Sabres @ Canadiens 4/3/08

Pregame

Mood: Giddy. Scared. Hopeful. Amused.
Favorite Sabre: Poni Lydstad HE’S A HONKING MONSTER!
Least Favorite Sabre: Ales Kotalik, I’ve had it with you.
Summary of thoughts: I have truly enjoyed this crazy, last-ditch playoff push. For some reason, I find the Sabres’ tenuous survival both hilarious and exhilarating. Somewhere along the way, I must’ve lost my mind, because our 3.9% chance seems a lot less depressing than their 90.7% chance. If we squeak in, HOORAY! If we don’t, well, whatevs; the Sabres aren’t very good. Hopefully, we’ll make the playoffs. Hopefully, next season won’t suck this hard. Hopefully, Goose will get the game winning goal. Hopefully, Crunchy will use his laser death glare to keep the puck out of the net. Hopefully, Staffy ate some brains last night. Hopefully, Pommers will make lots of babies tonight (by increasing the population of Pominville, not by ravaging the female population of Montreal. Although, go ahead and do your worst Pommers. You’ve earned it.) Hopefully, the Hockey Gods will shine their sweet light upon us, and the Buffalo Sabres will live to play another meaningful game on Saturday.
Four objects representing out (nearly) 4% chance of making the playoffs:

Four Donuts
Four donuts is better than no donuts, plus, they are good for post-loss binge eating.
After the 1st (2-0, Montreal)

Mood: Misery, misery, misery.
Favorite Sabre: The off-season.
Least Favorite Sabre: ALES KOTALIK IS A DISGUSTING, FILTHY HOOKER….AND NOT THE GOOD KIND.
Summary of thoughts: Remember forty-five minutes ago, when I was all “Tra la la hockey is wonderful la la la our situation is hilarious tra la la la tee da let’s just all join hands and be grateful we still have a 4% chance”? Remember that? THAT WAS THE CRACK I SMOKED FOR DINNER TALKING.
Four objects representing our (nearly) 4% chance of making the playoffs: four ants

Four ants are gross and totally unhelpful.
After the 2nd (3-0, Montreal)

Mood: It’s just a dull ache now.
Favorite Sabre: It’s one of those nights when I can’t tell the Sabres apart.
Least Favorite Sabre: Your mama. (No, not your mama. Calm down.)
Summary of thoughts: *sniff* (You guys, I don’t actually HAVE four donuts. That was just a googled image. What could be sadder than the Sabres not making the playoffs AND NOT HAVING DONUTS?)
Four objects representing our (nearly) 4% chance of making the playoffs: four invisible donuts

Worst. Donuts. Ever.
At the end (3-1, Montreal)

Summary of thoughts: That hurt a lot more than I thought it would.
Object representing our 0% chance of making the playoffs:

STANLEY CUP
It’s so horribly beautiful.
29 Responses to “Sabres @ Canadiens 4/3/08”


  1. 1 DS April 3, 2008 at 6:50 pm

    Oh, sure, Kate. NOW you have the GDBlog.
    (Hey, if Pommerdoodle scores lots of goals tonight, the women may offer themselves for the ravaging. ;)

    Best of foodstuffs to the Sabres!

  2. 3 Danielleia April 3, 2008 at 7:06 pm

    Can I come over and help you eat your donuts?

  3. 4 Jennifer April 3, 2008 at 7:15 pm

    CRAP-CRAP-CRAP! My satelite went out for about 10 minutes (cause there is a slight drizzle outside) and when it came back on Montreal had scored 2 goals. CRAP-CRAP-CRAP!!!!!

    Sabres fans deserve better than this, they deserve the playoffs, even if the players don’t.

  4. 5 Amy April 3, 2008 at 7:17 pm

    Hopefully, Goose will get the game winning goal. Hopefully, Crunchy will use his laser death glare to keep the puck out of the net. Hopefully, Staffy ate some brains last night. Hopefully, Pommers will make lots of babies tonight

    The way these guys are playing lately, Goose will make a flock of babies tonight, Crunchy will score the game winning goal, Pommers will eat brains and Staffy will death glare us to victory. These guys are not so good at following their assigned roles.

  5. 6 Shari April 3, 2008 at 8:13 pm

    Least Favorite Sabre: ALES KOTALIK IS A DISGUSTING, FILTHY HOOKER….AND NOT THE GOOD KIND.

    And for some reason, I all of the sudden, find him incredibly sexy.

  6. 7 Shari April 3, 2008 at 8:41 pm

    And now….I find him to damn young for me. BUT, if I looked like Demi Moore?

  7. 8 Anne April 3, 2008 at 8:49 pm

    I enjoy that the Sabres have just said “screw it” and have started beating the snot out of each other.

    I’ve decided to enjoy a delicious chocolate peanut butter milkshake. Mmmmmmm.

  8. 9 Shari April 3, 2008 at 9:22 pm

    Aww Katebits, sweetheart, it’s o.k.. Let’s all get some Timbits tomarrow and head over to Kates in the morning. Ooops sorry, I can’t, have to go cash my LAST paycheck and go grocerie shopping. Anyway, thanks for the goal Ales. xoxoox!

  9. 10 Jennifer April 3, 2008 at 9:23 pm

    Anne – I hate you, well not really, but I have no chocolate peanut butter milkshake, no doughnuts, nothing to dull the ache in my head and the pain in my heart.

    The only positive is that the torture is over and they can start to concentrate on getting their crap together for next season.

    And in their final game of the season they should see just how many penalties they can get while beating the crap out of Boston. And they may as well take a few whacks at the officials, too!

