2 Tidbits

I am ca-RAZY busy over the next week, so things might get a little tumbleweedy around here.  I’ll do my best to post a little something every day, but I can make no promises.

I have two tidbits for you this afternoon:

1. Ryan Miller and the Sabres Gang had the cuddliest press conference in NHL history this morning.  It was all, “I love you, Ryan Miller,”  “No, I love you Darcy Regier”  “We just want to be the best professional hockey team we can be.”  I know that as soon as the Sabres take the ice I will stop being this sentimental old Crunchy-lovin’ fool, but dang it, it practically brings a tear to my eye to listen to him speak right now.  I am so excited about next season that I’m having a difficult time reconciling that it is mid-July.  Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE mid-July, but I am so psyched about hockey that if it snowed this evening it would fit my mindset perfectly.

2.  I still feel kind of scared of tomatoes even though I know they have been declared cootie-free.  Remember a few years ago when spinach had e coli cooties?  Well, that happened during a particularly oblivious time in my life when I wasn’t watching much tv or paying much attention to things occurring beyond the ten feet surrounding me.  As a result, I ate a lot of the EXACT spinach that had e coli.  So, while the rest of the country was burning their spinach at the stake and freaking out in general, I was happily munching on a daily e coli salad.  When I finally clued in, I did a little research and learned that whatever happens to you when you eat e coli has a seven day incubation period.  So, I had to sit around for a week, waiting to find out if I was about to experience a terribly gruesome fate.  I didn’t. I must have lucked out and eaten only cootie-free spinach, but that week I spent fretting was no fun.  Food cooties are lame.  Shop locally, people!

10 Responses to “2 Tidbits”


  1. 1 Shari July 22, 2008 at 6:09 pm

    Funny you should mention ecoli. We were sitting around with the neighbor the other day just shootin the shit about tape worm. He’s extreeeeeeeeeemly bright and is going to school to be a med tech. Folks,just in case you get the desire, don’t eat undercooked meat. Although it’s not real common here in the states, I’ve seen the pictures. He showed us and it’s not a pretty picture. Your intestine will not be a very happy intestine!

  2. 2 bbC July 22, 2008 at 6:16 pm

    I just loved when Ryan said, “I’d trade all the money in the world to win a championship here.” How sweet. :’)

  3. 3 Courtney S.F. July 22, 2008 at 6:19 pm

    Tidbit number 3: Hooray, hooray, it’s your birthday today. Happy Birthday Kitty! (sorry, I just can’t do katebits; meow.)

  4. 4 Katebits July 22, 2008 at 6:57 pm

    Why, thank you Keeortniah! meow meow meow meow it’s my birthdaaaay meow meeeeeow!

  5. 5 Jennifer July 22, 2008 at 7:52 pm

    Happy, happy, happy birthday!!! :)

  6. 6 Amy July 22, 2008 at 8:17 pm

    Happy Birthday, Katebits!!

    I guess now its not the tomatoes that you have to worry about, its the jalapenos. They actually found salmonella on one of them at a packing plant.

  7. 7 Shari July 22, 2008 at 10:34 pm

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU, HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU, HAPPY BIRTHDAY DEAR KAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAATE!!!! HAAAAAAAAAPPY BIRRRRRRTHDAAAAAAY TOOOOOOO YOOOOOOOOOOU!!!! HORAY!!!!

  8. 8 Pookie July 22, 2008 at 11:42 pm

    Happy birthday, Katebits!

  9. 9 Chaz July 23, 2008 at 8:21 am

    Happy Belated Birthday!

  10. 10 Katebits July 23, 2008 at 8:58 am

    Thank you fr the birthday wishes everybody! I had a birthday, although I’m going to be a sleepy, fussy mess at work today.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

