Woolen Fried Egg Sunday

This post has nothing to do with hockey or sports of any kind. This post is very, very silly.

I live very near to the Elmwood Strip so I wandered over to the art festival both days this weekend.  Yesterday I just meandered around, but today I went to eat junk food and purchase “art”.

Here’s what I bought:

Fried Egg

It’s a felted fried egg made out of wool.  It was three dollars.

Jeff and Dinesh think I overspent, but Robin and I agree that we’ve already squeezed 3 dollars worth of entertainment out of the egg.  I carried it around the art festival like a trophy- that was pretty funny.  I brought it home and lovingly photographed it- that was funny.  I held it out for Charlotte, Robin’s dog, to smell and she took one dainty sniff and then gulped it up as if it were a REAL EGG- that was HILARIOUS.  Then Robin and I had to wrestle it out of her locked jaw- that was side splittingly funny.

Charlotte

Watch it.   She’ll snatch your egg.

Once we got the egg away from Charlotte, Robin hand washed it in the sink and then put it in the dish rack to dry, which as you can see was both funny and adorable.

Fried Egg on Dish Rack

If you don’t think that’s kind of funny you’re no friend of mine.

The egg promises to be at the center of hijinx for days to come.  It was totally worth three dollars.

21 Responses to “Woolen Fried Egg Sunday”


  1. 1 bbC August 24, 2008 at 10:42 pm

    I’ve gotta say, I did let out a chuckle when I saw the picture of it drying on the dish rack hahaha.

  2. 2 elise August 24, 2008 at 11:37 pm

    balance that egg on your bow! i love it. you are a shrewd art collector, kate! you should start your own museum in Buffalo.

  3. 3 Katebits August 24, 2008 at 11:42 pm

    Whoa! I didn’t even consider that this is a piece in my art collection! I wonder if it’s worth more now because it’s been inside of a dog’s mouth. I’m thinking it’s doubled in value.

  4. 4 Destiny August 24, 2008 at 11:42 pm

    I probably would have wanted to buy that too, and then tried to some knitted sausage. ;)

    What a beautiful dog!

  5. 5 Destiny August 24, 2008 at 11:43 pm

    that should read, “tried to find some knitted sausage”

  6. 6 Dan (in Lake View) August 25, 2008 at 2:11 am

    Solid pick-up….I want one!!!

  7. 7 Jaime August 25, 2008 at 9:01 am

    You should do a “Day in the Life” piece with the egg. Make a picture diary of the egg’s going’s on throughout the day. That would be awesome!!!

  8. 8 karen August 25, 2008 at 9:44 am

    I think $3 was a bargain. Your cost per laugh is already quite low and the possibility of more laughter is good. You could stick the egg in your viola case – imagine the confusion of your fellow musicians who get a quick glimpse of it!

  9. 9 JB August 25, 2008 at 10:50 am

    Ok I think I would have bought one as well! Excellent purchase!

  10. 10 Chaz August 25, 2008 at 10:59 am

    I don’t know if I could have stopped at just one woolen egg. That’s beyond awesome.

  11. 11 Shari August 25, 2008 at 11:36 am

    I laughed my butt off over the dog! (That IS a gorgeous dog!)
    Having a great big giant hairy black dog myself, I know how scary, yet hilarious it can be when your dog gets hold of something and you need a cro bar to get her mouth open!

  12. 12 Amy August 25, 2008 at 12:04 pm

    I was at the Art Festival on Saturday, but what I bought was nowhere near as cool as a felted fried egg. (I bought a picture of the opening faceoff of the Ice Bowl from one of the local photography vendors that were there).

    If you get tired of carrying the egg around, you could always run a safety pin through it and use it as a brooch. People would just think it was a little misshapen flower, but you would know it was an egg.

  13. 13 Katebits August 25, 2008 at 12:13 pm

    Hee. I wasn’t sure if this post was too weird. I’m glad you guys like the egg!

    Amy, wearing the egg like a brooch is prety much the funniest idea ever.

    Also, as an update: Charlotte the Dog is now obSESSed with the egg. If I have it she follows me all around the house starring intensely at it like a maniac. I don’t think anyone has ever wanted anything as much as Charlotte wants the egg. Heh.

  14. 14 Chaz August 25, 2008 at 2:31 pm

    Weeeell, the look on Charlotte’s face does say “Give me the egg and no one will get hurt”. That Charlotte pulls no punches when it comes to her,ahem, your egg.

  15. 15 Deanna August 25, 2008 at 4:44 pm

    Cool…I’m all about taunting the animals! Don’t mess with an animal who thinks it’s real. Check out my YourHub blog on the stuffed dog!

  16. 16 TheTick August 25, 2008 at 7:07 pm

    Deanna, it’s not nice to egg on a dog that is behaving badly!

  17. 17 Shari August 25, 2008 at 8:03 pm

    I knew a girl who had this dog and it had hysterical pregnacy. The dog made a nest in the tub and the vet said to give her some stuffed animals. She treated those stuffed animals like they were her puppies. She would growl and snip at people if they tried to get to them. That was one of the weirdest things I’ve ever heard!

  18. 18 Patty (in Dallas) August 25, 2008 at 8:23 pm

    Deanna, it’s not nice to egg on a dog that is behaving badly!

    Hee!

    Because you’ll be the one that ends up with egg on your face. :P

  19. 19 TheTick August 25, 2008 at 8:35 pm

    Eggs-actly. Besides, you’ll be scrambling your signals as far as discipline!

  20. 20 JB August 26, 2008 at 5:56 pm

    To bad you couldn’t have brought home the woolen bacon as well. :]

  21. 21 Katebits August 26, 2008 at 6:47 pm

    There actually WAS woolen bacon, JB! It didn’t look like anything without the egg though. It just looked like a random reddish brown strip. I like my woolen foodstuffs to look good on their own. :P


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

