2 Things

1.  Is is just me, or is Jenn Stuczynski’s pole vaulting coach a bit of an a-hole?  Scolding Jenn while he was mic’ed up was completely lame, and I kind of wish she had just punched him in the face.  I hate that guy.  If I decide to take up pole vaulting tomorrow, and in four years I win a silver medal in London, my coach better be a whole lot nicer to me than that.  He (or she) better give me an enthusiastic high five and then take me out for a delicious cheeseburger and about a hundred vodka sodas.  Afterwards we can drunkenly run around London letting strangers pose with my silver medal and periodically stopping to “WOOOOOO” and jump up and down with joy.  On the way back to the hotel, my coach will make some kind of joke about how, unlike gold, silver matches most of the jewelry I already have, and that gold is kind of fugly anyway, and aren’t I SO GLAD I didn’t wind up with a hideous gold medal- or, god forbid A REVOLTING BRONZE?!  Then we’d laugh and laugh about how silver is totally the prettiest of all the “precious medals”, and by the end of the night I’d be convinced that silver medals are WAY better than gold medals.  My pole vaulting coach is going to be so cool.  Jenn, your coach is not good enough for you!

2. The sputtering outrage of the NBC gymnastics commentators was fairly hilarious tonight.  Don’t get me wrong, if I were judging that competition that’s not how the medals would have been awarded. (The third place Chinese girl would have won first, Nastia would have won second, and the gold medal winner would have won the bronze.)  The judging did seem a bit out of whack, but the tiebreaking method was very clear.  Even I, a half-wit violist, now understands how a gymnastics tiebreak works.  My favorite part of the whole fiasco was how, after about half an hour of Tim Daggett and Al Trautwig and carrying on about the INSANITY of the INCOMPREHENSIBLE judging, and the TRAGEDY of Nastia being ROBBED on such an OBSCURE technicality as an IMPOSSIBLE to comprehend TIEBREAK SYSTEM, they were all, “Back to you Bob,” and from the studio Blob Costas kind of shrugged and said, “Well, there was a tie, but the tiebreak seemed pretty straight forward.”  Heh.  I absolutely love to watch gymnastics, but gymnastics and the industry surrounding gymnastics is totally stupid.

UPDATE: I guess Blob was talking about the men when he made his little crack about the tiebreak being straight forward.  Don’t you love how I have no problems blogging about something to which I was barely paying attention?  Don’t you feel good knowing you can always turn to TWC for the very least true information?  Heh.  One of my favorite things about the Olympics is that they seem to encourage us to have very strongly held opinions about crap we know nothing about.  I don’t care if Blob Costas agrees with me, in the true spirit of the Olympics, I’m going stand by my uninformed opinion: gymnastics are gloriously stupid. (And the bronze medalist should have won gold.)

14 Responses to “2 Things”


  1. 1 Amanda August 19, 2008 at 1:14 am

    I wanted to punch her coach in the head too. How rude. Dude – she just won an OLYMPIC MEDAL – how many have YOU won? Sheesh!

    About Bob Costas – he was actually talking about a tiebreaker that happened in the men’s competition when he said that, and that tiebreaker DID make sense. Stupid gymnastics. I smell a judging controversy brewing.

  2. 2 Katebits August 19, 2008 at 1:31 am

    Was Blob Costas really talking about the men? I had kind of tuned the coverage out by that point. Rats. I thought he and I had shared a moment tonight. :D

  3. 3 ms.conduct August 19, 2008 at 3:21 am

    I agree on your ranking of the gymnasts. Glad it’s not just me. And because I’m an expert in gymnastics for 2 weeks every 4 years, I feel I can safely say that Nastia had fewer errors but the ones she made were more egregious. The blatant homerism was just ridiculous on the announcers parts. Come on. Give the 12 year old Chinese gymnasts their due. And a sandwich.

