Fun!

Last night I got my first taste of human flesh quadruple overtime, and I have to say, QUADRUPLE OVERTIME ROCKS. Last night’s game was an odd beast for me. I started out the evening bound and determined NOT to watch any hockey. I went out, ate some barbecue with friends, and reluctantly turned on the television when I got home at about 10:30. I started watching during the second intermission of regulation. Little did I know, there was still a full game and a half yet to be played.

At first I was too tense and stressed out about the prospect of the Sharks forcing a Game 7 to enjoy the overtime. (I’m not proud of it, but cheering against Soupy became my most desperate rooting interest this year. More than any other thing, I wanted to see Soupy eliminated.) But, as the OTs piled up, I became less and less invested in the outcome of the game, and more and more invested in the game itself. It was zany, desperate, wild, and exhilarating. Adding to the overall thrill of such a goofy long game, I knew I could sleep in this morning so I wasn’t at all concerned about the late hour. This might sound weird, but it started to remind me of the times I have stayed up late waiting for the results of a particularly compelling political election, only instead of annoying/depressing politics, it was WONDERFUL HOCKEY! It was somehow exciting beyond the normal scope of a hockey game. I was in it for the long haul, and there was NO WAY I was going to sleep before I knew the outcome. It was a delicious treat.

Thank you, Hockey Gods! Thank you for reminding me to love playoff hockey for playoff hockey’s sake AND for eliminating the Rangers and the Sharks ALL IN THE SAME BEAUTIFUL DAY!

8 Responses to “Fun!”


  1. 1 Steph May 5, 2008 at 3:14 pm

    I had the same plans Katebits! First I was like, ugh I don’t think I can sit through any more VS announcing. And then it was TSN so I was like all right, I’ll leave it on in the background, because I had a vested interest in seeing who we were going to play next round. But then I kept getting lured back to the TV and the game was GOOD! And then it kept GOING! And it STAYED GOOD! And, since I really didn’t have a preference on who I’d rather play this round, I didn’t even have to worry about that, I just got to watch awesome hockey!

  2. 2 Katebits May 5, 2008 at 7:45 pm

    Steph, I don’t know about you, but I think the game was actually more fun because it had to win me over first. I guess hockey likes it when I play hard to get. :D

  3. 3 Patty (in Dallas) May 5, 2008 at 7:50 pm

    SQUEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!! It’s even more fun to have your team in the game, as long as they win!

  4. 4 Steph May 6, 2008 at 2:39 am

    That’s so true! It wouldn’t have been nearly as exciting if I’d expected it to be so good from the beginning. But since I didn’t, it was like a bonus :D An awesome bonus!

  5. 5 Schnookie May 6, 2008 at 9:11 am

    but I think the game was actually more fun because it had to win me over first.

    That’s so true, Katebits! I think I was a bit more into it to start out with than you and Steph were, but man was that some quality hockey late in the game! And the OTs just kept getting better. I really can’t understand how someone could watch that and think, “Huh. There’s a problem here that needs solving. How about we go to 4-on-4, or better yet, a shootout!” That game was just beyond awesome!

  6. 6 jonhoepfinger May 6, 2008 at 12:16 pm

    I hope went out and ate with friends wasn’t code for having a date with Blobby. Kate hes no good and you just have to cut ties.

  7. 7 alixlovesmatty May 6, 2008 at 4:11 pm

    I want another one! Hopefully the Pens/Flyers go crazy with the OT.

  8. 8 Valerie May 6, 2008 at 6:45 pm

    Yay! The Sabres signed Gerbe today!!!


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

