KFS II, Attempting to Right What Once Went Wrong: Drew Stafford

Poor Angry Eyebrows!  He never really had a chance.  Last year at this time we were expecting him to be the new CHRIS DRURY for goodness sake.  Everyone was freaking out about how Drew Stafford was clearly our future captain and savior.  We expected too much, and the poor dude cracked under the pressure.

Obviously things didn’t work out very well for old Staffy last season.  When he wasn’t injured he was skating around listlessly, invisible except for when Lindy was singling him out for his suckiness.  I believe my main complaint about him at this time last year was that he seemed “cocky”.  I was terribly wrong about that.  Drew Stafford really does not seem cocky at all.  In fact, he seems quite the opposite.  I’m worried about his mental health and his emotional well being.  Staffy is making me feel all maternal and protective.

This season I pledge to be as patient and supportive of Drew Stafford as possible.  With tender love and firm guidance we can rehabilitate him.  All is not lost in Staffy’s case.  If we can stop the cycle of low self-esteem leading to lackluster performance, there is still time to turn him into an effective NHL player.  He’s far (far) from my favorite, but I still believe in him.

You can do it big guy!  *two big thumbs up and a wide (possibly fake) smile*

12 Responses to “KFS II, Attempting to Right What Once Went Wrong: Drew Stafford”


  1. 1 TheTick September 4, 2008 at 8:41 pm

    My plan is working…mwa ha ha!

  2. 2 Chaz September 4, 2008 at 9:01 pm

    Aaaaa…how do we work on the “brain eating zombie” issue? That’s gonna be a little hard to overcome.

  3. 3 Katebits September 4, 2008 at 9:07 pm

    Tick, your plan is totally coming together! I’m, like, your minion!

    Chaz, I think the brain eating is just an unfortunate side effect of his low self esteem. We’ve just got to get him to believe he can be a great hockey player without the brains. I know we can do it! :P

  4. 4 JB September 4, 2008 at 9:54 pm

    Maybe Staffy needs some extra snuggles… any volunteers?

  5. 5 elise September 4, 2008 at 10:48 pm

    kate! i am a TAD behind…can I get a copy of that flowchart?…now THAT is a sure piece for your art collection…

  6. 6 Jennifer September 4, 2008 at 11:14 pm

    Maybe it was because of his lack of time on the ice, but I really have little recollection of Staffy last season. I know he was “there” at times, wasn’t he? But I don’t recall Staffy being the recipient of the verbal beating by me given to more than a few Sabres last season.

    Sadly, I will admit that Hank did receive 1 verbal beating. But it was only 1 and we made up afterwards and he said he deserved it and that he forgave me. (At least that’s they way it happened in my mind!)

  7. 7 Chaz September 5, 2008 at 9:44 am

    Hmmmm…Kate, I believe you maybe right. I can totally see the connection between low self esteem and brain eating. I’m surprised I couldn’t see that before, it seems SO obvious. Poor Staffy! =(
    I’d hug you but you…er…look hungry.

  8. 8 Kathee September 5, 2008 at 10:18 am

    And yet, in his sucky year last year, he DID manage to get a hattie. So, hopefully, with the pressure off, he can do better this year.

    And I TOTALLY volunteer to give him extra snuggles. /end puckbunny-ish commentary

  9. 9 Schnookie September 5, 2008 at 10:28 am

    Poor Staffy! He’s such a wreck that even Pookie’s pretending like she never knew what she saw in him. I think his problem is just that he picked the wrong Parise to be his hero. He never should have tried to follow in the path of the one who said, “I know why I wasn’t drafted into the NHL — I wasn’t GOOD ENOUGH to be drafted into the NHL!”

  10. 10 Jonathan September 5, 2008 at 10:42 am

    Just say sophomore slump over and over. It makes last year all go away. Unless 20 games into this season, and he has 1 goal, then we can go trade the bum.

  11. 11 Katebits September 5, 2008 at 12:26 pm

    Staffy got a hat trick last year? That is not ringing any bells at all! Are you sure he didn’t just eat everyone’s brain on the ice and then SAY he got a hattie? :P

    Schnookie, that’s why I didn’t get drafted into the NHL too! Jordan Parise and I are like twinsies!


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

