Guitar Hero Is Never Not Funny

Right now, my orchestra is presenting the 2008 JoAnn Falletta International Guitar Concerto Competition. It’s quite a production. Ten Semi-Finalists were chosen from around the world to come to Buffalo, and after a round of competition, the field was narrowed to three. The three finalists will perform their concertos tomorrow night with the BPO, after which a winner will be crowned. This is the third time I’ve participated in the event (we have it every two years), and I’ve really come to look forward to the drama of a live competition.

Janz and I have been joking about starting a International Guitar Hero Competition for quite some time. For some reason, Guitar Hero is never not funny to us. The joke took on a life of its own this afternoon, when Janz officially entered the field of competition.

Here is his story:

Warming up

Janz nervously warms up backstage

Janz and JoAnn

Janz discusses his tempos with JoAnn before the rehearsal

Janz GH

Janz fulfills his dream of being an International Guitar Hero with a Symphony Orchestra.

Special thanks to JoAnn Falletta who was a great sport about our goofy scheming this afternoon. She didn’t bat an eyelash when Janz and I knocked on her dressing room door holding a plastic guitar.

4 Responses to “Guitar Hero Is Never Not Funny”


  1. 1 Glenn June 13, 2008 at 1:21 pm

    EFFING GENIUS!!!!!!!!!

  2. 2 tots June 15, 2008 at 7:24 pm

    Janz, I love you and you are my guitar hero. Can I start a Facebook club about you?

  3. 3 Katebits June 15, 2008 at 9:36 pm

    tots, allow me to accept your offer to start a Facebook Club on Janz’ behalf. He signed over power of attorney to me years ago. I’m pretty sure this is exactly the kind of hard hitting legal decision that he prefers I make for him. :D

  4. 4 Janz June 17, 2008 at 9:25 am

    Sorry for the late reply, I have been on a publicity tour following the competition. First off, I would like to thank the judges, the sponsors and the event coordinators for a wonderful event. Without them this competition would not be possible. Tots, thank you for your kind words. As Katebits pointed out, I try to stick to the artistic issues of my Guitar Hero career, she handles all the legal/managerial gobbledygook, though I do have to ask her where all the prize money has gone. She better not give me that “I’m in New Hampshire” crap she pulled last year!


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