  4. 4 Meg August 19, 2008 at 10:19 am

    Yeah, Costas was definitely referring to the men and saying that the tiebreak there was straightforward unlike the tiebreak for the women. Which I thought was pretty straightforward as well. Although, for the record, I do agree that when there’s a tie they should just do dual medals like they do in all the other gymnastic competitions. If they’ve done the routine and earned the same score than they’re equally worthy of the damn gold and it should be left at that.

    Incidentally, how much do I love Bela Karolyi. What a hilarious whacko. He’s like the complete opposite of the nasty pole vaulting coach who deserved to be slapped. He’s pretty much the only studio interview I’ve enjoyed this year.

    And those baby Chinese gymnasts need way more than a sandwich. Well, an ice cream sandwich at the very least. :D

  5. 5 Pookie August 19, 2008 at 10:57 am

    The tie-break in the uneven bars could not have been more straight-forward. Al was able to explain it in one short sentance! That’s not convaluted at all.

  6. 6 Schnookie August 19, 2008 at 11:26 am

    Kate, your pole vaulting coach sounds so awesome! I want to hang out with you guys when you win silver.

    And the mass hysteria over the tie-break was the stupidest thing EVER. Tim and Al were all, “It’s SO convoluted and SO arcane and SO mysterious” and then they broke it down in three sentences and a single graphics screen. What’s so hard about that? I thought Blob’s swipe at the comparative complexities of the tie-breaks was really dumb. I mean, OF COURSE the men’s vault tie-break was more obvious, but that’s because THERE WERE TWO VAULTS. When there’s only one routine getting judged in the event, and the sport is insisting on having no ites, then yeah, the tie-break will be less intuitive. GAH! (Of course, I love getting all het up about how impossibly awful Al, Tim and Elfi are, so I should probably be praising them for being in such fine form last night.)

    Oh, and what’s all this about people liking ties? I thought we were all hockey fans, and hockey fans, as everyone knows, HATE TIES. Right? Right??

  7. 7 Katebits August 19, 2008 at 12:15 pm

    ms.conduct, for next Olympics NBC should just hire us to do the color commentary. We obviously know what’s up. :P

    Meg, I have been LOVING Bela Karolyi. He’s totally loonytunes.

    Pookie and Schnookie, if we don’t like the outcome, surely there is something wrong with the system. Come on. Get with the program here. (And I DON’T like the outcome. That bronze medalist was ROBBED.)

  8. 8 Jennifer August 19, 2008 at 12:19 pm

    I love watching Bela watch a gymnast perform. He is so funny!

  9. 9 Schnookie August 19, 2008 at 1:22 pm

    if we don’t like the outcome, surely there is something wrong with the system. Come on. Get with the program here.

    You’re right, you’re right. *Nods* I kind of lost sight of things there. It won’t happen again! DAMN THOSE JUDGES AND THIS INSANELY COMPLICATED TIE-BREAK SYSTEM!

  10. 10 Libby August 19, 2008 at 4:31 pm

    Kate – Thanks for pointing out what a douche Jenn’s coach is. The girl did awesome, holds the American record, and went up against some sort of wierd Russian robot/beauty queen. KUDOS to JENN!

  11. 11 Courtney S.F. August 19, 2008 at 10:12 pm

    That pole vaulting coach was a total a-hole. He needs to spend a few hours with the Irv and then read Feeling Good. I hate Tim Daggett. He’s always proclaiming that various minor eff-ups are “A DISASTER!!!” and I’m against it. He also needs to read Feeling Good.

  12. 12 Shari August 19, 2008 at 10:40 pm

    Jenns coach is a dink. So is Bob Costas. So are those judges damn it!
    And damn egg salad! I’m miserable, I think I have food poisioning.

  13. 13 Katebits August 20, 2008 at 1:32 am

    Courtney, HA! I have never heard of a person in more desperate need of “Feeling Good” than that a-hole vault coach. (Except for maybe Tim Daggett.)

    I so sorry you have food poisoning, Sherri! That’s terrible!

  14. 14 JB August 20, 2008 at 11:38 pm

    I just sent you a photo to your email… LOL…


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

