10 Random Things I Don’t Understand (And Therefore Fear)

In no particular order…..

1. Shoes that come to a sharp point.  Feet aren’t shaped like that.

2. Married people with joint email accounts

3. That episode of Arrested Development where Tobias keeps entering the scene by coming out of the fireplace.  Whaa?

4. Whether or not eggs are healthy

5. Pi

6. Facebook

7. Why a person would want to eat “fudge” when perfectly delicious, non-gross chocolate exists.

8. Deal Or No Deal

9. Which fish is safe/environmentally friendly for eating

10. The phrase “the exception that proves the rule”.  I understand what people mean when they say it, I just don’t understand how an exception proves a rule.  In fact, shouldn’t the exception prove that the rule is bullhonky?

29 Responses to “10 Random Things I Don’t Understand (And Therefore Fear)”


  1. 1 Kathee July 21, 2008 at 3:05 pm

    I am amrried and will NOT have a joint e-mail account with my husband. He’d get all pissy at the blabbering I do with my girlfriends.

    And you KNOW some man designed those pointy toe shoes and then convinced women they look longer and leaner with those on. Outside of cowboy boots, how many mens shoes have a pointed toe?

  2. 2 Dan (in Lake View) July 21, 2008 at 3:11 pm

    I had a 2 month or so run watching Deal or no Deal. I would even TiVO it when not at home. And then one day I realized how completely stupid the show really is, right down to Howie’s lack of hand shaking.

  3. 3 Julia July 21, 2008 at 3:28 pm

    Joint email????? Bonkers, I say. I do love my black pointy shoes though. I can’t explain it other than maybe it’s remnants from when I wanted to be witch when I was 8 years old.

  4. 4 Shari July 21, 2008 at 3:30 pm

    Speaking of being hooked on a show, MVP is right up there with stupid shows, which is why it’s on soapnet. But I absolutely love that show! I truly hope hockey players aren’t that nasty but I have a feeling they just might be. I’m sure I’ll come to my senses sooner or later and realize I’m in the wrong buissness and I should be a famous actor!

  5. 5 Amy July 21, 2008 at 3:33 pm

    8. Deal Or No Deal

    I agree with you on this one. I can’t look at the show the same way again since “The OC” satirized it with a show calling it “Briefcase or No Briefcase.”

  6. 6 Schnookie July 21, 2008 at 3:43 pm

    Clap. Clap. Clap. Clap. Clap clap clap clap clap clap clapclapclapclapclapclapclapclapclapclapclapclapclap.

    THANK YOU for speaking out against fudge. I have never understood fudge AT ALL, and frankly, I think people who do like fudge are stupid. No, not that they’re stupid to like fudge. Just that they’re stupid. (Respectfully to anyone here who likes fudge, but I calls ‘em like I sees ‘em.)

    Also, I was very troubled by the Tobias/fireplace thing. If anyone has any information about that, please share it.

    Also, Facebook is just puzzling.

    Also, I secretly love “Deal Or No Deal”. I’m afraid I might secretly also love fudge.

    Also, the following is a list of words I never want to hear on television again. Number one: “bra”. Number two: “horny”. Number three: “family jewels”.

  7. 7 anne July 21, 2008 at 3:43 pm

    Shoes that come to a point look terrible on any one without very narrow feet. Round toes are so much cuter are always in style and pointy toes do not make your legs look longer. I don’t care who you are.

    Joint email accounts are always the way affairs and secret lives are discovered on The Tyra Banks Show

    Deal or No Deal is completely mesmerizing, once you start watching its like “ok well, I’ll change after this case… darn it! $500,000! But the $750,000 and $1,000,000 are still left! ok after this next case…” and it goes on from there.

  8. 8 Pookie July 21, 2008 at 4:18 pm

    I also love “Deal Or No Deal”. It’s just so ridiculously stupid. I do wish they’d show it in condensed format — just one long instance of a person opening breifcases. That would be more fun.

    As for pi, don’t go giving yourself powerdrill lobotomies, okay?

  9. 9 Katebits July 21, 2008 at 4:23 pm

    Just to be clear….I’ve never actually watched Deal or No Deal. Not once. I just don’t understand it, and therefore it scares me. :D

  10. 10 Chaz July 21, 2008 at 4:28 pm

    Be afraid of Facebook, be very afraid. It’s TDK “Joker” evil.

    I left MN when our office closed and wasn’t the only one that left the state. For all of us to keep in touch, we joined Facebook. Stupid me never thought that half the people I went to HIGH school with were members too. I’m getting friendvites from people that were way to cool for me in high school. Which is fine, I’d hope people changed in the last…er…yea, in the years since high school, but to act like they never treated me like shit because I was a band “dork”. That has been interesting.

    Joint Email accounts? Seriously, people do this? I would call off an engagement on this one. I need my space people.

  11. 11 blitzen July 21, 2008 at 4:43 pm

    Chocolate fudge is no substitute for chocolate but maple fudge especially from truffle treasures (http://www.truffletreasures.com/index.php?page=home)is to die for. You would totally understand it if you tasted it.

  12. 12 Heather B. July 21, 2008 at 4:44 pm

    Joint email accounts are always the way affairs and secret lives are discovered on The Tyra Banks Show.

