In the Dumper

(Antoine, please turn away.)

The first major upset in the Battle of the Secondary Teams (for my heart) has occurred. I’ve had it with the Habs. What the HELL? They are the worst juggernaut EVER and I am totally over them. I didn’t see the game last night because I had a concert. It looked like it was a pretty exciting game, but honestly, the stupid Habs should have finished these Bruins off a week ago. What kind of powerhouse are these guys? NONE! They are NO kind of powerhouse.

It seems like the Habs are everyone’s default secondary team, and you know what? They have let us down.

Go Bruins!

24 Responses to “In the Dumper”


  1. 1 grrrreg April 20, 2008 at 11:15 am

    Oh please. If even you abandon us, we’re finished. Yesterday’s game was quite painful (and yet awfully exciting, I must say), and today is a very difficult sunday. But this might just be too much!

    A crushed (but somehow still believing) habs fan.

  2. 2 Heather B. April 20, 2008 at 11:24 am

    Go Bruins? GO BRUINS?! After you complained about the Wild being all gross and boring, you’re going to say GO BRUINS?!?!?! That is wrong on so many levels and I fully blame the Bruins for this series. They are disgusting and boring and gross and dull and trappy and dry and tiresome and ponderous and tedious and they are SUCKING OUT MY SOUL PIECE BY PIECE and why can’t they just GOOOOO AWAAAAAAAAY?!?!?! Go away, Bruins! Be gone!

  3. 3 Mags April 20, 2008 at 12:23 pm

    What Heather said. And Claude Julien will find a way to ruin them even more because that is what he does. BOOO BRUINS!

    Besides, poor baby Carey. How will he deal with you giving up on him like that?

  4. 4 Katebits April 20, 2008 at 12:37 pm

    Hee! (DISCLOSURE: I’m attempting to use reverse psychology on the stupid Habs. I don’t really want the Bruins to win. ;) I’m pissed at the Habs, but not THAT pissed.)

  5. 5 Katebits April 20, 2008 at 12:38 pm

    Oh, and Hi grrrreg! Thanks for commenting! (The Habs will pull it together, I’m sure of it.)

  6. 6 danielleia April 20, 2008 at 12:41 pm

    “I don’t really want the Bruins to win.”

    Oh good. I thought we were going to hold an intervention on you.

    Can we all just start bombarding Ryan Miller with random questions and see which ones he answers? That would be fun.

  7. 7 Katebits April 20, 2008 at 12:49 pm

    Or, maybe I’m using reverse psychology on all of you? :P The truth is that the Habs are being lame, and the Bruins are being a lot spunkier than I thought they were capable of being. I went from pinning all my hopes of Stanley Cup celebration on the Canadiens, to thinking it might be more fun to see the underdog win. Let’s face it, even if the Habs manage to get out of this round, they are going to get squashed by the Rangers. (Sorry, grrreg) This is where the root of my anger lies. THE HABS WERE SUPPOSED TO BE GOOD ENOUGH TO VANQUISH EVIL. If they are not going to be good enough to kill the Rangers, what good are they to me? Also, I’m pissed off that the Habs were good enough at the end of the regular season to CRUSH THE SPIRITS of the Sabres fans, but they apparently are NOT good enough to crush anyone else. (Aren’t I reasonable? :P)

  8. 8 Anne April 20, 2008 at 1:37 pm

    If anybody needs me, I’ll be over here patiently waiting for my #2 team to come back from their lengthy break between rounds after they SWEPT Ottawa! Woooo!

    But, for serious, Habs, why have you let Boston win 3 more games in the post season than you let them win in the regular season? I do not approve. Where was the running away with the Eastern Conference I predicted a couple months ago?! Someone better light a fire under these boys’ butts.

  9. 9 Amy April 20, 2008 at 1:43 pm

    I really would not want to be one of the Canadiens if they lose tomorrow night. It’s going to be ug-lay in Montreal if that happens.

    Regarding Crunchy’s blog, do people really think he’s going to use a Maxim blog to discuss his contract situation? That’s what 90% of the comment/questions are so far.

  10. 10 Katebits April 20, 2008 at 2:01 pm

    Amy I have been stunned by how many people have left comments about his contract on Crunchy’s blog. Is this what this poor guy has to deal with on a daily basis in Buffalo?

  11. 11 Erin April 20, 2008 at 2:43 pm

    Not sure how people expect Crunchy (can i say that i feel like i should be invited into the club before i call him Crunchy, if it’s too soon for me, let me know) to respond to the questions about the contract. Maybe he should publish any contract he would consider and let everyone make comments on it first. Maybe he should record conversations with his agent and with mangement and let the blogsphere analyze every word.

    I think it’s more fun to ask him fun hockey playing related questions (that he would actually answer).

    That is all.

  12. 12 Amy April 20, 2008 at 2:55 pm

    Is this what this poor guy has to deal with on a daily basis in Buffalo?

    If it is, I’m surprised he hasn’t run screaming from this town yet. Not that Buffalo’s a little obsessed or anything.

  13. 13 Heather B. April 20, 2008 at 3:15 pm

    Let’s face it, even if the Habs manage to get out of this round, they are going to get squashed by the Rangers.

    I disagree :P I think Montreal has a better chance of beating NY than Boston does at any rate.

  14. 14 grrrreg April 20, 2008 at 4:06 pm

    Well, the bruins cant’ face the rangers, they would face the pens first. And honestly, if they beat montreal monday, I see them completely falling apart in the next round. It looks like this series is their stanley cup finals. They just want to beat us so bad, but I’m not sure they’ll have anything left afterwards.
    And a habs/rangers matchup is not a certainty either. If the flyers beat the caps, then it would be habs/flyers.

