3 Things Having Nothing To Do With Hockey

1. I finally made it past the hard level of “Before I Forget” by Slipknot on Guitar Hero. This accomplishment represents a lot of hard work and dedication, and I would like to thank everyone who patiently stood by me as I attempted to fufill my dream of “You Rock”ing. It hasn’t been easy, but we did it. Hopefully, I will never hear that song again.

2. I just saw the Sex and the City movie and this will contain some SPOILERS. Now, I loved the show. Yeah, it’s silly and frothy and not really based in reality, but I thought it was frequently funny, and every once in awhile, even I, a crusty old spinster with a heart of cold steel, had to admit, “I’ve been there, sister. Well, not THERE (in those dumb shoes and making that annoying cutesy squeally noise), but I’ve totally been in the vicinity of that relationship problem.” So there I was, cruising along, loving the movie for a solid two hours, when all of a sudden it took a turn for the hideous. Young people of TWC, please listen to me. If someone leaves you at the alter after years of on-again off-again turmoil, you should NOT go to Mexico, dye your hair, and then get back together with him one year later. You should go to Mexico, dye your hair, and then one year later realize that while it was horrible at the time, you are ultimately grateful for the fact that you did not wind up married to a total tool. M’kay? Then, on your way out of the movie theater, you should make a mental note of when the Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants 2 is coming out, because you KNOW those sassy girls are going to go on a journey of self discovery where they do NOT wind up married to a bunch of tools. Those pants won’t steer a girl wrong. You can take that to the bank.

3. It’s too hot, yo.

9 Responses to “3 Things Having Nothing To Do With Hockey”


  1. 1 karen June 9, 2008 at 11:44 pm

    Having been a child bride (it’s the only possible explanation for all the anniversaries my husband claims we have racked up), I can’t claim to have touched spinsterhood however in my dating (toddler) years, I did earn some experience that has made it possible for me to relate to the odd Sex and the City episode. I find myself unable to take the show seriously, however, as Carrie owns more Manolos than most shops who sell Manolos are able to inventory at once. This pesky, financially impossible detail keeps me from full suspension of disbelief and prevents my complete enjoyment of the show. I can’t say this has prevented me from seeing the movie, but you’re the third person who’s violently disliked the ending…so it’s getting more and more unlikely that I’ll go.

  2. 2 Katebits June 10, 2008 at 2:08 am

    Well, no, one mustn’t take Sex and the City seriously. :D The thing that was so weird is that I really enjoyed the majority of the movie. The ending felt totally removed from the rest of the story. I wonder if there is an alternate ending on the cutting room floor where she just…..got over Big. I wish they had gone with that one.

  3. 3 Heather B. June 10, 2008 at 7:11 am

    I hate Sex and the City (as you well know) but I’ve heard a ton of people complain about the end interesting.

    I am, however, ALL OVER Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants 2. Seriously.

  4. 4 Erin June 10, 2008 at 8:16 am

    Best part about the Sex and the City movie was the stuff about the women’s friendships. It was nice to see complicated but touching relationships between women who really care for each other. As far as I’m concerned the ‘Sex’ in the City was always a distraction from the real story about friends and their unconditional love. The scenes after the horrific left at the altar junk were the best part of the movie.

  5. 5 Jaime June 10, 2008 at 9:07 am

    Best part about the Sex and the City movie was the stuff about the women’s friendships

    I went to see the movie on opening night with my 7 best friends and then went out for cosmos after (I know how cliche). But the best parts were when the friends were supporting each other! I would get a little teary thinking that that is exactly how my friends and I react to each other during times of crisis.

    As for the Sisterhood, my friend Steph and I are going to go opening night and we have starting our own version of the “pants”. We bought a little black purse and every time we go on vacation we take it with us. Then snap a pick with the purse wherever we are. Most recent, her Daytona me D.C. Then we print pictures and put in photo albums! Very fun and gives us some really terrific memories!

  6. 6 Shari June 10, 2008 at 9:23 am

    I watched all the HBO shows, Sex and the City, Deadwood (whatever happen to that show?) and I loved The Sopranos. However, I have no desire to see Sex and the City – the movie. It’s like jumping the shark. I’ll wait for the DVD.
    I was accually watching a repeat of Carrie and the girls the other night and I was wondering, just how many men have these girls slept with anyway? You’d think they would have contracted some STD by now! I mean, just about every show, one of them is in bed with new guy who they’ve fallen for but then, they don’t want they don’t want the guy! But after all, it is just an idiot box.
    Jamime, I love the purse story! Looking forward to that movie 2!

  7. 7 Shari June 10, 2008 at 9:26 am

    They don’t want they don’t want the guy….
    My new song. I’m gonna make MILLIONS off it!

  8. 8 Schnookie June 10, 2008 at 9:40 am

    Congrats on being such a GH stud, Katebits!

    I have seen probably 1/4 of all the SATC episodes (well, actually, it seems like I’ve seen ALL of them for the way the repeats I catch are always the same ones), so I can’t speak as an authority on the series, but I just never understood Big. He seemed like an ass.

    And that’s my story.

    Shari, now I’m going to be even less able to watch the show without wondering, like I do about James Bond, how extensive the courses of treatment are for the 107 venereal diseases they all have. ;)

  9. 9 Lynn June 10, 2008 at 4:30 pm

    Shari – I know at least Miranda got chlamydia (sp?). It was a hysterical episode where she was writing a list of all of her sexual partners and contacting them to tell them to get tested.

    Karen – they also did an episode about how Carrie was poor because of all of her shoes. they did the math. it was riveting.

    bottom line, i feel like sex and the city had tried to put some reality into an episode here and there which i always appreciated. last point: i f—ing loved the movie. i went with my best girl friends and we had the same teary reactions just hoping that we’ll be friends when we’re 50 like the SATC ladies! Jamie is totally right: it’s about the friendships, not the guys.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