    Why would have you have an affair or secret life with a joint account when it’s SO EASY to open a free email account somewhere that your spouse doesn’t know about? That’s what I do. Er, that’s what I WOULD do, I mean :-P

  13. 13 alix July 21, 2008 at 5:11 pm

    Facebook is fun. I’m with you on Pi. Lots of numbers scare me.

    I’ve never actually sat down to watch Deal or No Deal. On 30 Rock they did a spoof of it where the models held briefcases of solid gold, but then the person could always guess which briefcase was the right one because the models were keeling over they were so heavy.

    Your secret email account is in Swedish isn’t it, Heather? :P

  14. 14 danielleia July 21, 2008 at 5:14 pm

    9. Which fish is safe/environmentally friendly for eating

    The ones in Lake Erie that don’t have the tapeworm Diphyllobothrium latum (my friend’s a MedTech…).

  15. 15 Courtney S.F. July 21, 2008 at 6:20 pm

    On Fudge: I couldn’t agree more. For me it’s a texture thing. There is a reason that fudge is so often a euphemism for poo.

    As for the exception that proves the rule, I suspect that the idea is that there is an exception to every rule, so it’s not a rule until there’s an exception and therefore the exception proves the rule. Even if it sort of makes sense, it’s still a stupid saying and I’m against it.

    I do, however enjoy Facebook quite a little bit. It’s somewhat voyeuristic, and I think that’s what makes it fun. You get to know all about what people are up to without actually dealing with them. With some “friends” this type of contact is plenty. With others, Facebook is no substitute and you have to get on the horn and yammer.

  16. 16 Shari July 21, 2008 at 6:32 pm

    Ever since Howie Mandel shaved his head and became a germaphobe, he freaks me out. HE scares me!

  17. 17 Jaime July 21, 2008 at 9:01 pm

    Facebook and Myspace I will never understand! I don’t want weird random people talking to me and the people who would be my friends, I e-mail and/or talk almost daily as is. What more can we say to each other!! Fudge is gross. I only eat orange chocolate from Wahl’s. But I do like my pointy toe shoes. They make my feet look normal size (instead of the tiny size 5 1/2 that they are). As for he joint e-mail, I think that’s absurd! I love my husband but there ar elots of things that get talked about with my girlfriends that he wouldn’t want or need to know!!!

  18. 18 Pookie July 21, 2008 at 10:07 pm

    I was contemplating this post while driving home from work today, trying to remember why the mere sight of the word fudge was putting me on edge. Then I remembered that I saw Sandra Lee make “fudge truffles” by mixing powdered sugar into a can of frosting and then rolling it into balls.

  19. 19 Katebits July 21, 2008 at 10:10 pm

    Fudge is just…..really, really wrong.

    Courtney, I read your explanation of “exception that proves the rule” several times, and I think I get it now. But you’re right, it’s still REALLY dumb, and I remain firmly against it.

  20. 20 Patty (in Dallas) July 21, 2008 at 11:19 pm

    Fudge is just…..really, really wrong.

    How about peanut butter fudge? It’s soooooo good.

  21. 21 Patty (in Dallas) July 21, 2008 at 11:21 pm

    I actually broke my sister’s “Deal or No Deal” spell by asking her once to explain what the hell was going on. She didn’t get very far before she just said, “You know? Let’s watch something else.”

  22. 22 Janz July 22, 2008 at 12:16 pm

    (Sorry to be a nerd!) “The exception that proves the rule” refers to the idea that the need for or existence of an exception proves the existence of an underlying rule. Meaning, why would you have an exception if there was no rule to begin with. For example, if the Sabres announced “Free Admission for Readers of TWC”, that would imply the rule that the rest of the world has to pay dearly for their tickets. So the exception proves the rule.

    And yes, married couples with joint email accounts make my head hurt. Does not compute…

  23. 23 mcguffers July 22, 2008 at 3:44 pm

    I asked someone what the rules for Deal or No Deal are and it put me in a catatonic state.

    And pointed shoes make my size 10 hooves look ridiculously too long.

    I whole heartedly agree with your list!

    Oh, and I saw that you love tall, older women. My grandma has started to shrink, but she’s still 5’11, so you can borrow her sometime if you want. She’s crazy, swears like a sailor, and burps like a fratboy, but she’s definately entertaining.

  24. 24 KevinP July 23, 2008 at 9:43 am

    Pi? Who’s afraid of pi?

    Now 3.15 – there’s a number to be scared of.

  25. 25 Katebits July 23, 2008 at 1:06 pm

    Hee. Kevin, I don’t like weird, magical numbers. That’s not how I roll. 3.15 is welcome at my house anytime.

  26. 26 Miss A August 10, 2008 at 7:37 pm

    As a Facebook addict, I am constantly on, finding new gizmos on the site. Recently, the designers though it would be hilarious to change everything about it, thus forcing it’s users to try and relearn it all, leaving everyone (me) fearfull and non-understanding…. Don’t worry too terribly much.

  27. 28 timo October 19, 2009 at 12:25 pm

    actually, pi is 3.14, or 3.14159…
    fudge is a stupid waste of chocolate.
    all rules have exceptions, except this one.
    I still need help with the Tobias/fireplace thing.


  1. 1 We’re Not Worthy « Sabre Kallisions Trackback on August 8, 2008 at 11:12 am

Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

