Gerbe and Schutz

So, we signed a couple of prospects this week. First there was Nathan Gerbe, and then Felix Schutz. These signings were particularly hilarious because Bucky Gleason had just finished being all, “The Sabres are screwing it all up AGAIN. No one EVER wants to play here because the Sabres are cheap, and slow, and impossible to negotiate with,” when Darcy came out and was all, “We signed some dudes.

Until these boys are shopping at my local Wegman’s I probably won’t bother to learn too much about them, but people are pretty excited about Nathan Gerbe, so I thought I’d find a picture of him at least.

Get this. Here is a picture of Nathan Gerbe standing next to Kevin Sylvester:

Unless Kevin Sylvester is a giant, Nathan Gerbe is itty-bitty.

According to the Sabres website, Gerbe is 5’6″. Hm. I’m not quite buying it. But no matter! As Darcy said, “It’s not the size of the dog in the fight, it’s the size of the fight in the dog.” Hopefully, Gerbe won’t have to do too much fighting for the Sabres, anyway.

The other kid’s name is Schutz, which is awesomely pronounced “Shootz”. His name alone is good enough for me. Slap a slug on him, and toss him on the ice, I say!

Welcome to Buffalo, new guys!


12 Responses to “Gerbe and Schutz”


  1. 1 Heather B. May 7, 2008 at 11:44 pm

    Mark and I watched this interview tonight and we were also laughing at how Kevin dwarfs him. Darcy does too and I don’t think of either guy as being that big.

    During the Frozen Four they kept referring to him as 5’5″ so he’s already getting taller!

  2. 2 JBo May 8, 2008 at 12:12 am

    I’m literally LOL-ing at the imagine of Darcy just saying “We signed some dudes”. HAHAHA.

  3. 3 Meg May 8, 2008 at 1:20 am

    Darcy does too and I don’t think of either guy as being that big.

    According to hockeydb.com Darcy if 5’11″ so yeah, if he’s towering over someone it means they are pretty small.

  4. 4 Chaz May 8, 2008 at 7:18 am

    “Slap a slug on him, and toss him on the ice, I say!”

    I must be really tired, because this line is beyond hysterical to me. I laughed so hard my oatmeal came out my nose. I HIGHLY suggest not trying that at home or the office, whatever the case maybe.

  5. 5 Katebits May 8, 2008 at 8:17 am

    Oatmeal out your nose?! Yes! (Sorry about any pain or discomfort that may have caused, Chaz. :P)

  6. 6 Chaz May 8, 2008 at 8:29 am

    Yup, oatmeal. I accidentally made it a “little runny” (read: pay attention to making breakfast instead of the office gossip because you’ll end up with soup instead of oatmeal) this morning, thus exponentially increasing its probability of being accidentally (or intentionally, if you’re a sadist,) used as a projectile. After a brief trip to Rite Aid, my nose feels much better. I think I’ve hit my quota of “learning something new” for one day.

  7. 7 danielleia May 8, 2008 at 9:16 am

    Gerbe said himself he was 5’5. I’M 5’5! That’s hilarious to me. Gerbs and Schutzy don’t even need nicknames their names are so cool.

    Oh, Chaz, that’s nasty. I’m glad it feels better. Ha.

  8. 8 jonhoepfinger May 8, 2008 at 11:05 am

    Oh no, I heard a rumor you must be as tall as the handle on the Logo, to enter the locker room.

  9. 9 Valerie May 8, 2008 at 1:52 pm

    I think he must be 5’6 with skates and 5’5 without them. That’s so tiny! Finally 1 of them is only a few inches taller than me!

  10. 10 Shari May 8, 2008 at 1:58 pm

    Darcy, 5’11? No way! He’s maybe an inch taller than Grrrrbe.
    Accually, 5’11 makes Darcy kinda tall. Darcey tall? Snoop Dog on One Life to Live? Now I’ve seen everything!

  11. 11 danielleia May 8, 2008 at 4:10 pm

    Yeah, Valerie!! Do they record their heights by with skate or without skate, I wonder? I didn’t think of that.

    And is Kevin Sylvester wearing two different shirts in both those videos? haha What?

  12. 12 Valerie May 8, 2008 at 6:47 pm

    They actually record them with skates, and sometimes it seems like they overestimate a little to make guys look bigger.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

