Back to Biznatch

1. I can’t buh-LIEVE that tomorrow is free agency. Last year at this time we were in full blown hysteria. Like, SUPER cranky, swirly-eyed, rocking back and forth while muttering incoherently, H-Y-S-T-E-R-I-A. Ah, the good old days.

2. Crunchy’s BFF, John Michael Liles re-signed in Colorado. Bummer. I wanted him for the Sabres.

3. Tampa Bay is gobbling up the negotiating rights to everyone and their mother. WWGRD? Sign in Tampa.

4. Max is still a Sabre. What the hell? Don’t we have, like, forty-five million forwards? My only consolation is that ever since my friend Nathan planted the seed of a new superstition, I’ve become convinced that it’s bad luck not to have a Russian on an NHL team. With Gentle Kalinin on his merry droopy way, Max is the only Russian we’ve got left.

5. I’m not sure where this information originated, but I keep reading online that Goose and Crunchy are vacationing together in Europe. I hope they are backpacking and keeping detailed journals full of poetry and love letters to the college girls they met on the train. It’s life experiences like this that turn boys into men. I hope they both “find themselves” in Europe, and after they do, I hope they come back to Buffalo and sign new contracts with the Sabres. I bet if Drury and Briere had gone backpacking through Europe together last June, they would’ve come home with matching “5 for 25″ tattoos and they’d still be Sabres now.

6. Brian Campbell is still Brian Campbell. I’m so glad we traded him so we don’t have to care about his current emotional drama regarding his upcoming free agency. I’m actually a fairly sensitive gal myself. I’m willing to bet I would get all tied-up in emotional knots about free agency too if I were in Soupy’s place, but duuuude, I really really really do NOT think I would have the cojones to whine about my “predicament” in public. I can’t wait to see where he ends up tomorrow, though. After all of this build-up about money and wanting to be close to his family, I’ll be pretty disappointed if the contract is at all reasonable. I kind of secretly want Soupy to sign a 3-year $83 million dollar contract in the Russian Super Duper League, or something. Then, I want to giggle when he cries in public about how hard it was for him to make the decision to move to Minsk.

7. Last year, on July 1st, I sat on the couch literally all day listening to WGR and hitting refresh over and over on my computer while hanging out at IPB. I had one of those evenings where I suddenly realized I was sitting in a pitch dark room because the sun had set on the day without me noticing. I do not anticipate that level of participation in free agency ’08.

12 Responses to “Back to Biznatch”


  1. 1 Heather B. June 30, 2008 at 12:06 pm

    Seriously, only Brian Campbell could turn “Which multi-million dollar contract am I going to sign?” into a “Woe is me, my life is so hard” tale. Dude. Shut your yap. If we somehow end up with him back in a Sabres uni I’m going to cry.

    I believe that Goose mentioned the trip on WGR. So adorable, those two.

  2. 2 Schnookie June 30, 2008 at 12:18 pm

    Wait, you’re not planning on spending every minute of the day tomorrow consoling me about Pando, as the sun goes down and you don’t even realize you haven’t moved off your couch even once? YOU OWE ME AFTER I SPENT EVERY MINUTE OF LAST JULY 1 CONSOLING YOU! :P (Dude, I have NO IDEA why I’m not taking a vacation day tomorrow. I anticipate actual tears being shed. While I’m at work. It’s going to be an ugly scene.)

  3. 3 Katebits June 30, 2008 at 12:39 pm

    You kind of DID spend every minute consoling me last July 1st, Schnookie. I’m so sorry that Pando isn’t signed yet. I find it impossible to believe that he’s not still going to sign. He’s a True Devil! He’s married to a Jersey girl! I still think Lou is just being dramatic and top secret for no reason other than sport.

  4. 4 Schnookie June 30, 2008 at 12:57 pm

    I still think Lou is just being dramatic and top secret for no reason other than sport.

    Hee! Sadly, I don’t think Lou does ANYTHING just for sport. That would suggest he has fun. No, I think he’s doing this just because he wants me to die from sadness.

  5. 5 Shari June 30, 2008 at 2:00 pm

    Went to NU Saturday to watch the new boys. Mike Webber is so much better looking in person. I can’t stop saying this people. I just…never noticed!

  6. 6 JB June 30, 2008 at 2:03 pm

    According to Goose… Millsie and he is running from Italy to London then to Chech (I think) to visit Spach and Al… I just have to say when they come home if they aren’t already… Goose better sign that contract and Millsie better get on the horn to his agent and get that UFA deal start rolling. From what I understand they don’t do deals during the season. Sooooo let’s get the ball rolling… I want to see more organic granolafied super fly saves!

    Oh and POOOOOOOOR Soupy…. VOMIT! Keep up the great blog!

  7. 7 JB June 30, 2008 at 2:05 pm

    ***edit… I meant to type UFA extention deal…

    I apologize… I forgot to eat my granola today…

  8. 8 Shari June 30, 2008 at 2:24 pm

    I wanna go visit Big Al!

  9. 9 Amanda June 30, 2008 at 2:28 pm

    I used to call Tri “Eeyore”.

    Mike Weber is kinda cute in person. I noticed that too. Also, horror of horrors, while I still think he’s a punk, when Pat Kaleta grins he’s a pretty cute kid.

  10. 10 bbC June 30, 2008 at 5:15 pm

    Where have you heard that Gaustad and Miller are traveling together? I heard that Miller was taking a good old Euro trip, but I didn’t know it’d be with the Goose. How presh.

  11. 11 JB June 30, 2008 at 6:30 pm

    Goose talked about it on a radio interview… I think he was there promoting his Camp Good days event… not sure what station though I heard it on the web… sorry! Not a native Buffalonian… I’m a bit east… They were asked him about training camp starting soon and he said oh no not until September and then they asked him what he was going to do this summer so he briefly about him and Millsie trekking across Europe… I was going to volunteer to be their bag bitch but I don’t know if my hubby would appreciate that…

  12. 12 TheTick June 30, 2008 at 9:08 pm

    Can’t wait for free agency to start, but I’m a bit apprehensive that nothing of note will happen here. At least goose is on board.

    Aww, I was so excited to see a Teppo blog in your sidebar, but it’s not being updated.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

