hockeyhockeyhockeyhockeyhockeyhockey

Just in case you were starting to worry that my newfound love of football was going to take over this blog, I can happily report that tonight I chose to listen to pre-season hockey on the radio over watching Monday Night Football on television.

The dulcet tones of Mr. Rick Jeanneret were like music to my hockey deprived ears.  I love Rick so much that sometimes I think about you guys who grew up listening to him, and it scares me to imagine how much YOU must love him.  I wasn’t entirely prepared for how happy the sound of his voice would make me tonight.

The good news is, HOCKEY IS BACK!  The bad news is, the Sabres kind of blew.  No matter!  This game didn’t count, and almost none of the real Sabres were even playing.

(This Ryan Miller kid is kind of a screw-up though, right?  How many more years do we have to deal with him on the team?  [Juuuuust kidding.  We love ya’ Crunchenheimer {but please don’t suck all year (I don’t want to have to hate you [but I’d probably still love you even if you did suck {probably (maybe not though [it’s hard to say])}])}]).

(That was way too many parentheses.)

(I apologize.)

19 Responses to “hockeyhockeyhockeyhockeyhockeyhockey”


  1. 1 JBo September 23, 2008 at 1:22 am

    Crunchy hardly even played! It was that stupid Enroth who made us lose. I knew that kid was shifty when I met him on Saturday. Hmm…seriously? What was with having all the Portland kids play?

  2. 2 Gambler September 23, 2008 at 1:28 am

    Forget about the crappy loss, I heard Yo-Yo scored! WOOOOOOOOOOO!!!! We’re making it to THIRTY this year, baby!!!

  3. 3 grrrreg September 23, 2008 at 5:21 am

    Habs have an even crappier loss to forget tonight, so a nice little no-pressure Sabres-Habs preseason game is all we needed! I’m not sure I really should stay up to watch a preseason game on the internet in the middle of the night, but damn, that’s tempting… The atmosphere is probably gonna be pretty cool in the tiny arena of Roberval.

  4. 4 Katebits September 23, 2008 at 8:03 am

    Crunchy gave up three goals on eleven shots!

    Gambler, Yo-Yo totally scored on a nifty pass (RJ’s words) from Staffy. For some reason I am feeling the Staffy love this season.

    grrreg, I am very eager to get a look at this game tonight!

  5. 5 TheTick September 23, 2008 at 8:10 am

    Can’t wait to watch tonight! Normally Rick mails it in during the preseason, but it was great listening to him calling the crazy stuff between Peters/Hollweg/Kaleta/Ondrus.

  6. 6 Katebits September 23, 2008 at 8:17 am

    Tick, I particularly enjoyed how Rick implied that with one punch Peters totally leveled Hollweg. I had this great image of Peters throwing one mighty punch and then Hollweg flying through the air and across the length of the ice.

  7. 7 Anne September 23, 2008 at 10:11 am

    Ha i think i referred to Rick’s tones as dulcet in my blog as well. Its true. I think they should play Rick’s voice celebrating a goal scored in clinics for people suffering from depression, it’d be a miracle cure I’m sure… just as long as Harry wasn’t allowed to talk.

  8. 8 JB September 23, 2008 at 10:25 am

    I say its mostly because they only had a few scrimmages and not that many practices… They only officially were allowed to start on Saturday. So considering the circumstances eh whatever. Plus so many Portland Babies were playing. And getting those first game butterflies out of their bellies… let’s hope tonight will be a smack down! Whoo hoo! Especially since Hockeytown is all for the Habs… he he he!

  9. 9 Shari September 23, 2008 at 4:45 pm

    I was surprised that Crunchy even played. They ussually play alot of the rookies instead of the big stars in the pre-season games to see how they do. I think they’ve sent back 8 guys to the Jrs.
    The game is aired on NHL tonight but I hear it’s blacked out in Buffalo. Figures. That’s ok, I’d rather listen to Rick!

  10. 10 Matt September 23, 2008 at 5:08 pm

    There’s a lot of people down in this neck of the woods concrete canyons that insist RJ’s voice is annoying. That’s only because they’ve never heard him call an entire game. Sit them down to watch a full 60 minutes and they forget all about the great give-and-take of Doc and Chico, the half-assed conversations of Joe Micheletti, and even that chick that does the work for the Islanders. While I would never call his tones Dulcet, RJ is the epitome of a hockey play-by-play in my eyes.

    When the day comes, his name will be in the rafters of HSBC. That game will be one of the most memorable moments in Buffalo sports history. He’s going straight to the HHOF on the first ballot.

    God Bless RJ.

    **sheds a single tear**

  11. 11 Valerie (aka blitzen) September 23, 2008 at 6:25 pm

    Guinness Book of World Records needs to come and see if you have set a new mark for the use of parentheses.

  12. 12 Shari September 23, 2008 at 7:53 pm

    When the day comes, his name will be in the rafters of HSBC. That game will be one of the most memorable moments in Buffalo sports history. He’s going straight to the HHOF on the first ballot.

    God Bless RJ.>>

    Sniff….sniff…..Awwwwww Maaaaatt! **blows nose**

  13. 13 Matt September 23, 2008 at 8:34 pm

    I know, Shari. I almost broke down and cried at the thought. It was tough to hold it together.

  14. 14 JB September 23, 2008 at 8:56 pm

    RJ rules … we hate watching games on other networks with his callings! It will be a sad sad day in hockey when he will no longer be calling. OI…

  15. 15 Katebits September 23, 2008 at 9:05 pm

    You guys, this game is making me wary and tired.

  16. 16 grrrreg September 24, 2008 at 6:50 am

    I stopped watching after one period. The live stream was awful, I could barely see anything.
    But I liked to see them play in a very small rink, it looked like teams you could actually go see in your neighborhood (a little better of course)
    I loved when one of the canadiens could not close the door of the penalty box behind him because he was too big to enter. Sometimes, we forget how huge these guys are…

  17. 17 Matt September 24, 2008 at 3:16 pm

    But they’re not that big! In fact I’m both taller than 90% of the league and heavier than 75%. And I can crawl through a hole the size of 2 cinder blocks!

  18. 18 Katebits September 24, 2008 at 6:01 pm

    Waaaait. How do we know you’re not made out of elastic, Matt? And how big a cinder block are we talking about here? And how do you even know that you can fit through a hole the size of two cinder blocks? That’s very specific. And when did the cinder block become the standard unit of measurement for holes?

    I didn’t see any of the game last night, but maybe the arena in Roberval has comically small penalty boxes. :P

  19. 19 Matt September 24, 2008 at 11:53 pm

    I assert with all credibility I can must that I am not, in fact, made of elastic. I know I can fit through a 2-cinder-block-sized hole, because Ive done it rather recently. Lastly, the cinder block is amazing, because it';s always an appropriate unit of measurement. People around the world instantly recognize the dimensions of a standard cinder block…. 8″ x 16″.

    Plus, it’s was totally cool to write and fun to explain =) So na-na-na-na-boo-boo!


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

