Breaking Up is Hard to Do

Every day that I wake up in the woods of New Hampshire, I scurry through the forest and up to the area of campus with internet access to see if Max is still a Sabre. Afinogenov is, without question, our best bargaining chip and most attractive trade bait. I feel the time to blog about him is now, just in case he’s shipped off by the end of the weekend.

Max is my ex-Favorite Sabre. I chose him as my favorite last summer, and while it was a totally uninformed decision at the time, it was not made without sentimentality. Max Afinogenov, when he is on, is seriously my favorite player in the league. I love how wildly off-kilter he seems, and how nervous he appears to make the other team. At his best, Max is like one of those greased-up pigs everyone is always trying to catch at the County Fair. He’s not graceful, but he’s pretty hard to contain. I also think there is something really fun about having a totally unique player on our team. Max is one of a kind.

Unfortunately, I’m getting a very strong “If you love someone, set him free” vibe from Max right now. It’s no fun when a relationship gets to this point. Everyone is basically content, but no one is too thrilled. Everything is still civil, but things are teetering dangerously towards resentment. Because of the draft, both parties are stealing covert peeks at the attractive alternatives and thinking, “Can I do better?”

This relationship may have run its course. It’s okay. It’s no ones fault. Sometimes these things just happen.

Personally, I think we all have to move on. I don’t particularly like it, but I think trading Max is the best way to snag an extra draft pick, and announce the arrival of the new era of the Sabres. The new Sabres motto? “Stop Constantly Putting Everyone Offside, Or We’ll Trade Your Ass For The Rights To An Unproven Teenager.” Max has been around for a long time, through some good times, but it’s time to turn the page, stop dwelling on potential. It’s time to start embracing reality, and planning for the future. It’s for the best.

Do it, Darcy.

5 Responses to “Breaking Up is Hard to Do”


  1. 1 Jaime June 20, 2008 at 4:49 pm

    I saw Max in his very first NHL game as a Sabre and was so impressed by him. But over the years he has just become too inconsistent. I feel about him like I felt about Brian Campbell in February. Just go away, I don’t like you or hate you. I nothing you.

  2. 2 Becky June 20, 2008 at 5:34 pm

    I keep hanging on, hoping for one more relevant year out of my jersey.

    THIS is the year he gets it together…maybe.

    But if/when he goes, I hope it’s for more than a lousy draft pick.

  3. 3 m(no more hope for Lord Stanley)om June 23, 2008 at 4:34 pm

    I was 99% positive that Darcy was making a deal to get rid of Max during the entry draft. Well, maybe he’ll be gone by the middle of July. We can only hope.


  1. 1 Don’t miss it. « Life is like a bowl of porkchops… Trackback on June 22, 2008 at 6:41 pm
  2. 2 Buffalo Sabres 08-09 Season Preview « First Time Caller, Long Time Listener Trackback on October 10, 2008 at 12:18 am

Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

