Ryan Miller, Blogging Extraordinaire, Part III

Let’s face it, Crunchy’s blog got a little boring there for awhile. It was all, “Blah blah playoff analysis, blah blah blah goalie pads, blah blah hockey blah blah.” He refuses to talk smack, and I have yet to read a single tell-all tale about a Sabre gone wild. It’s almost as if doesn’t want us to know all of his personal business, or something. I did, however, get a kick out of his response to the fabulous Maal’s question about the possibility of the Sabres signing Crunchy’s BFF, John Michael-Liles this summer. (Liles is a defenseman, currently on the Avs, but he will be a free agent soon.)

John Michael is free to do as he pleases come July 1, and he would fit in great where we once had Brian Campbell. JM is a great skater and power play guy, just like Brian. We will see. John is in a great position to make a decision for himself and he has earned that right. We will have to wait to see how it plays out. A new coach in Colorado is a factor now.

Is it just me, or is Crunchy publicly advocating that the Sabres try to get his BFF in free agency? I love it! Sadly, I kind of doubt that Darcy Regier reads Maxim. It’s too bad, because signing Liles seems like a legitimately good idea to me. The Sabres kind of need some better defense, and they REALLY need to keep Ryan Miller happy. Not only would this keep him happy, but it would also, in effect, trap him here. Imagine if Ryan convinces Liles to sign in Buffalo, and then leaves. You can’t leave your BFF marooned in Buffalo alone! It’s just not done. If the Sabres signed Liles, Crunchy would HAVE to re-sign, or risk seriously pissing off his BFF.

I would KILL to have either of my BFFs, Courtney or Ashley, living in Buffalo. In fact, I would happily take a discount on my own salary to make it happen, especially if my salary was in the millions of dollars. I mean, how many millions of dollars do you really need when you have your BFF nearby?

Aww, now I miss Ashley and Courtney.

7 Responses to “Ryan Miller, Blogging Extraordinaire, Part III”


  1. 1 Heather B. May 30, 2008 at 12:22 am

    This is totally off-topic but since Sam and I were discussing this the other day I thought I’d share:

    Overnight ratings from Game Three:

    1. Pittsburgh, 33.1/47
    2. Detroit, 18.2/28
    3. Buffalo, 6.2/9
    4. Columbus, 4.1/7
    5. Minneapolis, 3.7/7

    So Buffalo and Minny do indeed both rock. And I’m not sure if this includes ratings for people (like me) who watched CBC’s coverage instead of NBC’s.

  2. 2 Jonathan May 30, 2008 at 12:27 am

    I’d rather they spend the money on Orpik. But thats me. I’d be ok with John Michael Liles. Wait is he a hockey player or a country music star?

  3. 3 Lisa May 30, 2008 at 6:42 am

    Now watch Darcy read that and think ‘why yes, Brian Campbell WOULD be an excellent addition to the club!’

    oy.

    But for what it’s worth, I’d love to have Liles in Buffalo. Watching him at Michigan State (with BFF Crunchy), I don’t think he’s reached his potential yet – and that’s not meant to be a bad thing against him. A lot of people in Colorado are saying that as a negative – mine is a c’mon kiddo, you can do it positive spin.

    At least that’s my story.

  4. 4 Jennifer May 30, 2008 at 7:37 am

    OK, I agree Liles would be a great incentive for Crunchy to stay in Buffalo, like he needs a reason. I mean, hey, it’s the Buffalo Sabres with the BEST of the best fans in the world, who wouldn’t want to play for them forever.

    But Orpik would also be a great choice, especially if he can pull off more of those multiple “pinball” hits.

    My main concern is WHEN WILL THEY GO AHEAD AND SIGN GOOSE TO HIS MULTI-BILLION DOLLAR, 50 YEAR CONTRACT? Come of Darcy, what’s the holdup?

  5. 5 Amy May 30, 2008 at 8:55 am

    Sadly, I kind of doubt that Darcy Regier reads Maxim.

    I would be willing to bet that Darcy is checking out the blog. He could be using it to gauge Crunchy’s temperature about staying in Buffalo, whether Crunchy’s up to any wild and crazy antics, etc.

    And I’m not sure if this includes ratings for people (like me) who watched CBC’s coverage instead of NBC’s.

    I don’t think those ratings include the CBC folk. From what I remember reading in the Snooze last year, CBC ratings were reported separately and rarely got above a 1.0 rating.

  6. 6 Katebits May 30, 2008 at 3:11 pm

    I bet you are right, Amy, and Darcy does read Maxim. That’s part of why Crunchy’s dry candor is so hilarious. :D

  7. 7 JBo May 30, 2008 at 9:21 pm

    Hey, Kate! Crunchy answered one of my questions, too! I’m the one who asked about the little twirl he does when he gets off the ice. He used my intials, JB, even though I did write out my full name.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

