Commence Pommerdoodling

Maybe it’s the conclusion of the Olympics, or the fact that September is now within sight, or maybe it’s because last night I had a dream in which Toni Lydman and I were watching football and debating the merits of popsicles versus fudgesicles, but I woke up this morning with the sudden realization that it’s time to start getting excited about hockey.

HOCKEY IS COMING BACK!

I know it’s a bit early to get all wound up, but I can’t help it anymore. I don’t care if my early enthusiasm winds up biting me in the ass when I find myself ravenous for hockey with WEEKS left to go.  I don’t care!  I’m feeling excited and happy for hockey!  There is a distinct feeling of Fall in the air!  I refuse to see reason!

HOCKEY IS COMING BACK!

I’ve been on the fence, but I think I’m going to do Kate’s Favorite Sabre again.  KFS will get me back into the habit of thinking about hockey and making fun of the Sabres.  With all this blogging about the Olympics and woolen eggs I’m feeling a bit rusty on the hockey front.  Do I still have what it takes to carefully rank the Sabres based on a ridiculous and ever shifting list of criteria that has little or nothing to do with hockey?  I don’t know!  I guess we’ll find out.  (If you don’t know what I’m talking about, you can read the entire KFS series from last year here.)

I’ll wile away the next month on TWC whimsically ranking the Sabres for Kate’s Favorite Sabre Competion Part II, and then before we know it, training camp will be upon us and it’s all down hill after that.  Soon we’ll have a wonderful, unblemished, hopeful, fresh, agonizing, shiny new, hilarious, infuriating, looong, fantabulous, FULL season of Sabres hockey stretched out before us! WOOOOOOOOOO!!!

HOCKEY IS COMING BACK!!!

beep beep beepbeepbeep!

14 Responses to “Commence Pommerdoodling”


  1. 1 Pookie August 26, 2008 at 7:18 pm

    That original “Hockey is Coming!” post is one of my all-time favorites. I think about it all the time. Training camp opens in less than a month! EEEEE!!!

  2. 2 Katebits August 26, 2008 at 7:22 pm

    Pookie, I actually went out on a walk looking for a prematurely red leaf so that I could recreate the magic of the original “Hockey is Coming” post. No dice. HOCKEY REALLY IS COMING THOUGH!

  3. 3 Courtney S.F. August 26, 2008 at 8:10 pm

    Oh Noh. The return of hockey has be jonesing for more Olympics and more FELT EGGS!!!

  4. 4 JB August 26, 2008 at 8:18 pm

    AHHHHH… LMAO… reading that Ryan Miller interview again just cracks me up! One of my favorites…

  5. 5 blitzen August 26, 2008 at 8:22 pm

    Finally…back to hockey. Did you know that Buffalo is in the hunt to host the World Junior Hockey Championship in 2011? This is major news and I am surprized it missed your keen eye. Oh ya….and Sabres stuff too.

    Hockey is back!! Yay! (the 67s camp starts tomorrow).

  6. 6 Katebits August 26, 2008 at 8:33 pm

    Heh. Sorry, Courtney! You must have known the felt eggs were too good to be true! :P

  7. 7 TheTick August 26, 2008 at 9:51 pm

    Speaking of Pommers… (no he didn’t sign).

    What is the weirdest thing someone has said on the ice?

    “But probably the funniest thing I’ve heard on the ice was when I was in the American Hockey League and had long hair. Somebody yelled something at me like, ‘get a haircut poodle’ or ‘nice haircut poodle.’”

  8. 9 Kathee August 26, 2008 at 11:56 pm

    Kate, I have seen a few prematurely red leaves out my way (to the east) when I was camping this weekend. Maybe they are only doing it in Genesee county? EEK!

  9. 10 Heather B. August 27, 2008 at 4:49 am

    Oh, good! I was just wondering about KFS a couple of days ago! I can’t wait for its triumphant return!

  10. 11 M.J. August 27, 2008 at 7:17 am

    debating the merits of popsicles versus fudgesicles

    I am glad I am not the only one who considers this an important debate!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  11. 12 JB August 27, 2008 at 9:29 am

    If you haven’t checked out the Sabres website Pommers has a “summer blog” he asks questions from fans… I nearly fell over about this one….

    What is the weirdest thing someone has said on the ice? Jake T. – Lancaster, NY

    “I’ve been pretty lucky with that. There really hasn’t been anything that has caught my attention.

    “But probably the funniest thing I’ve heard on the ice was when I was in the American Hockey League and had long hair. Somebody yelled something at me like, ‘get a haircut poodle’ or ‘nice haircut poodle.’

    “I can’t remember exactly but it was something like that. Whoever said it was on the bench and I actually turned around and laughed.”

  12. 13 JB August 27, 2008 at 9:32 am

    Oh poo I didnt even see that The Tick left the same thing sorry didn’t mean to step on toes!

  13. 14 bbC August 27, 2008 at 1:20 pm

    I lol’ed when I saw Pominville say that someone on the ice called him a poodle because of his hair. And Kate, there have been plenty of leaves near me that have been turning red! It’s a sign of good things to come!!


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

