Approaching the Draft

Until the Sabres start drafting fully formed, NHL caliber, 30-year-old, single-and-searching-for-a-foxy-violist, hockey players, I doubt I’ll ever care too much about the draft. Yes, I know that even my most beloved current Sabres were once just wee little draft picks, and I know that someday a few of the zitty teenagers Darcy picks this weekend could blossom into my next Favorite Sabre, but, I dunno, try as I may, I can’t get too worked up over draft day. Caring about, and judging the draft requires patience, and I’m an “instant gratification” kind of gal. I don’t want to wait around for these little dudes to grow up. In a few years when these guys become Sabres I’ll give them my full attention, but for now, I’m going to treat them the way I treat my stash of extra batteries. I know they are there, and someday they might be asked to power my Guitar Hero guitar or one of the other devices I require for daily survival, but for now they just live in the “random junk” drawer, out of sight and out of mind.

That said, I know this is an important weekend. Choose wisely, Darcy Regier.

7 Responses to “Approaching the Draft”


  1. 1 blitzen June 19, 2008 at 12:50 pm

    With the draft being held in Ottawa this year, I am really into it and plan to attend round 1 at least (already have my tickets and have notified the spousal unit of our plans). It will be fun to boo Bettman, see all the action, take a few pics and see how our own Ottawa 67s draft prospects (Cuma and Demers) fare. There’s a buzz in the city and it’s fun to be around it right now. Oh, and I’m also interested in the Ottawa picks and draft floor trades that will likely happen. June 20th and we are still living hockey. now that’s something to wooooooooo about!

  2. 2 Chaz June 19, 2008 at 3:26 pm

    awww, Kate you miss the best part of the draft. Ya know where they stand there and say: “Before our next pick, we would like to announce, XYZ Team has traded John Doe to the ABC team for John Doe Jr, a bag of tape, two goalie pads, an empty water bottle and gently used rubber matting for the visitors halfway at the arena.” Then I get to scream for the next 10 minutes about them trading my favorite player for a bag of tape and not much else. Of course then shock sets in that your favorite player is most likely on a team that sucks. See the draft really could be fun.

  3. 3 danielleia June 19, 2008 at 4:10 pm

    My mother doesn’t care about draft picks either. Lucky for me, my dad has a man crush on Kaleta and Gerbe :P

  4. 4 Katebits June 19, 2008 at 4:54 pm

    blitzen, a big part of my resistance to the draft is that I can’t be there in person. The Ookies, Heather B, Patty in Dallas, alix, and now I come to find out, YOU, are all there, and because of my schedule, I couldn’t go. I’m bummed. I’m dealing by pretending I don’t care about the draft. :)

    Chaz, you make a VERY good point about potential trades. I am waiting with bated breath on Maxim Afinogenov. I don’t want him traded for a bag of pucks, though.

    daniellia, I’m with your mom!

  5. 5 Schnookie June 20, 2008 at 12:29 am

    blitzen, a big part of my resistance to the draft is that I can’t be there in person.

    Awwww! My least favorite thing about the draft this year is that you’re not here! :(

    That said, I’m kind of horrified that I am here. I’ve had a hard-and-fast rule of apathy toward the draft since I’ve been a fan. I don’t follow junior hockey, only vaguely follow college hockey, and feel like European leagues might as well be played on the moon. I haven’t heard of any of these kids, and it’s going to be years before any of them really matter to me, especially considering the Devils’ recent track record. BO-RING! In protest of the whole thing, I’ll try to yawn theatrically during all the parts we attend, loudly enough that I can be heard on TV. That should be very effective, no? :P

  6. 6 Laura June 20, 2008 at 6:24 pm

    Chaz, you made draft week in my house tolerable. Thank you, thank you and thank you.

  7. 7 Chaz June 20, 2008 at 7:56 pm

    Did I mention my favorite player is Tanguay, team XYZ is Calgary and ABC is Montreal? I’ve just now finished screaming. Now onto the good god, Sabres hate Montreal. Greeeaaatttt


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

