Hey, We Drafted a Giant!

Well, hot damn! About the only thing that could have sparked any genuine interest in the draft from me was if the Sabres drafted someone either freakishly tall or freakishly good at the viola. Guess what? We drafted a giant! Hooray!

My Giant

I’m going to teach him to play the viola.

20 Responses to “Hey, We Drafted a Giant!”


  1. 1 Heather B. June 21, 2008 at 1:12 am

    Kate, the giant is intriguing but the draft was TERRIBLE. SO BORING. COMPLETELY UNBEARABLE. You are SO LUCKY you’re a Bathole Camp right now. Totally.

  2. 2 Heather B. June 21, 2008 at 1:13 am

    (That said, I think we should make a trip to NU for prospect camp just to see Tyler Myers skate with Nathan Gerbe. It’ll be like a skating comedy troupe.)

  3. 3 Destiny June 21, 2008 at 2:08 am

    Seeing the year he was born makes me feel OLD.

    But I was like “yeah!” when I saw his favorite book is Harry Potter.

  4. 4 Dan (in Lake View) June 21, 2008 at 2:37 am

    Not so much a giant in my world….A mere inch!!

  5. 5 Katebits June 21, 2008 at 8:06 am

    Hi, Heather! I don’t believe you. The draft is the best thing ever, isn’t it? Sigh.

    Destiny, I had the same reaction to seeing our giant’s birthday. Wait? Current 18-year-olds were born in 1990!! AHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!

    Dan, I think 6’6″ is the cut off between “very tall” and “freakishly tall”. :D

  6. 6 blitzen June 21, 2008 at 11:46 am

    No, really, the draft was boring in the sense that it took FOREVER for anything to get done. Was fun to respond to the trade news, watch some of the action on the floor (we saw some of the deals go down even though we didn’t know what the deal really was) and we got to boo anything Toronto lustily and loudly. It was a great reception for The Great One. And for our Captain. I will send you some pictures when I get a chance to get organized. Must go golfing now with the spousal unit as payment for his enduring most of the draft last night (we didn’t make it to the end).

  7. 7 Kathee June 21, 2008 at 6:54 pm

    Technically, these “boys” could have been one of my children. NOW I feel old, and kind of ashamed of myself for lusting after anyone born after 1980. :)

  8. 8 Shari June 22, 2008 at 12:23 am

    I went to the arena for the draft party. We walked through the locker room and took lots of pictures of roped off Sabre stalls (Like they’re horses or something). I only saw two Sabres, Funk and Kennedy. Kennedy looks like he’s about 12. Seriously. The line was a couple miles long so we wathched the draft instead (boring) and my son bought a used Sabre stick for 70 bucks. His money, not mine.
    My son also plays at NU so maybe we’ll run into a couple Sabres!

  9. 9 Glenn June 22, 2008 at 7:07 am

    Oh man….Gerbs and the Giant skating together is such a fun visual….

  10. 10 blitzen June 22, 2008 at 2:44 pm

    Our Tyler Cuma (D-Ottawa 67s) was drafted first round by the Minnesota Wild. Would any of you Wild fans (what a great thing to be – a wild fan) or Minnesotan be interested in writing a guest blog for my Ottawa 67s fan blog to let Tyler know what he might expect as a prospect, a team member and hopefully for him a citizen?

  11. 11 CrotchetyOriginalSam June 22, 2008 at 6:26 pm

    I’d be happy to, Blitzen. Not a hockey blogger myself, but I do come with a Katebits stamp of approval. (She’s sitting next to me in New Hampshire as I type this.) Just drop me a line at samwise [at] urtext.org and let me know where to send it…

    (Very excited about Cuma, especially if he fills out a bit in the next few years…)

  12. 12 Katebits June 22, 2008 at 6:43 pm

    Sam does get the TWC stamp of approval. It’s true. Just don’t ask him to investigate the weird burrowing creature in the path to your bat shack. He won’t do it.

  13. 13 blitzen June 22, 2008 at 7:50 pm

    kewl – contact will be made. many thanks. the TWC stamp of approval seals the seal!

  14. 14 blitzen June 22, 2008 at 7:52 pm

    i mean seals the deal! (am sitting in my bazego on my deck in the rain after consuming my share of the wine. fingers have their own idea of what to key. sorry)

  15. 15 Pookie June 22, 2008 at 8:12 pm

    Sam won’t investigate weird burrowing animals in bathole shack country?! What gives, Sam? What gives?

  16. 16 CrotchetyOriginalSam June 22, 2008 at 10:38 pm

    Oh, WHATever. It was obviously a small mole or groundhog or some such who was burrowing a bit close to the surface, probably because of all the tree roots on that path. I didn’t feel like terrifying it half to death. And besides, I was rushing to take some friends into town, and the burrowing was hardly keeping her majesty from her batcave…

  17. 17 Schnookie June 23, 2008 at 12:49 am

    and the burrowing was hardly keeping her majesty from her batcave…

    Sam, I’m horrified. I was under the impression that Her Majesty expected to never have to cross paths with mysterious burrowing creatures. Before I was allowed to be friends with her, I had to vow to always clear the way before her of burrowers. Did you not have to do that?

  18. 18 Pookie June 23, 2008 at 12:49 am

    One man’s small mole is another man’s giant, bloodsucking mole-monster.

  19. 19 Katebits June 23, 2008 at 7:47 am

    Ignoring a burrowing creature is in TERRIBLE violation of the contract you all signed when I agreed to be your friend. You’ll be hearing from my henchmen, Sam.

  20. 20 Schnookie June 23, 2008 at 10:22 am

    You’ll be hearing from my henchmen, Sam.

    :^:::::::::::::::::::::::::

    I’ve been inspired by the Sabres and plan to draft a giant at the upcoming Henchman Entry Draft, by the way. In case you were wondering.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