  10. 11 Pookie April 3, 2008 at 9:30 pm

    Kate, you’ve written a lot of really sad posts here the last few months, but nothing was quite so heartbreaking as those four invisible donuts. When I got to the first picture I looked at it for quite some time thinking, “Well, at least Kate had donuts to make the pain go away.” Then I find out you didn’t have donuts at all.

    That sounds facetious, but really, I don’t even have the words anymore to tell you how much I wish the Hockey Gods had given you a better season.

  11. 12 SlugLuva April 3, 2008 at 9:34 pm

    Is it really over?
    Really?
    Are you sure?
    Can there be some mistake?
    No?
    Really?

    FUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUCKKKKKKKK!!!!!!!!

    I’ll be down the street waiting for the liquor store to open if anyone needs me.

  12. 13 Katebits April 3, 2008 at 9:35 pm

    When I got to the first picture I looked at it for quite some time thinking, “Well, at least Kate had donuts to make the pain go away.” Then I find out you didn’t have donuts at all.

    Hee. (Okay, that got a little giggle out of me. Thanks, Pookie.)

    Thanks Shari! Thanks to everyone who commetns here!

    I’m so sorry for all of us. This blows.

  13. 14 Sharpie April 3, 2008 at 9:35 pm

    Well, now we can focus on building for our 2008-2009 Stanley Cup run.

    If it makes you feel any better I don’t have any doughnuts either.

  14. 15 Schnookie April 3, 2008 at 9:36 pm

    Katebits, you deserved better this year. At the very least the Hockey Gods should have given you some donuts. That is NOT too much to ask.

    I’m so, so, so, so sorry, Sabres fans. This sucks.

  15. 16 SlugLuva April 3, 2008 at 9:40 pm

    Should we all meet at Dunkin or something?

    If you don’t reply in the next 2 minutes, I’ll be on my way to the aforementioned liquor store………..

  16. 17 Katebits April 3, 2008 at 9:42 pm

    Don’t do it, SlugLova. Or maybe do it. I don’t know.

  17. 18 Shari April 3, 2008 at 9:46 pm

    Let’s just go storm the palace and put Tom, Larry and Darcy out of our misery.

  18. 19 SlugLuva April 3, 2008 at 9:49 pm

    So I still am sitting here, aimlessly, listening to the music that comes on after the post game show is over and I have to say….I think they customize this shit for us Sabres fans. All depressing songs…..here’s the one that’s on right now. (I took the liberty of finding the lyrics…

    Matchbox 20
    Little Wonders

    Let it go
    Let it roll right off your shoulder
    Don’t you know
    The hardest part is over
    Let it in
    Let your clarity define you
    In the end
    We will only just remember how it feels

    Our lives are made
    In these small hours
    These little wonders
    These twists and turns of fate
    Time falls away,
    But these small hours
    These small hours
    Still remain

    Let it slide
    Let your troubles fall behind you
    Let it shine,
    Till you feel it all around you
    And I don’t mind
    If it’s me you need to turn to
    We’ll get by
    It’s the heart that really matters in the end

    Our lives are made
    In these small hours
    These little wonders
    These twists and turns of fate
    Time falls away
    But these small hours
    These small hours
    Still remain

    All of my regret
    Will wash away somehow
    But I cannot forget
    the way I feel right now

    UGH….I’m leaving now.

  19. 20 Heather B. April 3, 2008 at 9:56 pm

    Let’s just go storm the palace and put Tom, Larry and Darcy out of our misery.

    No, not Darcy! SAVE DARCY!

  20. 21 mcguffers April 3, 2008 at 10:17 pm

    My friend’s birthday is today, so I didn’t get to see the game because we were out. As soon as I got home I checked here (not the Sabres website) to see what happened. I’m truly heart broken. Those jerks almost made me believe. No screw almost. I honestly truly believed that they could pull this off. 3.9% chance and all. I have the game taped, but I don’t think I want to watch it for awhile. Like maybe two months.

  21. 22 Katebits April 3, 2008 at 10:41 pm

    Aww, mcguffers. I’m really sorry. You are lucky to have missed the game, but I’m sorry you got the bad news in one big wave. The game was pretty horrible. It was one of those frustrating ones where they looked alright….they just weren’t winning. There is no reason to watch it anytime soon (or ever).

  22. 23 Meg April 3, 2008 at 11:51 pm

    I agree with Kate, McGuffers . . . I would never, ever watch this game. I see no reason to watch heartbreaking TiVo’d losses.

  23. 24 Danielleia April 4, 2008 at 12:50 am

    No donuts? :(

  24. 25 Mags April 4, 2008 at 1:49 am

    Oh Kate. You made me cry. I’m so sorry.

  25. 26 Shari April 4, 2008 at 6:54 am

    Oh alright Heather, we’ll spare Darcy!

  26. 27 Amy April 4, 2008 at 7:59 am

    That shot of Stanley is just so sad. :(

  27. 28 Jaime April 4, 2008 at 8:23 am

    As much as I tried to convince myself that I was sooo over the Sabres/play-offs, I really wasn’t. And now I’m sad because there’s no reason to watch on Saturday, though I will anyways, and Kate had no donuts:(

    SlugLuva- that song just completely sums up how heavy my heart is right now.

  28. 29 jonhoepfinger April 4, 2008 at 8:30 am

    Kate, now you can enjoy all those spring nights, instead of watching Playoff hockey.

    And if that doesn’t make you feel better, just look at Crunchy in the shower cap.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

