Peacenik Credentials: REVOKED

Jon Swenson has a photo contest up on The Battle of California of some of his wonderful pictures. Our new defenseman, Craig Rivet, plays a prominent role in the photo contest. Check this out:

Look at his fist! Run for you life! …or, REWIND and watch it again!

I’ve written before about the unease I feel about the fighting in hockey. I’m conflicted. On the one hand, I hate almost all the enforcer fighting, but on the other hand, Adam Mair? By all means, swing away, my friend. It’s kind of hard for me to admit that I like some of this stuff, but the truth is, I do like some of the fighting in hockey.

Hopefully Craig Rivet will fill a gaping hole on our defense. Hopefully he’ll be a genuine asset as a hockey player, but if he happens to get in some fisticuffs in the heat of battle, I suspect I will approve.

10 Responses to “Peacenik Credentials: REVOKED”


  1. 1 Heather B. July 10, 2008 at 10:55 pm

    If those fisticuffs come in defense of our poor, beleaguered goalie, I’ll be Rivet’s Best Friend For Life.

  2. 2 TheTick July 10, 2008 at 11:57 pm

    Yes yes. I often roll my eyes at the “I’m an enforcer, you’re an enforcer, we FIGHT’ bouts, but if the fight is for a reason, sticking up for a teammate, or the Ottawa brawl, hells yeah.

  3. 3 Katie July 11, 2008 at 12:14 am

    I have to agree with the prevailing sentiment. I’m not a huge fan of the forced-feeling “dances” between enforcers. However, nothing makes my hockey heart melt more than seeing someone drop the gloves to stick up for a teammate (especially poor, defenseless goalies).

  4. 4 Destiny July 11, 2008 at 12:54 am

    I don’t know, watching Andrew Peters throw down after Chris Drury got hit with that cheap shot against Ottawa a couple of years ago was pretty epic. I think in certain cases the enforcers are needed, still not as much as in days gone by.

    However, if Goose starts throwing punches when he sees opposing teams littering in HSBC arena, I’ll probably fall over with glee.

  5. 5 Glenn July 11, 2008 at 2:27 am

    Instead of fighting they should just solve all the battles by seeing which player can last longest while watching “2 girls 1 cup”…
    That’ll settle any scuffle.

  6. 6 Becky July 11, 2008 at 5:34 am

    An enforcer or anyone else coming out to retaliate for a cheap hit etc. is a good thing, as long as it’s against the guy who did it. Sending out the goons to have a pre-arranged dance with each other to prove some point seems to actually miss the point….However I will concede that sometimes they can come in handy to liven up a boring game.

  7. 7 Jennifer July 11, 2008 at 8:00 am

    Becky, I agree. Retaliation for a cheap shot is one of the things I love about enforcers. But pointless fighting/dancing is…., well, pointless.

    If it’s “called for”, there’s nothing much more exciting for me than to see those gloves hit the ice and bodies start flying.

    TheTick – I absolutely LOVE to go back and watch the Ottowa brawl. That is one of my favorite hockey moments, all out “free for all”.

  8. 8 jonhoepfinger July 11, 2008 at 8:12 am

    Craig Rivet sticking up for a teammate?

    there you go.

  9. 9 Amy July 11, 2008 at 8:27 am

    If those fisticuffs come in defense of our poor, beleaguered goalie, I’ll be Rivet’s Best Friend For Life.

    That’s probably demand #6 in Miller’s contract negotiations: someone to come to his defense. Though watching Miller get agitated and start defending himself does make me chuckle. Its like he’s the only one that gives a hoot about his space.

    I don’t know, watching Andrew Peters throw down after Chris Drury got hit with that cheap shot against Ottawa a couple of years ago was pretty epic.

    Watching Stafford throw down against Chris Neil in the immediate play after the Ottawa brawl was epic. The kid didn’t even hesitate to jump in and whomp on Neil. That was an appropriate fight.

  10. 10 Shari July 11, 2008 at 10:06 am

    Yep, Staffy going after Neil was priceless! I would looooove to see Goose pummel Neil though. I think Goose has dreams of taking Neil out with one punch. And yes, Crunchy doesn’t like anyone in his space. I’d like to see the boys protect him a little more this year. A little more grit would be nice!


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