    I still believe.

    On a side note did you see the awful goal Lidstom just scored on the poor preds? He shot from the red line…

  15. 15 Meg April 20, 2008 at 4:08 pm

    If the Flyers win then the Rangers play Pittsburgh, right? I think that they have the best chance of Rangers. And I agree that Montreal has a better chance against the Rangers than Boston. And I would really like to pretend the Bruins don’t exist for awhile because they are an assault on my ability to love hockey.

  16. 16 Heather B. April 20, 2008 at 4:33 pm

    And I would really like to pretend the Bruins don’t exist for awhile because they are an assault on my ability to love hockey.

    Yes! That is exactly how I feel, Meg. Thank God I’m not alone in this.

  17. 17 Katie April 20, 2008 at 4:58 pm

    Also, I’m pissed off that the Habs were good enough at the end of the regular season to CRUSH THE SPIRITS of the Sabres fans, but they apparently are NOT good enough to crush anyone else. (Aren’t I reasonable? :P)

    You are very reasonable, Katebits! I think this is the root of my anger with the Habs as well – I want Boston to feel the sadness we felt at their hands, but it’s jut not working!

    And I want the Bruins to stop looking so spunky and adorably happy when they win…it’s making me forget why I want Montreal =(

    And I must agree that most of the comments on Crunchy’s blog are ridiculous – and not in a good way. It makes me cringe to think he must assume that all Sabres fans are paranoid crazies (well…at least some of us are more subtle about it :P)

  18. 18 humminggiraffe April 20, 2008 at 5:46 pm

    Boston has stolen my cheering alliegance. I’m not sure what happened. Maybe it’s because they’re boring and remind me of the Canucks :p Or because like Katie says, they’re so dang adorable when they win. And Lucic has fought his way to a spot in my playoff hottie list. But I still love Carey Price and Montreal. Man. Playoffs are hard even when your own team isn’t in them.

  19. 19 elise April 20, 2008 at 8:41 pm

    KATE!!! Use any sort of psychology you like!

    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    p.s. i’d never watched a Bruins game ’til last week. overtime. sorry Montreal. I ate a good hamburger in your city once upon a time.

    p.p.s. are the Bruins really spunky? i love that.

    p.p.p.s Kate, reverse psychology or not, you wrote “Go Bruins!” on your blog.

  20. 20 Katie April 20, 2008 at 9:51 pm

    And Lucic has fought his way to a spot in my playoff hottie list.

    I have to agree, humminggriaffe, he is quite pretty!

    But so is Carey Price…This is so tough!!

    But one series I have no trouble deciding on is San Jose and Calgary – Go Flames!! That game made me so happy =)

  21. 21 mcguffers April 20, 2008 at 9:59 pm

    Kate, Kate, Kate *sadly shakes head* Can’t you see through the Habs’ ploy? First, they wanted this series to go as long as possible to get Saku back and give him a chance to test his skills before round 2. There’s NO POSSIBLE way the Canadians beat the Bruins in every reg season game only to blow it big time in the playoffs! Come on now! Secondly, Mike Komisarek is a camera whore and realized (after seeing the Versus schedule) only ONE of his games was being broadcasted on national tv! So in order to get maximum viewing, he had to make this series go longer than everyone else so he could steal their tv spots. Thirdly, they’re French Canadian. The French always have to create some drama. and Lastly, but certainly not leastly, the Habs had to have expected the inheritance of other teams fans that did not make the playoffs. How are we Sabre fans really supposed to connect with a team that EASILY wins games? Answer: we wouldn’t. We’d watch the playoffs and be like “Oh, yeah. We won. woot woot.” But now that we see this team is able to lose the really important games, we’re connected to them and it means more to us when they inevitably win.

    (This comment was posted after eating Breakaway Barrier. Proof that the stuff is laced with something happy!)

  22. 22 Amanda April 20, 2008 at 11:14 pm

    I too, am waiting for my secondary team to start playing again. I think Crosby and Malkin have been in their pods long enough (I swear they’re not human).

  23. 23 Katebits April 21, 2008 at 12:34 am

    Kate, Kate, Kate *sadly shakes head* Can’t you see through the Habs’ ploy?

    Huh. I never thought about it like that? But their ploy has backfired! I kind of HATE them now! They better be extra spunky tomorrow night. :P

    I think Crosby and Malkin have been in their pods long enough

    AAAAHAHAH!

    Go Flames! WOOOOOOO!!

    (Elise, if I have to pretend to love the bruins to get you into hockey, I’ll do it. If you are near a television tomorrow, you should watch the game. It’s game 7 of the series and NO ONE thought the Bruins had it in them to push it to 7. If they win it will be a MAAAAJOR upset. It will definitely be an intense game.)

  24. 24 Antoine April 21, 2008 at 9:23 pm

    Well, Habs did emotionally drain me in game 6. I got some calls from Montreal after the game and we talked about hw depressed we were and Monday everything would be over.
    I was ready to find a babysitter, go on a date (dinner-movie) with my wife and not watch the game ( DVR it in case of victory). But
    in the afternoon, somebody talked to me about the late years of the old Quebec Nordiques and the loyal fans still watching the game defeats after defeats.

    So we decided to stay and watch the game. Moral of the story: never let down your team! Habs did learn he hard way, Have some hearts to advance in the next round!


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

