2 Things

1. The NHL schedule came out today, and while there is nothing particularly interesting to look at there, it is a reminder that hockey will, in fact, return. Maybe it’s just because I’m new at this, but I’ve sort of put hockey in the back of my mind as if it might not ever return. I think it’s a defense mechanism against the offseason. I love seeing a fresh new hockey season on the horizon, but DUDE, the horizon is a hundred years away. It’s at LEAST a hundred years away….possibly more like FIVE hundred years away. In five hundred years I will surely be dead and gone, just a small pile of dust and a few non-biodegradable viola strings. So, you see, it is somewhat torturous to consider the Sabres in mid-July. (Also, how heinous was the lock-out? Did you guys just DIE? Thank GOD I was blissfully unaware of hockey back then.)

On the other hand, there is much to look forward to . I’ll be seeing NHL hockey in at least three cities this season: Buffalo, Dallas and St. Paul (possibly more if I get really motivated. I can kind of envision planning all my vacations around the friends I have in NHL cities. Boston and Philly….I’m looking at you), and I’m bit thrilled by the mere IDEA of a new season, fresh and unblemished. EEEEEEEEEE!!

2. Mike Schopp and the Bulldog were doing some shifty calculations on the radio today estimating that it’s going to be six years before the last people on the waiting list get their season tickets. I’m kind of assuming that I’m DEAD last on the list because everyone keeps talking about the list being a thousand names long, and according to the Sabres email, I’m #1007. Six years is an unacceptable amount of time. I don’t like the WGR math one bit. From now on, I’m only using my Willful Caboose calculator which tells me that the rest of you yahoos are going to cancel your season tickets by the end of August.

11 Responses to “2 Things”


  1. 1 CrotchetyOriginalSam July 17, 2008 at 10:57 pm

    Also, how heinous [was] the lock-out? Did you guys just DIE?

    It sucked balls. Or pucks. Or whatever. It was awful. And I didn’t even have it as bad as most US fans. We still had the Gophers, the Frozen Four, and the high school tourney on KMSP…

  2. 2 Katebits July 17, 2008 at 11:16 pm

    Sam, how much do I love you for putting one of [these]around my typo by admission? I’ve been reeeeally lazy about fixing typos and errors lately. I need an editor. You, sir, are up to the task. :D

  3. 3 CrotchetyOriginalSam July 18, 2008 at 12:00 am

    Actually, I got dinged the same way by a real journalist for a typo on my own blog today, so I feel your shame. (He used [sic] and everything. I felt so dirty…)

  4. 4 Patty (in Dallas) July 18, 2008 at 1:41 am

    Also, how heinous was the lock-out? Did you guys just DIE? Thank GOD I was blissfully unaware of hockey back then.

    It was awful. And the worst part was that we didn’t know the whole season was going to be cancelled until it was halfway over. They kept acting like they were going to straighten it out and get it started so we were never positive. It would have been slightly easier if the League had cancelled the whole thing at the beginning instead of all the “there are still enough games left to have a season” talk.

  5. 5 Becky July 18, 2008 at 5:36 am

    You also have to assume that each number on the list represents at least 2 seats. Therefore when they released 500 seats it probably only brought the list down to #250.

    There’s also all those people NOT in the blue & gold club…they may never get season tickets!

    At least B&G members get first crack at single games…

  6. 6 Pookie July 18, 2008 at 9:19 am

    *quiet voice* I actually found the lock-out really refreshing. I had reached a pretty bad place in my fandom and needed to return to hockey with fresh eyes. It was really good for me to have the game taken away for a little while so Hockey and I could start over. Hockey was kind of my Blobby at the end of the 03-04 season. Of course, I passed the time by looking forward to the college hockey games NESN would air on Friday nights and by participating in an epic writing project to invent the season that would have happened had there not been a lock-out. So… Maybe I needed hockey more than I thought…

  7. 7 Schnookie July 18, 2008 at 9:23 am

    Yeah, writing SPECTRE with Pookie and Morgan really made it feel like hockey never left. It was a constant reminder that no matter how much you THINK you miss hockey, really, you’re just as happy not to have to get up early on a Saturday to make it to a matinee against the Hurricanes. Or pre-Sid Penguins. Or any-era Panthers. So… there were positive and negative things to take away from the lockout. :P

  8. 8 JBo July 18, 2008 at 11:16 am

    *grabs Katebits’ hands and jumps up and down while screaming “YAAAAAAYYYYY” and smiling nonstop after finding out that Miller signed a five-year extension contract so that he’s ours until 2014*

    YAAAAAAAYYYYYYYYY!!!!!!!!!!

  9. 9 Chaz July 18, 2008 at 11:35 am

    Amen JBO! This has MADE my day!!!

    =)

  10. 10 Shari July 18, 2008 at 12:03 pm

    YEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!
    WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOYOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!

  11. 11 Valerie July 18, 2008 at 12:12 pm

    YYYYYYYYYYAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY!!!!!
    6 more years of Crunchy!!!!!!!!!!!


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

