Faster

My friend Dinesh and I had the following conversation tonight while watching the men’s 400 meter race:

Dinesh: I wonder what the coaching for these events is like.  I mean, I wonder what they work on.  (speaking as a track coach) “That was great Usain.  Now if you could just do that again, only this time…..go faster.”

Kate: (also speaking as coach) “You look good, but I think what you want to aim for a little more speed.  Try it again, only try running a bit faster.”

(pause as we watch the race)

Dinesh: (shaking head sadly, but still speaking as coach) “Damn it.  You know, I really should have told him to run faster…..He could have won that race.”

_______

Yes, we think we’re pretty funny. :)

4 Responses to “Faster”


  1. 1 Jaime August 22, 2008 at 9:18 am

    These are the same type of conversations that I have with my husband. We think we are hilarious!!

  2. 2 Schnookie August 22, 2008 at 9:59 am

    Well OF COURSE you guys are hilarious! I mean, duh! :D

  3. 3 Sharpie August 22, 2008 at 10:25 am

    I laughed last night when the commentators were second guessing one American runner’s choice to switch coaches between the Olympic years. How much difference could that make in running?

  4. 4 Pookie August 22, 2008 at 1:23 pm

    :^:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

    That’s awesome!

    I actually did hear one of the runners talking during the trials about how her coach was trying to get her to focus on the middle of the race. The middle of the 100 m dash. The thing takes her 15 second to run and she’s mentally good enough of sprinting that she can actually break that down into a beginning, middle, and end while running. That’s freakin’ amazing.

    Of course, what’s she thinking during the beginning, middle, and end is probably, “Coach said to approach the beginning by running fast!”


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

