Matty?
    He is SO hot, alix.
    And his defensive skills are top notch too, right alix?
    But of course, alix.

  33. 33 Katebits April 2, 2008 at 9:27 pm

    alix, :^::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

  34. 34 mcguffers April 2, 2008 at 10:20 pm

    You’re welcome Katebits, although I’m not used to being thanked for a mental image I give someone. Usually I’m being yelled at for it. :D And my computer only plays 1:20 of the podcast, but it’s a delightful 1:20. And Heather B, I’m sure you guys would have thought the same thing if you were mixing your meds like I am.

    Amy, yet again Goose proves that he is way to introspective to be a hockey player.

  35. 35 JBo April 9, 2008 at 9:22 pm

    Please let Alexander Ovechkin give up hockey to pursue his dream of becoming a Dolce & Gabbana underwear model.

    Here, here!


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

